We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the dorms - but a lot more expensive”
Review of Mountainside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountainside Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Just like the dorms - but a lot more expensive”
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Unfortunately, the night we stayed at the Mountainside Inn, a huge group of college students also decided to stay. Yet, they partied all night in the halls, between rooms, and outside. No one asked them to quiet down, so we got to listen to them ALL night long. It was awful. However, the inn is walking distance to town and skiing, so you can't beat the location. We were on a budget and have dogs, so this was really the only option. If we had it to do again, we wouldn't stay there. It would be worth the extra $50 to stay somewhere that isn't the "cheapest place in town." Telluride is an expensive place to stay, ski, and eat. So, this time we got what we paid for. (PS. I wear earplugs, but the doors are like balsa wood, so the kids may as well have been hanging in our room)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missDenver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TellurideLodging, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Thanks for reviewing your Winter stay at the Mountainside Inn. Yes, it is a very popular spot for college, church, & ski groups. I apologize they were noisy and hopefully they didn't ruin your trip. We have plenty of other properties that are more secluded and quiet during the winter season. Thanks for your review and we look forward to having you back in Telluride soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    83
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
47
83
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
norwood, colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stayed for a night so we could enjoy the town & local nightlife and ski. It was the most comfortable bed I've slept on in a long time. The room had all we needed, not all the extra bells and whistles, and was a great price (for Telluride). In the morning, no need to get up too early - the lift was only across the parking lot. Grabbed a quick breakfast at the tortilla place, and got right on the hill.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TellurideLodging, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Mountainside Inn! We're glad you enjoyed your comfy stay and enjoyed the cool nightlife here in Telluride. We hope to have you back for the 2010/2011 ski season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Three of us shared a room. Skiing was the purpose of the trip and we had three great days of skiing. Not much into staying in the room but met our needs for sleeping. Jacuzzi just outside was fantastic way to end a great day of skiing. Skiied practically right to our room. Never had issues with the staff and have stayed several times were late checkins were required, no problems. Yes there are great places to stay but on a budget, I will continue to stay at the Inn. Have stayed in other Telluride properties dating back to 1974 and unless you need all the amenities and inspect with a white glove, The Inn is a great choice, and yes parking can be an issue but parking is an issue all over town.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rim2RimFlagstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TellurideLodging, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Mountainside Inn. We're glad you enjoyed this amazing Winter we experienced in Telluride and look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This was my 3rd and last time, knowing it was cheap and CHEAP AND DIRTY IT WAS! I was told management decided a month ago not to clean the rooms for multiple day guests. I understand this to a certain extent, but not to even vacuum or change towels, or make the beds? We were 1st placed next to the construction and asked if we could move. The lady at the desk seemed so lazy, but with some nudging we talked her in to seeing if any rooms were clean on the other side. It was 5:00 in the afternoon! Later a couple that had made reservations were told to come to this "lobby" by a recorded message and there was no one there. They had driven a long way and had to find other accommodations, as they could not even get a key at 6:00 in the evening! No one answer the "Emergency number tacked to the door. They are virtually never there. Its off season and they could not care less about guests. I doubt its much different any other time. There are others in the off season that offer much better deals and accommodations. I'll be a the Lodge next week!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Chains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Telluride hotels

Santa Fe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We were placed in this hotel by the owner of a condo that we had rented. Seems the owner decided to renovate the condo we rented during the week we had booked and paid . The owner of the condo must have gotten a good deal as this place is not what we paid for.
There was blood all over the blanket on our bed! Lights in the bedroom were burned out, the shades in the bedroom would not go up or down. The dishes had to be washed before using -they were crusted with food. The couch had duct tape to cover a hole. The TV reception was terrible. We reported this but our complaints went unanswered. We woke up each morning to the sound of construction. A cheap place that is not clean!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAPSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Booked 2 nights. Arrived and was told that there was no parking. Had to unload and drive several blocks to another lot. Construction on multi-story building right next to the room with numerous large machines. Opened window in AM to full view of workers. Shade on the window did not block light which woke my wife at dawn. No air vent, no coffee maker or fridge. Cups were so cheap that when I poured milk into one it flowed right through. Animals welcome-people aren't.
The beds were unbelievable-thin ratty hotel mattresses that you can buy for $50 a set. My wife awoke at dawn (thin shade mentioned earlier) with a back ache. We decided to get out -the hotel staff would not refund or cancel the second night so we were stuck paying for it. Expedia also would not refund though they called the hotel to attempt. Amazingly,the staff offered a 20% discount on a future stay.
DO NOT GO HERE!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanAntoniotraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Barebones accomodations (ants included in ours!). Reminded me of the cheap frathouses from the college days. Location is good for skiing - on lift 7 after a 2 minute walk across the parking lot. Good for people who will not be in room except to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drussell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.2 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
649 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.3 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Telluride
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 11 in Telluride
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Inn

Property: Mountainside Inn
Address: 333 South Davis St., Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountainside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This affordable, 81 room hotel is located in the Town of Telluride along the San Miguel River. Mountainside Inn, Telluride, offers hotel rooms (with or without stocked kitchenettes), one bedroom suites and a riverside 3 bedroom condo – a variety of room types and pricing at one location. On site amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, free wireless internet, laundry facility, ice machine, vending machine, on-site parking and pet rooms are available. All the construction has been completed on the adjacent property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountainside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing