We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic Hotel that allows dogs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountainside Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel that allows dogs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel was perfect for the price and that it allowed us to bring out 90 lb pup. The furnishings are a bit worn but it's clean and a dog friendly place. Our board included breakfast, which was basic and the coffee they served was good. If you're a big eater, then you may want to get breakfast elsewhere.

The hotel is close to everything and getting to the lifts or restaurants is extremely close by. There's a stream that has a walking trail and it took us 3 minutes to get there so that was perfect for our dog. Telluride is a very dog friendly town and this hotel was too.

There wasn't anything amazing about the place but as I mentioned, they allow dogs and the place was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navajo_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherWhtie, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We appreciate that you stayed with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    72
    37
    19
    12
See reviews for
37
65
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Mountainside Inn for three days in early March 2014. The main, and pretty much only, attractive feature of this hotel is it's price as we got in for just over a hundred dollars. The hotel is located on the far West side of town, about a 10 minute walk away from the Gondola. So the location is good, but ANYTHING inside of Telluride is good as it is such a small town.

There are no real services here. No maids to clean the room, or change towels or sheets. There is a front desk, but it isnt staffed 24 hours. Perhaps the worst thing though about this hotel is that the beds are about as uncomfortable, old and rickety as you can get. I've slept in better beds in radnom villages in Botswana. Everything about the bed was awful.

The room itself was small but workable, it basically looks and feels like a very old Motel 6.

If you are there just to ski and drink beer, it can work as a decent crash pad, but I wouldn't go in there expecting anything good or comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liaobuqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherWhtie, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We sincerely appreciate that you chose Mountainside Inn and feel bad that you did not make your needs known when we could have done something about your discomfort. We truly do care about guest comfort and if there is a problem with a bed, we want to know. It is true that we do not perform daily housekeeping in order to comply with green policy and we work to make this clear to our guests in our prearrival emails as well as upon check in. We tell our guests that their comfort is important and to make their needs known. If this was not explained then again, I apologize to you.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Telluride hotels

Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was a little nervous about staying here after reading a lot of negative reviews, but I ended up having a great experience. I was a little discouraged when I first showed up and they put us in the wrong room, and then charged me an extra $24 to stay in a kitchenette room when the lady had originally told me she would upgrade us for free. It was disappointing but nothing that would ruin a trip over. Also, when we were there, the hot tubs were overcrowded. I read a lot of bad reviews on parking, but we didn't have any issues with it; we showed up around 4 and there was plenty of parking spots available. The rooms are just what you need for a great ski trip - big beds (I thought were comfy, my boyfriend didn't..), hot showers, and a small kitchenette to help save some money on food. You can't beat the location. We absolutely loved skiing almost right to our room and being able to walk downtown Telluride at night. The gondola was great too! If you are looking for luxury, definitely not a place for you. If you are looking to go on a great ski trip without breaking the bank, then I highly recommend this place. Overall, I would definitely stay here again! Thanks Mountainside Inn!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherWhtie, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Well, you rock. Thanks for staying with us! Do come back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Franconia, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Mountainside Inn is located just a very short 2-minute walk from Lift #7. The front desk opens at 8:30 am offering hot chocolate and coffee. The hot tub is open from 10 am to 10 pm.
My room 206 was simple, clean and functional for my 4-night stay. All shops and restaurants are in walking distance.
Telluride Resort was awesome, and you are even able to ski right down to the Mountainside from the Telluride Trail at the end of a fun Powder day!
If you are a little bit of a fancy pants person, this is probably not your place.

Room Tip: Use Telluride Express from Montrose Airport and you don't need a car when skiing in Telluride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherWhtie, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We do appreciate that you stayed with us when you had many choices. Please do come back anytime.

Sincerely,
Heather White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Room 104, excellent one bedroom condo with pull-out sofa bed for the kids. Lovely, new and clean. Kitchenette very well equipped. Would stay again and recommend this unit. Not all rooms looked as nice, so if you can request a unit, choose this one.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherWhtie, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We truly appreciate that you stayed with us. Indeed, you stayed in a 1 bedroom condo that has upgraded finishes and this is reflected in the cost. We have 4 units that are like the one you reserved, a three bedroom condo and 80 kitchenette units that have a queen and twin bed that are smaller.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our 3-day stay at Mountainside Inn was a pleasure. We found a great place to stay with a Dog. We had heard Telluride was a dog friendly place, we found this true. The rooms at Mountainside Inn were affordable, simple, clean and functional for a short stay. Having a small kitchenette made it easy to prepare a quick snack. Friendly staff were easily accessible,Fresh coffee and a light breakfast selection was available in the front office each morning. Thursday was the best, fresh homemade tamales! Telluride Resort was awesome, and we were able to snowboard right to our back door at the end of a fun Powder day!
Mountainside Inn has easy access to the Dog walking Riverside path that our dog loved... This location couldn't have been better for us! Enjoy!

Room Tip: #409, Back Building with view backs up to Telluride Resort, ski in/ski/out... Easy Parking close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lugregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabernash, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We booked a last minute stay chasing snow! Staff was super friendly and helpful. Basic rooms in a great location within walking distance to all of town and 2 minutes to chair 7! Most reasonable price we could find and everyone was dog friendly (which was very nice for us dog lovers).
Hot tub was big and hot!
We'll definetly keep this be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeeterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
0.2 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#10 of 18 in Telluride
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
0.3 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Inn

Property: Mountainside Inn
Address: 333 South Davis St., Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Telluride
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountainside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This affordable, 81 room hotel is located in the Town of Telluride along the San Miguel River. Mountainside Inn, Telluride, offers hotel rooms (with or without stocked kitchenettes), one bedroom suites and a riverside 3 bedroom condo – a variety of room types and pricing at one location. On site amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, free wireless internet, laundry facility, ice machine, vending machine, on-site parking and pet rooms are available. All the construction has been completed on the adjacent property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mountainside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing