We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice home away from home at a great price”
Review of Mountainside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountainside Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice home away from home at a great price”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Mountainside Inn. Chris at Telluride Alpine Lodging helped me secure a room at the best price, and he took time to answer all our first-time guest questions about air travel, weather, and transportation. He also got us a great rate on the Mountain Limo shuttle from the Montrose Airport.

We were very happy with our large, lovely room and referred to it as "home" during our week's stay. Our room was large and lovely. We made use of the kitchen's nice dishes, stove, toaster oven, coffeemaker, dishwasher, and large fridge to save money. The bed was very comfortable, and there was a nice window seat. Being used to warmer climates, we were worried about the lack of AC, but the windows and two table fans kept us cool.

The Mountainside Inn has a nice hot tub we enjoyed when it was covered and warm. Parking is limited, but a car isn't necessary within Telluride. If you travel by car, taking a short walk to park it elsewhere is no big deal.

I would caution travellers that the front desk at Mountainside Inn is not like most hotels. When we arrived, the office staff had stepped out, and we didn't see access to a public restroom.  We had shipped a package to arrive at the main office, which delivered it to the Mountainside Inn office. Unfortunately, the staff wasn't sure where it was, so we had to wait until someone from the main office was out of a meeting to instruct the staff. In a rush to check out, I asked the desk staff if they could mail postcards, but they didn't have mail delivery and referred me to other nearby locations. Overall, these were very minor inconveniences that did not ruin a good experience, but adjust your customer service expectations slightly to meet a more casual front desk and general laid-back mountain summer schedule.

We'd definitely recommend staying at Mountainside Inn. We were happy to walk, or take the city bus from the stop around the corner, to get where we wanted to go. We were comfortable and got the rest we needed to have a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Gastronauts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanneWalker, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Mountainside Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Telluride.
Come back and see us during ski season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    83
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
47
83
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

In a town as expensive as Telluride, I was happy to find pet friendly accommodations at a great location without having to break the bank. The room was clean enough with a double bed and twin bed. We also had a small kitchenette which we really didn't use. The location was walking distance to town park, hiking trailheads, and great restaurants. I might look for other accommodations if we don't have the dog next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanneWalker, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Mountainside Inn is the most affordable lodging in Telluride! And we love to have your canine friends accompany you on your visits.
You are absolutely correct about the location. We are close to the festivals in the summer and ski in ski out location in the winter. Hiking, biking, resturants and shopping are all within walking distance.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Mountainside Inn has two things going for it - fantastic location next to the San Miguel River and friendly people and their dogs at check in. Other than that, it's not so great. The rooms are old and tired, really just worn out. Clean enough I guess, but it's hard to tell. The week we were there parking was terrible due to closure of a nearby city lot, but I suspect it's always pretty bad. When you add $30 a night for the dog to stay, it's not really cheap. It's better than sleeping in your car, but try someplace else if you can.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradorailfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanneWalker, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of Mountainside Inn.

Yes we are the most affordable lodging in Telluride and do offer pet friendly accommodations. It is difficult to get pet friendly rooms in Telluride and the $30 fee is average.

Telluride Alpine Lodging manages about 400 properties in and around Telluride and Mountain Village. On your next visit I am sure we would be able to find accommodations that would suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Telluride hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I made my reservation and specifically asked about parking/security and was assured it was "all good".Turns out the hotel has about 40 rooms and only 18 parking spaces. They rely on a public unsecured lot about a block away for guests. In my case, I checked in at 4pm and asked about the parking again and was told that the city is resurfacing the public lot and there was an additional lot two blocks away for parking. The clerk said "be careful, if you park illegally you WILL BE TOWED. When I returned from my day trip to the hotel there was no parking ANYWHERE within half a mile of this hotel. The lot he spoke of was completely full and I drove around for an hour looking in vain. The staff leaves at 6 pm so I called their manager "on call" and told him the situation. He said, "We have no control over parking". I had to find a hotel an hour and a half away in the middle of the night after an exhausting day. The worst part is the staff
at the MOUNTAINSIDE INN told me they were going to KEEP MY $95.12 even though I could not stay in their hotel. They were totally unreasonable people and the place was sub par to say the least. Fortunately, my credit card company has agreed with me and is reversing the charges and I WILL NOT HAVE TO PAY.

Bottom line: Horrible Staff, horrible service, poor rooms, inadequate parking, poor overall management. They should have willingly retruned my money and showed some remorse for potentially ruining my trip.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place period
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjdenver80602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanneWalker, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We take your comments seriously.
Telluride being a small mountain community parking can be a challange at times. Mountainside Inn always states parking is limited and is on a first come basis. Unfortunately, the city decided to re-surface our public lot that we have use of, during your stay. We do offer other options for parking, but Telluride does not have 'secured' public parking such a public garage or inclosed gated parking available.

We apologize for this inconvenience and we are sorry this tainted your stay in our beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Lile the price but surprised me w lack of services. Office closes at 5pm and they hasn't left a key out for me. Called the manager and they did respond quickly. No elevator toy second floor room. Decent bed tho

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We always appreciate your comments and concerns and do take them seriouly.
Mountainside Inn office hours vary seasonally. During your stay we close at 7pm. I am assured that you found your room through our manager on duty as they are always there to assist you.
As far as elevators, we are only 2 stories and do not have elevators.

On your next visit to Telluride please contact us at Telluride Alpine Lodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Room was NOT clean.
Bed not really a King, but two beds slammed together and and the gap in the middle was extremely uncomfortable...bed too big for the room as well. No room to sit at the table. Table is crammed in between bed and wall.
One Lamp didn't work.
Front desk Woman clearly hated her job and was not helpful at all..
Hot Tub was FILTHY and when asked about it was told "oh, i guess guy didn't come".
And parking, although promised a space, was impossible.

It was called a "SUITE" but its a Motel room. And frankly, WAY OVER PRICED for value...

Will NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: Here's a tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Mountainside Inn. We take your comments seriously. We wish you had brought these matters to our attention so we could have provided a solution.
Mountainside Inn employees housekeeping supervisors. Their job is to inspect each room before releasing the room for our guest occupancy. We never have a guest occupy a dirty room.
The bedding in all of our rooms have what is called a split king. This way we can accommodate many of our guests needs. If they require a king bed or twin beds we can make this possible. Our mattress are new and have not had any complaints thus far.
Parking is always on a first come basis and we confirm that with our guests. If this is over a festival time we provide our guest with alternitive options.
Mountainside Inn has one of the finest hot tubs in Telluride. It is managed by a certified technication and checked several times daily.
Our suites are quite roomy and accommodate 4 people. A separate bedroom, dressing area, living area, dining area and a fully stocked kitchen. There is a sleeper sofa in the living area that folds out to a queen sized bed.
We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. Telluride Alping Lodging offersover 350 properties. On your next visit to our beautiful town please contact us so we can provide you with accommodations that suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel has no thrills but the rooms are spacious and clean. Our room had fully stocked kitchen with pots, pans, plates and coffee maker. Perfect if you want to fry up some food after a long day on the slopes. It also has an electric stove top. Close to the main drag of town (which is less than 10 city blocks). Great value with parking. Overall it was a nice stay and good value for the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mountainside Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Mountainside Inn.

We are the most affordable lodging in Telluride. Our convenient location is great for both the ski season and summer festivals as well as dining and entertainment.

Come back and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.2 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
649 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.3 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Telluride
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 11 in Telluride
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Inn

Property: Mountainside Inn
Address: 333 South Davis St., Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountainside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This affordable, 81 room hotel is located in the Town of Telluride along the San Miguel River. Mountainside Inn, Telluride, offers hotel rooms (with or without stocked kitchenettes), one bedroom suites and a riverside 3 bedroom condo – a variety of room types and pricing at one location. On site amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, free wireless internet, laundry facility, ice machine, vending machine, on-site parking and pet rooms are available. All the construction has been completed on the adjacent property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountainside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing