We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of The Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victorian Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was unusually hot when we were there--June 29 and 30. The rooms are not air conditioned, and have little window fans. To use the fans, the venetian blinds have to be partway up, and then the privacy is compromised. Plus, the blinds are old and do not work well, being partly broken and the cords tangled. In the first room we had, the bathtub water would not come on, and the TV was broken--that is, the remote, even with new batteries, would not change the channel. They gave us a new room, which was on the street side instead of the hotter west side, which was a bit of serendipity. The office has coffee and pastries, but doesn't open until eight AM, which is inconvenient. (We did discover the terrific BIT (Baked In Telluride) bakery two blocks away with all anyone needs and they open at 5:30 AM.) Overall, this place is a great location, but is a bit shabby and in need of an upgrade.

Room Tip: If the weather is hot, get the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    109
    70
    30
    16
See reviews for
69
148
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice and helpful staff. Accommodations were clean and basic.....the summer days can be hot up there and wasn't much ventilation, a small fan but that was it. Walls are thin and we had some night owls next door that provided a wake-up call around 3am. For the price, not sure it was really worth it. Although it was a very nice location and parking was easy!

Room Tip: Definitely request the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSarah2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are a family of four with our youngest at seven.
A majority of the rooms are on the west side of the hotel and bake in the afternoon. We came back to our room after dinner around eight and it was about 80 degrees inside. With no AC unit, ther was simply no way to cool the room down except for a weak $10 fan the hotel provides for placing in the window. As one might imagine, not only is this ineffective, but you have to leave the blinds up to allow the air from outside flow in. We had the fan on all night and the place never cooled down. Not to mention, smokers out side filled the room up with smoke as the window fans pulled the air from smoking areas around the hotel. Of course the office was closed when I went over to see if they might have an extra fan to facilitate air exchange. What a joke!
I am left with the undeniable feeling that this place is run by some folks who are quite ignorant of what a $200/night room should be like for the customer. My kids can sleep through almost anything but even this experience tested that mettle. A hot room that smelled like smoke had my seven year old up multiple times. What a bummer. And what what a quick way to wreck your visit.
Buyer beware...stay somewhere else. Cheaper rooms are available and I would bet they have AC.
And can you imagine a hotel anymore that you have to leave the window open all night. I realize it is Telluride, but that just isn't going to give most customers a sense of safety.
Poor construction caused us to hear guest above us and next to us. Because windows were open, noise from outside kept waking us up. Creaky floors makes you want to walk very softly so as not to disturb others.
As with many who have such a terrible experience with a poorly run outfit; if I could have given the place zero stars, I would have.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrispyhall193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Clean, convenient, super friendly staff. Beds were nice and firm. Beat recommendations for things to do around town. Great breakfast. We were just passing through between Gunnison and Mesa Verde, and this was a great stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had just finished the first day of a three day bike ride when I checked in. The front desk clerk asked if I would be having breakfast. I explained i had to leave in the morning before the hotel served breakfast. The clerk set up foods for breakfast that evening that I could take to my room and put in the refrigerator and have the next morning. That is service!

The location of the hotel is very convenient to walk to restaurants, shopping, and the gondola.

Rooms are updated and have a mini kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganta07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

:Ideal location in the middle of town. Park your car and enjoy walking through the town or riding the gondola up the mountain. If possible, get a placard at the front desk for the dashboard of your car that allows you to park on the street adjacent to the hotel.

The room was exceptionally clean, especially for an older property. The bed was very comfortable and the mattress appeared to be relatively new. The bed was covered with a duvet in a clean sheet (no spread), four good pillows, and a folded fleece blanket. There is a window fan but no air conditioning. The window had blinds only; it would be nice if the room had some drapes to close to darken the room and to keep out ambient noise.

Breakfast is not available before eight o'clock and the selection is limited, but there are plenty of options nearby, and there is a coffee maker in your room.

Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonorandenizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in February of 2013 and loved the location and room. We had the honeymoon sweet and it was perfect! Breakfast was very good. I had never been to telluride and took a gamble on choosing a place to stay without knowing the area and it was a perfect location! We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjulie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Victorian_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at The Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Anjulie for your kind review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed out services and we’re very glad you chose to stay with us during your first trip to the beautiful town of Telluride. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime!

The Victorian Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#4 of 11 in Telluride
268 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Mountainside Inn
Mountainside Inn
#6 of 11 in Telluride
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 11 in Telluride
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Property: The Victorian Inn
Address: 401 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victorian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Inn's charming style blends beautifully w/Telluride's turn of the century architecture - Adjacent to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Telluride
Victorian Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing