We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A good night sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good night sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had the most amazing time at hotel Columbia in Telluride. The staff was friendly and very occomidating. The bed was so heavenly we never slept better. The town is so easy to get around and great walking. There is very little if any parking. That wasn't a real problem. We were given a list of all the vest places to eat, FYI you can't loose all the places have great food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    33
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
117
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I greatly enjoyed yet another stay at the Hotel Columbia in late February/early March 2013. You simply can't beat this quaint hotel when visiting Telluride. Of course, its location doesn't hurt......right across the street from the Gondola and only a couple of short blocks from downtown. But its the "attitude" of the Hotel Columbia, as embodied in its warm and caring staff, that brings us back time after time. You truly feel welcomed and cared for at every level. Combined with its intimate size, the place feels like a home away from home. We look forward to many return visits.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had researched all the options in Telluride and decided on Hotel Columbia based on the reviews here and pictures. I went to their website and looked at room pictures. It appeared from the pictures and descriptions that every standard King room had a fireplace, great view and nice balcony. The rooms looked new and awesome, so I paid a little more to stay there versus some other options. To my disappointment, our room was old, dirty, no fireplace and a balcony we could barely get onto. We were only staying one night, so it wasn't worth complaining. I learned that only some of the rooms had been upgraded to the standard shown in the pictures on the website. Apparently, we did not luck out. Be sure to ask for a newer remodeled room when booking, and don't leave it to chance. Unfortunately, I did not know it was necessary to do so. This room should not have been the same price as a remodeled one. On the good side, the view was nice and the restaurant downstairs was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for remodeled room and be specific about what you want, i.e. fireplace, balcony, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandNSun704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your stay at Hotel Columbia did not exceed your expectations.

As a small, boutique hotel, each room at Hotel Columbia varies slightly with regards to amenities and layout. We make every effort to depict our rooms accurately on our website. We share a variety of photos, floor-plans and descriptions including details such as “may feature a gas fireplace or balcony”. We always encourage our guests to call or email the Hotel if they have questions regarding one of our room types. Furthermore, we welcome our guests to request specific amenities that will allow them to thoroughly enjoy their stay.

The Hotel Columbia underwent a complete remodel in 2008. ALL of our rooms and suites were renovated with updated room layouts, fresh and modern bathroom configurations, new furnishings, window covering and soft good. We apologize that you feel the room you stayed in was not the same standard as the images represented on our website. In addition, the Hotel Columbia will be re-carpeting in the fall of 2013 to ensure that the we maintain the high standards that our guests have come to expect and we strive to uphold.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the Cosmopolitan Restaurant and the views of the Telluride Ski Resort and San Miguel River seen from your room.

Please except our sincerest apology for not exceeding your expectations. We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Columbia the second week of March. Check in was very quick and easy. We had a suite that faced the gondola and mountain. Spectacular views from our room. Telluride mountain is stunning! Waking up in the morning and seeing that majestic mountain is priceless.

Our suite was very spacious and featured a separate bedroom, living room, kitchenette and two baths (one half bath) and a gas fireplace. Our particular room had two separate decks. The furnishings were newer and very nice.

We did find the bed to be on the soft side. The master bath itself was small and featured a shower only. This was disappointing to us as we didn't have a bath or a hot tub in our room (nor does the hotel have a hot tub - which is unusual at a mountain resort property). However, the floors in the bath were heated and there was a towel heater as well. These were nice touches.

We had some issues moderating the temperature in our room. It was either way too hot or way to cold. There was a dramatic difference in temperature in the living room areas. These rooms are not centrally heated/cooled. Often we'd have to prop open the deck door off the bedroom so we could sleep as it was so hot. The only other disappointment for us is that there is no spa facility at this hotel. I had to go to a different property in order to get a massage.

The hotel itself has some nice touches. They offer coffee/tea in the room. Downstairs in the lobby area, they also offer tea/water. There is a fantastic restaurant in the hotel called "Cosmopolitan." We had dinner there the first night and it was excellent. There is a vibrant bar scene there as well during happy hour, where they offer half price appetizers and discounted beverages. Highly recommended!

All in all it was a very good experience. The location can't be beat! The staff is very friendly and helpful and this hotel is conveniently located next to the gondola.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katmo1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Columbia from April 2nd through 5th in 2013, while I was skiing in Telluride
at the last week of the season. The reason I'm writing this review is that I wanted to share some of my great experiences while staying here - especially about staff members.

The staff is really super and very accommodating; once I got little bruise and cut on my arm while skiing, and I thought it would be nice to get some medical treatment. Rhea (general manager) was so nice and let me use some of the stuff in medicine box at the front desk.
Also, I left my laptop power adapter at the room when I checked out the hotel, but I was already at home by the time I realized it. So I called them up to see if there is any way I can get it back, and Mindy (one of the staff members) was kind enough to find and mail it back to me!

Aside from great service you can get in this hotel, everything else is also very satisfactory including reasonable price range, great breakfast, its proximity to one of the ski lifts and the gondola, little touch of details in bathroom, easy walk to the downtown, and so on. I do strongly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Finally, Telluride is a truly amazing place - no word or picture or video can do justice, you gotta be here! - and also a very unique and friendly town, which I consider to be different from Aspen or Vail. I'm glad that I stayed in this hotel and skied in Telluride, and I would definitely do it again if I get a chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KhanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the moment we checked in we had wonderful service. Everything went so smoothly. We entered our room to find a bottle of wine with a congratulatory note, the hot tub already heated up, and robes ready to go. We loved the little touches: the heated towel rack, the fireplace, the stocked fridge (with inexpensive pricing), and the extremely comfortable bedding. The location was ideal for our trip: you could literally throw a rock and hit the free gondola that takes you to mountain village (where all the ski lifts are). We were within a two minute walk from all the great restaurants in town, and a little market for snacks. The restaurant downstairs, the Cosmopolitan, is incredible. The free breakfast could not have been any better, steak and cheese, smoked salmon, bagels, different pastries every morning, quiches, cereal ,hot coffee etc. The service was amazing and we will absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the hot tub room- so worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for the second time, and both times have been wonderful. The staff is awesome and very accommodating. The location is amazing. Rooms are beautiful as well as the views! My favorite hotel in Telluride. Also the restaurant downstairs is delicious and a fun scene at night. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
1.8 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lumiere Telluride
Lumiere Telluride
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#6 Business Hotel in Telluride
#7 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing