We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel Columbia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Wayland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Hotel Columbia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My stay at the Hotel Columbia during the holidays was simply wonderful! The staff could not have been more welcoming in making us feel like part of their family. The restaurant and wine list was superior and the service first rate. The Christmas gift left in our room was particularly a nice touch. All in all, it was an excellent experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    34
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
124
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the guest room with hot tub, the room itself was bright with fireplace, table/chairs, lovely large comfy bed, mini kitchen (hob, fridge etc) wonderful large bathroom with double size shower and balcony patio with the tub.
As lovely as it was there was a little room to move around, store luggage. The bed could convert into a sofa and the cushions to enable this were stored under the bed and in the wardrobe so we could only put one of our cases in the wardobe. The bed had rigid sides next to where you naturally climb in out & you had to be careful not to catch your legs, having negotiated this the positioning of the table/chairs at the foot of the bed left only a small gap to walk by without knocking into the furniture, I left with several bruises.
I was particularly looking forward to relaxing in the tub but was a bit disappointed that it was overlooked & would have preferred a bit more privacy. It's not overlooked by the cable car more by the adjacent properties and other hotel rooms that are in very close proximity. However the balcony itself was a wonderful sun trap and a great place to sit and soak up some rays.
Parking in Telluride is restricted and time limited so it was great that the Columbia took our car & parked it up for us, there are great walks around the town and of course the cable car to enjoy so we never used our car during the stay.
The buffet breakfast was excellent, a great selection and refreshed regularly. We did dine in the restaurant on one of our evenings, lured by a happy hour deal but found this was restricted to only a few things on the menu so we ended up choosing alternatives and the meal was more expensive than we planned and without any wine!
If we came back to Telluride we would stay here again, we'd like to get up early in the morning to walk along the river & watch the beavers.

Room Tip: The hot tub is a lovely extra to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had been "on the road" for a little over three weeks (10 days in Hawaii) and were ready to get home to Iowa...BUT...since we were traveling near Telluride we had to stop in. We usually stay up in the village but thought we would stay downtown for a change. We love Telluride.

The motel is across the street from the free gondola to the village. We booked a room with a Murphy Bed...thinking that it would be some extra guest bed. Nope, the main bed was a Murphy Bed. I guess the thinking was that you could turn the bed into a sofa so it looked like you were staying in a suite. Hmmmmm. Well the bed was comfortable enough but every time you moved those Murphy springs and wires made all kinds of noise. Forget about being "romantic" unless you want the whole hotel to know.
Any way back to the review. The room was very comfortable with a third story balcony over looking the gondola and some of the spectacular Telluride views. The bathroom was very nicely done with a travertine tile (much like our master bath back home). The staff was very nice and friendly in a Telluride laid back style. There were several nice restaurants within easy walking distance (even with the elevation slowing down your walking speed).They have limited parking in back of the motel. You need to leave them your keys so they can park the cars tight together.Then there is that breakfast.I tend to think everything tastes better in that fresh mountain air...But...this really was a great breakfast. Fresh fruit, wonderful quiche, apple turnovers from a pastry shop, ham and I think those were thin slices of filet mignon.WOW...really good. Thanks for a wonderful stay! We will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence KS
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I were in Telluride 10/20/12 to 10/23/12 and stayed at the Hotel Columbia. Our corner room was very nice, right across from the gondola that goes up to Mountain Village. It had a great view of the mountain and the breakfast was very good. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are hoping to stay there again when we go skiing in January.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely room, just a block from the Gondola. Excellent breakfast and a very helpful staff. If you go on October and haven't reserved in advance, get the walk up rate. For what we paid it was a steal. Only possible issue was that the walls are a bit thin, but our neighbor went to bed at a reasonable hour. A noisy neighbor could be an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful stay at the Hotel Columbia! This was our first time visiting Telluride, and we were celebrating our 5 year wedding Anniversary. The hotel and it's staff helped to make our vacation an unforgetable experience! I can not say enough good things about this place. The room was spacious, luxurious, and comfortable. The bed was heavenly. You will love the heated bathroom floors, towel racks, and big fluffy robes to keep you warm! Our room had a nice little balcony with gorgeous views of the mountain-side and part of town. (Room # 31) We timed our visit just right for the fall colors, and the views from our room allowed us to wake up to shimmering gold aspens each morning. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet and were surprised each day with different yummy quiches and pastries. It was great having views of the mountains and gondola each morning at breakfast...what a prefect way to get the day started! (The gondola is literally steps from the hotel) And if you are an animal lover like we are, you will enjoy getting to know the resident hotel dogs! One of them greeted us each day upon our arrival and departure...so sweet! If you are looking for the perfect place to stay in Telluride, Stop! You just found it!!! Book a room at the Hotel Columbia and be happy, you just made the best decision for your trip ;)

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are wonderful, just stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoveringParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Hotel Columbia which is right across the street from the free Gondola that goes to a stop at the top of the mountain and over to the other side. The room that we had overlooked the gondola ouside the window on the 3rd floor and also had a small balcony with one chair. The bathroom was large and had heated floors if you wanted to use that plus a large tub and shower stall. Parking in Telluride is metered and you have to move your car if you park somewhere on the street. So you might as well pay the $20.00 a day at the hotel where they keep your keys. Pets are also welcome and they charge $20.00 a day for them too. The hotel has a restaurant attached to it, the Cosmopoitan, and it is one of the best restaurants in the town. the other good restaurant is at the Sheraton Hotel (not the chain hotel)on the main street.
This would be one of the best locations for a ski trip as they have lockers for skis on the main floor and the gondola is so close.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobseelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lumiere Telluride
Lumiere Telluride
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing