We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montana Placer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Telluride
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montana Placer Inn
Save
You added Montana Placer Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 4 Telluride B&B and Inns
Centennial, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Montana Placer Inn #4. It was the perfect size and close to everything. Bed was super comfortable. The only down side was that the t.v. was very small (We wanted to catch some of the Olympics). Affordable and updated room.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at the Montana Placer Inn #6 and we were very happy with the location and the accommodations. It was convenient to everything and just the right size for 2 people. The bed was incredibly comfortable (we slept so good!) and anything we wanted (coffee shop, pub, great food, the gondola) was within just a few blocks. We parked the car when we got to Telluride and didn't get back in until we, begrudgingly, had to leave town.

The room itself had a few quirks (broken blind, a broken counter tile in the bathroom...) but nothing that affected our stay. There was a window A/C unit, but we didn't feel the need to use it.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The location of the inn is excellent - close to the main street. However, you have to be aware of a few things. There is no air conditioning. We were there in the summer, and it was a trick to open the French doors. Also, one of the blinds was broken. The room did have a very small fan, but a larger one would have been appreciated. Also, 3 light bulbs were out: one outside the door, one in the hallway and one by the bed. The management did replace the one by the bed but not the other two. The room has a mini-kitchen, with a little sink, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker but no coffee. Also, there is no closet; just four hooks which I found to be inconvenient. You expect to have a place to hang up clothes. (This would also be a problem during ski season for jackets and coats and other items of apparel). You do not get daily maid service; I am not sure how that is arranged and how often it would be available. The room has nice but minimal furnishings: bed, two night stands and dresser - no chairs or tables. Only one picture decorated the room. The TV is a small old model variety. I guess to get more paper products, towels or bedding, you would have to go to the management office which is two blocks from the inn. We had a Groupon, so the price was excellent for Telluride.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnefortheroadTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
219 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in #4 upstairs and booked through a company in Telluride which charges a fee, though I still felt that the room was a fair deal around $135 after all taxes. The rooms are finished in a higher quality than most hotel rooms and our experience was pretty quiet. It was the 4th of July week so there was general mayham which doesn't bother us. This room had the kitchen area right next to the bed, a fireplace, nice table and a patio. The TV was odd for the nice room, it was like a 24 inch old big backed TV. The bathroom is big and split into two rooms. Parking is available but can be complicated. Our paperwork in the room had stated that there was parking in back but when I parked in back we had a note on our car the next morning, though it was friendly. We ended up using the O (Oak Street) permit out on the street. The thing you should be prepared for is lack of supplies. We had coffee, fliters and such but only one roll of TP. It lasted without us having to get more but I feel bad for the next guest :) There is a market about a block away. This is very much like a hotel room but know what you a renting and it will be well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

can't beat the location. the room/ unit was comfortable and well kept. noice can be an issue, but that 's to be expected given the great location, especially on the weekends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hornetraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was way more than expected!!! The staff is GREAT, location perfect, overall on of the best places we have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rndllgf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

You can't beat the location but we probably wouldn't stay there again. There is no AC and our room was hot! The jacuzzi was 6 inches outside of our window so if you wanted to leave your windows open at night you had to listen to people in the jacuzzi or listen to the loud noises it makes that sounds like a vacuum cleaner. We stayed for 4 days 3 nights and were only provided with 2 rolls of toilet paper. The blanket on the bed was stained and yuck. Other than those complaints, it was okay. The room was nicely furnished.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#10 of 18 in Telluride
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
1.9 mi away
Lumiere Telluride
Lumiere Telluride
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Placer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Placer Inn

Property: Montana Placer Inn
Address: 210 South Oak Street, PO Box 749, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Montana Placer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
January 9th, 2012 - Latitude 38 Vacation Rentals in Telluride, Colorado proudly announces new management of the Montana Placer Inn.With expertise in hotel marketing and management, Latitude 38 Vacation Rentals provides a high standard of property care and guest services management providing guests a comfortable stay and access to locals eager to share all of Telluride's best.An original miner's house, the Montana Placer Inn is located on South Oak Street, half a block from the Free Gondola and Telluride Ski Area, and 1.5 blocks to the Telluride Main Street. Year round guests benefit from one of the most desired locations in the Town of Telluride. Montana Placer Inn is an upscale hotel property ideal for Skiers, Boarders, Families, Couples and Festival Goers seeking Location, Convenience, Value and Service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing