We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Skiing in Telluride - mountain view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumiere Telluride

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lumiere Telluride
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Skiing in Telluride - mountain view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by name by very friendly staff.
As they found out that our travel had its obstacles they upgraded us to the top floor.
The valet took us to our rooms and explained how everything worked.
We got a stunning apartment with beautiful views of the mountains.
A jacuzzi on the terrace (also outdoor table, chairs), luxurious towels, bathrobes, and toiletries and a kitchen stocked with coffee, tea, some condiments to start the holidays before we went grocery shopping. Chocolates next to the bed every evening. A fireplace in the living room, two big double bedrooms,, big kitchen with dish washer, Wolf gas stove, huge fridge/freezer and wine fridge, washer and dryer. Replenishment of soaps every day and apartment cleaned daily.
Our hotel was situated within walking distance of the slopes. A ski valet kept our skis and warmed our boots. Whenever we wanted to ski we went downstairs to put on our boots. If needed we even would be helped with closing the buckles! By the time we were done with that our skis were already waiting for us on the ski slope within 50 yards of walking distance. No need to drag the skis out ourselves. incredible service!
Upon return from the slopes/any outing, there were cupcakes and lemon infused water in the passage, ready for take-away.
Heavenly! No wonder this s a Conde Nast place. Fully deserved.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7R , the top floor. The elevator door serves - apart from one more door - as the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    18
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
80
182
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wonderful rooms, wonderful service and wonderful location. Cannot go wrong booking this place for your next ski vacation! Not only was the place gorgeous but the bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept in while on vacation. As for the service, I never once even put my ski boots on or off as there was always a staff member waiting to do it for me!! Then they would set up my skis and poles on the slopes for me and then just a short ski down to the lift. As for the location, it truly is ski in ski out and the gondola is just a short walk to take you to either the grocery store or in to town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I'm glad to see this hotel is now #1 on Tripadvisor - it's been by far our favorite over Mountain Lodge and we liked it more than Fairmont Franz Klammer. Location-wise it's great and while some reviewers have complained that it doesn't have a "real lobby," whatever. We were greeted very kindly and we had breakfast included which we particularly enjoyed thanks to a plentiful supply of soy-milk with which we even had lattes made. What really defines this hotel though is that it is actually luxurious - a word which pretty much every hotel now uses in its description even though sometimes far from appropriately. The hallways, the finishes, the rooms, they are truly gorgeous, the kind of finishings and decor that I've seen at only 5-star hotels - modern and new yet classic and warm. We had a one-bedroom residence and were blown away at the space, the natural lighting. We had an additional 1/2 bathroom, washer/dryer, and I even slept on the super-comfortable sofa-bed, leaving my mom the bedroom, and it kind of felt like a two-bedroom unit. I would basically live here!

Room Tip: One-bedroom residence, worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We wanted to stay in a hotel this time around in Telluride versus staying in a regular condo. Most of the times although we get nice looking condos the beds are terrible and after a long
day of skiing the last thing I wanted was a uncomfortable bed. We loved the bed here, we stay in a one bedroom suite (57), we had a nice view of the mountains and it was pretty quiet.
The room is pretty elegant and comfortable, it kept us warm when we were at the suite. We had a kitchen( a really nice one) and additional ½ bathroom and a dining table for 6, the living room with the chimney was pretty spacious.
I highly recommend to get your tickets with the concierge as they gave us discounted tickets.
They also provided us with the “black tie service” which brings the ski rentals to your own room- talk about 1st class service. The hotel also has a valet service where you can ski in and out with no problem, that we loved!!
The rooms and personal was very nice and I highly recommend staying in this place, but for food/breakfast, snacks, drinks please go get your groceries at the city market, just a gondola away.

We tried to dined one time at the Little Bar but there was only one server/bartender and she seemed fluster with all the customers arriving at once and she kept saying “ that’s all I have” to other customers when they asked for something special, even I wanted a decaf cappuccino w/ a side of amaretto and she offer me a regular decaf – which is not the same thing- and that was the only time I decided to stop by as we ventured outside to Allreds, the New Sheridan and Cosmo, great choices.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 5th or 6th floor (more $$), otherwise you don't get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudillita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a cool boutique hotel. I had a huge 1 bedroom with a view of the mountains and the slopes--it was beautifully appointed, kept spotless by the staff and absolutely cozy and luxurious!
The entire staff was helpful, accommodating and super friendly. The ski valet was convenient and the ski techs were super knowledgable. I loved it so much that I extended my stay--luckily they had room :). It really felt like a comfy "home away from home" and not like I was staying in a hotel. Very private.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSMEOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed with our teens and friends at this cool boutique hotel 3 times over the past 5 or so years and have loved it every time. We have stayed in one of their largest Penthouse apartments (3-4 bedrooms) each time. Those rooms are beautiful with amazing moutain views and tons of space. You have a kitchen, washer and dryer - everything you need.
The hotel has always arranged to pick us up from the airport when we land and have Black Tie ski service come to our room to fit us out for ski rentals which they will then store in the downstairs locker room. Ski in-ski out - so easy - right off the main chair lift.
The buffet breakfast is included and very good. They have a pretty broad selection of breads, yogurt, granola, sausage, bacon, eggs. I am a big egg eater and they are only so-so but hard to make buffet eggs awesome.
The bar is great for cocktails and sushi - bartender always excellent and friendly - and usually other guests around to chat with.
It's a short walk to the Gondola for a ride into Telluride for dinner (the hotel is in Mountain Village where there are plenty of restaurants/bars and shopping for ski needs, but the best restaurants by far are in town).
The only criticism we have of the hotel is that it's always really hot in the hotel rooms. I personally don't mind that much because I'm always cold - but my husband and our friends sort of freak out about it : )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorld109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late January, 2013. Our one bedroom residence was so wonderful that we didn't mind staying in our room when it was snowing too hard for us to ski. Top of the line appliances, incredibly comfortable furniture and breathtaking views from BOTH of the balconies. The staff, especially Nick, Britni and Jose, could not have been more helpful. Christine, who made us a wonderful breakfast every morning, was a delight. Lumiere is truly ski in/ski out. The guys in the ski valet made putting on the gear and getting to the slope as easy as pie. Our stay was absolutely magical and we can't wait to get back to Telluride and Lumiere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
0.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
1.8 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumiere Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumiere Telluride

Property: Lumiere Telluride
Address: 118 Lost Creek Ln, Telluride, CO 81435-9508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#1 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#1 Family Hotel in Telluride
#1 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lumiere Telluride 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lumiere Hotel in Telluride offers chic slope side lodging entirely pet friendly in the heart of Mountain Village Telluride, with ski-in/ski-out access and a full suite of services and amenities. Accommodations range from guest hotel rooms to four bedroom residences and five bedroom penthouses that are consistently designer furnished to the highest standards with hardwood hickory floors, hand-blown glass fixtures, and original artwork. All accommodations are well appointed with seven layer beds, Egyptian cotton linens, plush bathrobes and slippers. Each guest hotel room offers a large, luxury bathroom, flat panel television, mini Subzero Refrigerator, microwave and sink. All one-bedroom and larger residences and penthouses feature gourmet kitchens with Wolf and Subzero appliances, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, flat panel televisions, and oversized luxury baths with separate steam shower and tub. Bijou Restaurant & Lounge offers the perfect place to unwind with two fireplaces and a terrific global menu. A Hot tub and soaking pools line the patio of Bijou, perfect for star gazing and taking in the alpenglow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lumiere Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumiere Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing