We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cabin/lodge I have ever been to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best cabin/lodge I have ever been to”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Devil's Thumb is a gem of a destination if you are looking to enjoy a Colorado mountain retreat. The cabins, lodge and spa are new and well appointed. The staff is very helpful and happy (must be a Colorado thing). We went mountain biking on the grounds and it was beautiful. The only negative aspect of this resort is the quality of the food. You would expect, if not excellent food at least very good food for a resort of this caliber, but you will not get that here. There are many places to eat in Winter Park and Fraser that are decent. The Tabernash Saloon is the best restaurant by far in the area. We will be back for sure so don't let the food issue keep you from visiting. Great gym on site!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    87
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
225
210
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Our room was spectaular. We had a porch and chairs and a great view of the fields from one side and could see the horses and main buildings on the other side. We went for our 1st anniversary and were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of persecco and a congratulations note from the ranch.
The room was decorated just as we would love to decorate our home, if we had the money. The room really was two separate rooms -- the living room had a fireplace. The bedroom was huge and had a great big comfortable bed as well as a great blanket that we're going to try to buy when we are next in Denver, as that's where it was purchased, says the ranch staff.
The bathroom had a glass shower and a separate bathtub. Both were great.
My husband booked a horseback riding trip and I visited the spa. The spa was totally serene and calming.
While it might be a bit pricier than other lodging options, I guarantee that Devil's Thumb is the nicest and for us it was truly worth the $$$. We hope to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelalagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We came to Tabernash, Colorado to pick up my daughter from camp. We stumbled upon DTR through a "things to do" booklet looking for a horseback ride. As we drove to the Ranch we were unaware of what a find this would be. Since this was a spontaneous stay we had the luxury of staying in the Lodge for one night & The Bunkhouse the other. The Lodge was absolutely luxurious! King size bed, large room, the bathroom was spacious, and we had a view of the Continental Divide. Loved every bit of it!! On the other hand, if your are a little spoiled, The Bunkhouse is not for you. It was very nice but the rooms are quite a bit smaller and budget friendly. Our stay wasn't long enough at DTR so we are planning a trip back for our 23rd Anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Excellent, unobtrusive service, great facilities, luxurious rooms and bathrooms...they do it right here. Loved being five minutes from everything. Loved the pool, the game room...they make s'mores every night at sundown at the Fire pit, they have a 32 seat movie theatre that they'll open up for you and you alone if you make a request in advance...and they have guided biking and hiking, which is worth the money vs. trying to do it yourself. One overpriced, not great meal at Heck's (their less formal restaurant) didn't ruin our three days of heaven at the Devil's Thumb.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dschu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The Devils Thumb Ranch exceeded all of our expectations.

We booked a three night escape during two week holiday in Denver and stayed in the Byers Cabin.

The facilities and service at the Devils Thumb are first rate, all of the staff we encountered were professional and very friendly. The meals in Hex Taveran and the Ranch House resturant were of very high standard and the White CHocolate Croissant Bread pudding is more than a dessert - it is art!

The Spa is also very high quality with excellent therapists and a very relaxing ambiance.

When we next visit our family in Denver and feel the call of the mountains the Devils Thumb will definitely factor in our plans!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbygeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is our 3rd trip to DTR. They do a wonderful job! The rooms are fabulous and the food is excellent. Great for families. Great place to bike. The service can be spotty at times, but is generally good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDLCrownline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We have just returned from a family reunion at Devil's Thumb Ranch. Our party included approximately 40+/- persons, ranging in age from mid-80's to 8 months. We have nothing but compliments for our entire experience. My immediate family included a number of zero to 3-year olds and we stayed in a 4 bedroom cabin located a few hundred yards from the main lodge. The cabin was exactly what a family with young ones needs, with lots of room to run around, dig in the dirt and enjoy being outside. The staff could not have been more accommodating, including providing numerous high-chairs, booster seats, etc. Houskeeping was very attentive to our needs and provided lots of towels, etc. The staff at the riding stable was great with young kids. We loved the quality of construction and design of the buildings (cabins are real log cabins, with massive beams and logs) as well as the choice of interior furnishings. Our cabin had no TV, which we found to be a plus. We would love to go back again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAM3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabernash
19.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
515 reviews
5.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
496 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
188 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 15 in Winter Park
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa

Property: Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Address: 3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Tabernash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tabernash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devil’s Thumb Ranch is an environmentally friendly year-round Ranch resort and spa offering rustically upscale accommodations, fine dining and an array of winter and summer outdoor and wilderness recreation activities including Nordic skiing, flyfishing and horseback riding. Located in the Colorado Rocky Mountains, 65 miles west of Denver, 10 minutes from Winter Park. Our Ranch encompasses 6000 acres at the foot of the Continental Divide in the beautiful Ranch Creek Valley of Grand County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devil`s Thumb Ranch Hotel Tabernash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing