We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trailhead Inn(Winter Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crestview Place(Winter Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Hi Motel(Winter Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
494
98
45
23
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
98
45
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgecross country skiingcoffee shopcontinental dividesleigh ridemovie theatersteam roomfire pitdevil's thumb ranch resorthorseback ridingair hockeyhot tubnordic skiingbeautiful propertyski trailszip liningnatural beauty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 676 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and i recently stayed at this ranch and were very disappointed. The first issue was the suite we were given. It was literally over the delivery dock/garage. It was extremely noisy, even into the evening. Our second night of our stay, we went to bed at 11:00 p.m. and there was an employee just below our window who was on his cell phone for 20 minutes. Very disturbing.

The second issue which was far more concerning was when the housekeeper decided to walk into our room without knocking at the door. Sadly, she was a bit surprised to find me in the bathroom.

The positive in all this is the fact the hotel was so sorry for what happened, they did not charge us for the second night. They were very sorry for what had happened and stated they had spoken to the housekeeper who walk in to our room.

Regarding the view, it was incredible. It was very tranquil and truly relaxing, just wish our stay had gone better.

Room Tip: Room 115 is over the loading dock. If you want to be woken up early with the noise of trucks, this will be a perfect room for you.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
via98, General Manager at Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Sir,

Again, we apologize for the negative experiences you had while at Devil’s Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa. As we mentioned during your visit, the housekeeper whose knocks you didn’t hear was counseled to avoid another awkward room entrance and we can assure you it will not occur again.

Our mission is to create a respite for our guests, so our loading area has quiet hours and signage to indicate them as such to ensure that they are never a distraction from the otherwise peaceful environment of the Ranch. The employee who chose to violate those hours and thusly disturb you has been formally notified that their actions were objectionable. Additionally, we have taken further operational steps to protect our guests from the sounds that could occur from routine deliveries.

We’re pleased that you otherwise found the Ranch to be tranquil and relaxing, and that the second night complementary was to your liking. I do sincerely hope you’ll visit us again. Please let me know if you do so that I might welcome you personally.

Sean Damery
Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A dear friend and I needed a girls spa day and decided on this resort. We were not disappointed in any way The staff was friendly and helpful (right down to telling me what rock I would need to stand next to so I could get cell service) Which I must admit it was one of the few times that I was glad not to have service... We did not stay the night at the resort but we plan on a girls overnight trip in the spring. The property is amazing. We had booked spa services and were able to just relax the whole day at the spa using the various amenities they offer. The spa products available to use while there were very luxurious and oh so yummy !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having just moved to Colorado, we thought it would be a great getaway to join my husband following his corporate retreat. We spent two nights in the lodge in a room with a "meadow view" (meaning parking lot view). Thankfully, we were only in our room to sleep. We were able to enjoy the fantastic view of the continental divide from the heated pool and from heck's outdoor patio. Not only did we enjoy watching the light from the setting sun on the mountains, the children got to run around or visit with the cattle and horses out in the pasture, while we waited for dinner to be served. Having not made a reservation, we were made to wait half an hour. Others were made to wait an hour or more, yet there were many empty tables. Apparently, we werent the only guests who were a little baffled by their reservation system.
There are two restaurants and a cafe on site. We only dined at heck's, which also provides pool service. The food was delicious. I had the best hamburger ever, made of wagyu beef, but it was probably the most expensive at $19. For breakfast, I would definitely recommend the homemade brioche french toast with bananas and pecans.
As for activities, there are many many options. My husband enjoyed archery, a guided hike and a rope course but his favorite was the zip line. Luckily for him, these were included in his retreat. Since there were not many activities for children (besides daycare/camp), we decided to sign up for a family horse-back ride (45 min), which set us back $200. The two youngest children (4 and 6) were led by wranglers while the eldest (9) got to ride her own horse. Our guide told us about the legend of devils thumb as she led our family along a ridge overlooking the ranch. We got a close-up view of the cabins and decided we would love to come back with overseas guests and stay in one. I can only imagine the winter wonderland this becomes in a few months time. We hope to come back in the winter (if we can find a great deal)! Apparently, downhill skiing is just twenty minutes away in winter park.
Note: the children had a fantastic time in the games room. Even though you will find a bag of tokens in your room, you will need to bring dollar bills for bowling and quarters for air hockey.

Room Tip: Meadowview means a view of the parking lot. I would definitely recommend getting a room with a mountain view, unless ou would rather save some money and enjoy the view while swimming, eating, hiking or horseback riding.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya73Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As a young couple, we chose to stay at Devil's Thumb as part of a 2 center Colorado holiday.
We had a wonderful overall experience, but there were some slight disappointments.
On the plus side, the lodge is beautiful - the decor, the rooms, (particularly) the bathrooms all have a high-end rustic feel. The highlights were fly fishing w/ Kevin - he was a veteran of the property and had amazing knowledge of the area & fishing. We ate one night at the Ranch House, which was excellent (a real treat!), and Mario was particularly accommodating. At Hecks, food was also very good, but I agree w/ other comments, that there should be more variation in menu between dinner & lunch. We definitely enjoyed the happy hour after our fishing (4-6pm), w/ $1 draft beers!
On the less good side, we expected the service and experience of a retreat like this to be seamless and it really isn't. The staff seem bound to rules, and they don't seem to be able/allowed to think outside of the box to provide a better experience (i.e a particular server is designated per table w/ little flexibility, & having to check in right at the front of the restaurant when you want to sit outside). Sometimes it took ages for us to get served even drinks. Was a bit annoying. Also it is worth noting that (per the contract), the check-in time is not until 4pm. Many hotels have an official check in time, but are able to get you in before. In this case, check in really is 4pm, so if you come up early for activities, you will need to change in the pool locker room & keep things in your car. It was certainly not a seamless experience. Finally, our room (though beautiful inside) had a 'meadow view' - which was looking over the parking lot. Worth being aware of.
We managed to catch a few quiet moments, largely when out on the property, or when we came down early for breakfast, but there were a lot of young children running around, and there seem to be big events at the lodge on the weekend days. I also noticed them building new rooms, which makes me sad that in future DTR may loose some of the reason we chose to stay here - to get away.
One final highlight unassociated w/ the ranch was a days's rafting w/ Adventures in White Water. Ask for Mouse as a guide - he's rafted the Gore and Grand Canyons (& is still alive!). A real character! Make sure to do a full day tour as this includes 2 class 3 rapids vs 1/2 a day which is all class 2.
Would I come back to DTR? Almost certainly yes, but would try to do so during off peak days if you are a couple looking for quiet in the country.

Room Tip: Be aware that 'meadow view' rooms overlook the parking lot.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

First time to Devil's Thumb!!! We needed a getaway out of Denver and this was perfect. We spent two nights in Settler's Cabin (beautiful). The weather was 70 during the day and a chilly 40 at night! Went horseback riding, sat by the pool/hot-tub and we both had massages. The fire outside of Heck's and the smores was perfect at night. The food was soooo good (recommend eating at Ranch House Restaurant) and the service was amazing. I would highly recommend it and hope to get back there again someday!!!

Room Tip: Settlers Cabin was GREAT!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews