We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Sundowner
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Best hotel in the area by far. Staff very professional and the hotel is Great along with 2 swimming pools, one inside and one outside!! Great breakfast by far!!!! Can't say enough. Great location just off the interstate. Rooms outstanding thru out the hotel. Everyone made you feel at home. Computors and internet great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rocky Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Rocky,

Thank you for your awesome review! It is always a pleasure to have you and the rest of your group stay with us!! I'm sorry that the outdoor pool was under construction this year, but it is really coming along and I have no doubts that you will enjoy it next year. We'll see you next year and as always will be looking forward to visiting not only with you, but getting to see your beautiful antique cars...

Thanks,

Michelle Flinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Sundowner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

Even though this hotel allows pets, it really isn't the best place to stay. I would recommend skipping Sterling altogether if you have pets. The Ramada was disgusting, the staff at the Super 8 was incompetent, and the pet regulations at the Best Western are ridiculous. Don't let your pets make any noise or you will be charged a fee in addition to the pet fee you already paid. The pets aren't allowed on the furniture and the dog area outside is tiny and swampy. On a different note, the fitness room and the pools are also a joke.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank JessicaD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry if our pet policy offended you. We try to make every guest's experience a good one whether they are four-footed or not. Therefore excessive noise complaints may result in extra fees - if the noise is coming from people or pets doesn't matter. We hope you will try us again.

Michelle Flinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is dog-friendly and got good reviews here, so my wife and I decided to stay the night while road-tripping through Colorado. We had a pleasant stay. The hotel is very clean, both common areas and the room. I was told by the front desk clerk, who was pleasant and helpful, at check-in that the whole place was remodeled after a huge flood a year or so ago.

There's a little "shop" in the lobby that sells microwave food and sundries, which was handy because there's no place to eat right nearby, or at least that was open late on the 4th of July. The included breakfast was the standard affair - eggs, sausages, waffles, cereals, bagels, and beverages.

It looks like some of the first-floor rooms have an entrance to the interior hallway as well as the outdoors. That would have been handy, especially with a dog, but because we got there late we wound up with a room on the second floor. There's no elevator so if you have a lot of luggage, get a room on the first floor. The configuration of our room was a little odd. Our window looked out on a small patio that was accessible by the adjoining room. Had the people in that room decided to use the patio, it would have seemed a little too cozy for my tastes. Fortunately that didn't happen, but it's worth mentioning.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunburnt_curt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for your great comments. I agree that there shouldn't be bedspreads in rooms - we haven't used them for several years and even before we got rid of them we triple-sheeted. It just makes it feel cleaner! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back next time you are in this area.
Thank you,
Michelle Flinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our first time staying at a Best Western. The hotel was clean and I am a huge clean freak. The sheets were clean and crisp and there was NO bedspread!! There should NEVER be a bedspread. That made me very happy. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cassie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Cassie,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! We have been triple-sheeting our beds for many years, long before it became a standard. I agree, bedspreads are pretty creepy in hotels and feel that the room not only looks, but is just plain cleaner. I hope you will consider us next time you are on your way through!

Thank you,
Michelle Flinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We couldn't believe our charges for this place..."it's higher when you check in later"..i guess prices change at 8 to 8:30pm?? We paid more here than we did at some lodges in the nice resort areas of the mountains....Even with a AAA discount, rooms were ok but not worth the $160+...no nearby restaurants...had a horrible experience at a bistro in town at lunch time....after waiting 45 minutes after we ordered..we never did get our food and left.....went to McDonalds where they tried to short change us.....Sterling is definitely not a place we will recommend or stop at again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meganlee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

I'm sorry that you had a bad experience in the restaurant that you went to. As for the rates, I understand that the rates in our area are somewhat higher due to the lack of available rooms to rent. Our rates are based on occupancy, so, as occupancy goes up so do the rates. This is why it was stated that the earlier the reservation is made, there is a chance for a better rate. I apologize for any misunderstanding there may have been.
Michelle Flinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was very happy with everything about this property. It is conveniently located near the freeway. Our room was very large with all the desired amenities. It had a wonderful, very private balcony. My parents room was set up for my handicap father and they liked the hotel as well. The beds were very comfortable, breakfast was good, and the staff was polite and helpful. I would highly recommend this property if you are in Sterling, CO!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you Tim for your glowing review; I'm glad your stay was pleasant. I'm also glad that we were able to accommodate your parents. We do our best to make sure that things that are important to you happen as they should. I will pass your comments along to my staff as well. I hope you have the chance to come back our way and that we are able to take care of you again!

Michelle Flinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

With AAA discount, our room after taxes was just slightly over $161. In my book, and out here in the West, that's pricey!! Especially since their outdoor pool was drained, their location too far from the only dining opportunities, the chairs in the breakfast room were rock hard and uncomfortable (the food, however, great!), and their toilets and sinks too low! Yes, you read that correctly! When I sat on the toilet the first time, it was so low, I thought I was falling into the bowl! I was all ready to curse hubby for leaving the seat up - when YIKES! I landed on the toilet seat! But at 5'nothing, that seat was a real drop! When I mentioned it to Hubby, he said the same thing happened to him! So - BEWARE - tall folks - Do some preparatory squats before going to this hotel!! The same goes for the bathroom sink and counter. I had to bend over to wash my hands!
The room was clean, the bed very comfortable - and I really liked our private ground-floor patio and door that opens out to it. The entire hotel is NON-smoking, which is something we look for.

Room Tip: Don't forget to practice those squats!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janconover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s):

*Non-commercial No promotional material of any kind, including URLs that are irrelevant to the review in question. We reserve the right to reject any URL.

Please consider resubmitting a response which meets our posting criteria using the management response form on our site. Please let us know if you have further concerns.

Best regards,
TripAdvisor Support Team
[302]
---original management response-----
Subject: BEST WESTERN Sundowner
Location: Sterling
Title: Owner response
ID#: 213119835

Dear Jan,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed our breakfast selections. We realize the rates in our area are somewhat higher than other areas due to our lack of available rooms. We appreciate that you chose to spend your money with us. Rates can be lower when booking in advance as our rates are based on occupancy and are the highest when we are full. Also, there are some online options, available on the Best Western website. These are prepaid and have more strict cancellation rules, but you can save some money that way. Again, we appreciate that you chose to stay with us and hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 970-522-6265.

Michelle Flinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sterling hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sterling
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Sterling
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oakwood Inn
The Oakwood Inn
#4 of 6 in Sterling
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sundowner

Address: 125 Overland Trail Street, Sterling, CO 80751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Sterling
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range: $114 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sundowner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off Interstate 76 in Colorado at Exit 125 between Ogallala and Denver, the Best Western Sundowner offers award-winning customer service, newly remodeled rooms and a premium location at an unbeatable rate. Just outside this charming Sterling, Colorado hotel, guests can enjoy a full day of fun and adventure. From Northeastern Junior College sporting events, to lush greens and fairways nearby and plenty of events to attend, like the Flatlanders Antique Car Show and the Logan Country Fair there is something for everyone and you will find it all just a short drive from the Best Western Sundowner. And while in town, don't miss the Overland Trail Museum, a favorite with both locals and visitors. Guests of this 100% smoke-free, pet friendly Sterling, Colorado hotel will find that each comfortable accommodation comes complete with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, free expanded cable television, free HBO® and all the comforts of home. Other amenities at the Best Western Sundowner also includes a full breakfast each morning, a sparkling seasonal outdoor pool and recreational park, an on-site exercise facility, free copies each morning of USA Today® and computer workstations for guests to use any time they need. Business guests will also appreciate the Best Western Sundowner's close proximity to local businesses, including Banner Health Services®, Trinidad Benham Corporation, Amcon Distributing and more. And families visiting students attending Northeastern Junior College will also love the hotel's location near the popular school. Get ready for a memorable and enjoyable Sterling, Colorado getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sundowner Hotel Sterling
Best Western Sterling
Sterling Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing