We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For $161, I expected something more...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Sundowner
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

With AAA discount, our room after taxes was just slightly over $161. In my book, and out here in the West, that's pricey!! Especially since their outdoor pool was drained, their location too far from the only dining opportunities, the chairs in the breakfast room were rock hard and uncomfortable (the food, however, great!), and their toilets and sinks too low! Yes, you read that correctly! When I sat on the toilet the first time, it was so low, I thought I was falling into the bowl! I was all ready to curse hubby for leaving the seat up - when YIKES! I landed on the toilet seat! But at 5'nothing, that seat was a real drop! When I mentioned it to Hubby, he said the same thing happened to him! So - BEWARE - tall folks - Do some preparatory squats before going to this hotel!! The same goes for the bathroom sink and counter. I had to bend over to wash my hands!
The room was clean, the bed very comfortable - and I really liked our private ground-floor patio and door that opens out to it. The entire hotel is NON-smoking, which is something we look for.

Room Tip: Don't forget to practice those squats!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janconover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s):

*Non-commercial No promotional material of any kind, including URLs that are irrelevant to the review in question. We reserve the right to reject any URL.

Please consider resubmitting a response which meets our posting criteria using the management response form on our site. Please let us know if you have further concerns.

Best regards,
TripAdvisor Support Team
[302]
---original management response-----
Subject: BEST WESTERN Sundowner
Location: Sterling
Title: Owner response
ID#: 213119835

Dear Jan,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed our breakfast selections. We realize the rates in our area are somewhat higher than other areas due to our lack of available rooms. We appreciate that you chose to spend your money with us. Rates can be lower when booking in advance as our rates are based on occupancy and are the highest when we are full. Also, there are some online options, available on the Best Western website. These are prepaid and have more strict cancellation rules, but you can save some money that way. Again, we appreciate that you chose to stay with us and hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 970-522-6265.

Michelle Flinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Sundowner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 435 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

A 1800 mile road trip brought me through Sterling Colorado late one evening and, after consulting Trip Advisor reviews, I booked a room at Best Western Sundowner. Great place to stay! The hotel is smoke free and the rooms are quiet, spacious and clean. It is located just off the interstate. The staff member, even during the late evening hours, was friendly and accommodating. She even found me a room on the ground floor! I travel with my well mannered medium sized dog who was provided a treat at check-in. Note to those travelers whose co-pilot has 4 legs, there is an excellent park right behind the hotel-part of the Overland Trail Museum. The Museum looks like it would be worth a look too but my travels required leaving before the Museum was open.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have access both from the parking area as well as through the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Patrice,

Thank you for the super review, and thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. I'm glad that my staff treated you well and your four-legged travel companion is always welcome with us. Hopefully you get a chance to come back through - the Overland Trail Museum is definitely worth a visit!

Thank you!

Michelle Flinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Sundowner was a nice hotel that was conveniently located, close to major roads. The bed was very comfortable. Room was clean and well maintained. The breakfast bar was included and was just average. The price was slightly high but judging by other hotels in the area, it was the better choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Swngdok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all of your wonderful comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you've taken the time to tell us about your experience. It is feedback such as this that allows us to continually find ways to improve so that we can deliver better service. Thank you again for your feedback!

Michelle Flinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you find yourself needing lodging in Sterling, CO, I would highly recommend a stay at the Best Western. The facility is very clean and modern. The guest rooms are very cozy and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeffrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Sundowner. I'm glad you liked our new rooms, and myself and my staff would love to see you again!
Thank you,

Michelle Flinn
General Manager
Best Western Sundowner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed there for our wedding. The room as gorgeous. Internet was very fast.The hotel itself was very nice. Staff was helpful and courteous. Would definitely stay there again. Would also recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in Sterling, CO

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for recommending our hotel! We appreciate your positive comments and hope you can stay with us again soon. Thanks again,

Michelle Flinn
Genera Manager
Best Western Sundowner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel was renovated after flooding last year. I stayed on the 2nd floor, my room was nicely remodeled and looked nothing like the outdated photos online. The morning breakfast was very nice and had a variety of hot and cold choices. The fresh baked cookies in the afternoon were a nice treat along with the tea selection available 24 hours. The workout area was newly remodeled and had new aerobic equipment.
Draw backs, the outdoor pool was closed and the hot tub is no longer working. They do have an indoor pool, but was very cool. I stayed in Room 207 the walls are thin! The room next door was the staff linen closet, bonus but on the opposite side of the room I could hear the children next door and then on the 3rd wall was a connecting door to a different room. That room had the balcony while my room had none. The room faced the side of the pool so quiet except for my neighbors, but no road noise. I could hear my neighbor's TV until 2:30am, however a very stern knock on his door and a yell to turn down his TV and problem solved. Thank goodness he only stayed 1 night. The TV was odd it kept turning off automatically I still don't know what buttons I hit to make it stay on.
I felt very safe staying at this hotel by myself.

Room Tip: Rooms facing on the opposite side of the pool could be louder because there is a gas station and lot...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0nes0uth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your response. We are working on some updated photos to go online so everyone can see what we have to offer. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast! We are working on some issues with our outdoor pool and hope to have it opened soon...
Thank you,
Michelle Flinn
General Manager
Best Western Sundowner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times. Alone with my wife, with my kids, etc. It's always clean, comfortable, quiet. It is always surprising to have such a nice place out in basically the middle of nowhere. I'd recommend it. The breakfast is nice. The staff is always very friendly.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your awesome review. I'm so glad that you've had great experiences with us - and that my staff has treated you well. Thanks again,

Michelle Flinn
General Manager
Best Western Sundowner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sterling hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sterling
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Sterling
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oakwood Inn
The Oakwood Inn
#4 of 6 in Sterling
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sundowner

Address: 125 Overland Trail Street, Sterling, CO 80751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Sterling
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range: $114 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sundowner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off Interstate 76 in Colorado at Exit 125 between Ogallala and Denver, the Best Western Sundowner offers award-winning customer service, newly remodeled rooms and a premium location at an unbeatable rate. Just outside this charming Sterling, Colorado hotel, guests can enjoy a full day of fun and adventure. From Northeastern Junior College sporting events, to lush greens and fairways nearby and plenty of events to attend, like the Flatlanders Antique Car Show and the Logan Country Fair there is something for everyone and you will find it all just a short drive from the Best Western Sundowner. And while in town, don't miss the Overland Trail Museum, a favorite with both locals and visitors. Guests of this 100% smoke-free, pet friendly Sterling, Colorado hotel will find that each comfortable accommodation comes complete with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, free expanded cable television, free HBO® and all the comforts of home. Other amenities at the Best Western Sundowner also includes a full breakfast each morning, a sparkling seasonal outdoor pool and recreational park, an on-site exercise facility, free copies each morning of USA Today® and computer workstations for guests to use any time they need. Business guests will also appreciate the Best Western Sundowner's close proximity to local businesses, including Banner Health Services®, Trinidad Benham Corporation, Amcon Distributing and more. And families visiting students attending Northeastern Junior College will also love the hotel's location near the popular school. Get ready for a memorable and enjoyable Sterling, Colorado getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sundowner Hotel Sterling
Best Western Sterling
Sterling Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing