We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Sundowner
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is one of our favorite places to stay. We have stayed there 5 or 6 times and they have always been very good to us. Friendly staff, nice rooms, good breakfast. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Highly recommended, this is how a hotel should be.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micromisterphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 452 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Everything was excellent as with all my other stays at this BW Sundowner. I would recommend this hotel to everyone that is going to stay in sterling. This Best Western is pet friendly as well. We like the rooms with the outside entrances.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank SCOTT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times while traveling and the rooms are consistently clean & comfortable. We travel with our pets & they charge $20 extra for them. The continental breakfast is always good. If you are traveling through Sterling this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank JENNIFER K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Can't imagine why anyone would stay more than one night in Sterling. The one night we spent here was comfortable and restful. Driving a 22 ft box truck from Grand Junction on icy roads wasn't pleasant, so we were grateful to find the Sundowner staff friendly and professional, the room warm and comfortable with quality bedding, tv, and wireless, and parking for our truck near the room. I-76 is a horrible road, so probably won't be this way again; but if we are, the Sundowner would be a place we would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions for about 3 weeks on each stay the rooms are covered in the flys. The first time I checked out management said I broke both box springs in the beds in the room. One of the beds I never touched. They wanted to charge me $500 for the damages that I didnt even know I did later they said they wanted my business so wouldnt charge me so I went back for another 3 week stay the room still covered in flys I used to kill at least 10 flys a day and didnt do anything to controll population. This time when I checked out they said I was smoking in my room charged me extra 100 this did not happen I am still doing business in Sterling just not at Best Western cause after you give them thousands in business they will charge your card for something you didnt do.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twcllc, Manager at Best Western Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Tim,

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
As you are aware, you were not charged for the broken box springs. We do feel passionately about our non-smoking policy, which is clearly stated on our registration cards. When a room has obviously been smoked in, we do require extra cleaning and deoderizing so our next guest does not experience a smokey room.
Flies do seem to be prevelent during this time of the year, and inevitably rooms that have outside entrances occasionally allow flies inside. We have routine preventative pest control but also provide a natural organic pest spray available at the front desk that we effectively use to control this. It was not noted that this problem was brought to the attention of the hotel personnel who regretfully could have assisted you with this problem if they had been alerted.

Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Not too much of a choice in Sterling, CO but this BW is decent with spacious clean room. Breakfast was better than most other places. AC may be just a bit too loud for our taste. Front desk was friendly checking in and checking out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yww168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sterling hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sterling
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Sterling
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oakwood Inn
The Oakwood Inn
#4 of 6 in Sterling
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Crest Motel
The Crest Motel
#1 of 3 in Sterling
40 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sundowner

Address: 125 Overland Trail Street, Sterling, CO 80751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Sterling
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range: $97 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sundowner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off Interstate 76 in Colorado at Exit 125 between Ogallala and Denver, the Best Western Sundowner offers award-winning customer service, newly remodeled rooms and a premium location at an unbeatable rate. Just outside this charming Sterling, Colorado hotel, guests can enjoy a full day of fun and adventure. From Northeastern Junior College sporting events, to lush greens and fairways nearby and plenty of events to attend, like the Flatlanders Antique Car Show and the Logan Country Fair there is something for everyone and you will find it all just a short drive from the Best Western Sundowner. And while in town, don't miss the Overland Trail Museum, a favorite with both locals and visitors. Guests of this 100% smoke-free, pet friendly Sterling, Colorado hotel will find that each comfortable accommodation comes complete with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, free expanded cable television, free HBO® and all the comforts of home. Other amenities at the Best Western Sundowner also includes a full breakfast each morning, a sparkling seasonal outdoor pool and recreational park, an on-site exercise facility, free copies each morning of USA Today® and computer workstations for guests to use any time they need. Business guests will also appreciate the Best Western Sundowner's close proximity to local businesses, including Banner Health Services®, Trinidad Benham Corporation, Amcon Distributing and more. And families visiting students attending Northeastern Junior College will also love the hotel's location near the popular school. Get ready for a memorable and enjoyable Sterling, Colorado getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sundowner Hotel Sterling
Best Western Sterling
Sterling Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing