We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable, stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Sundowner
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed 07/08/12. I was traveling alone (our first solo trip without my husband), with my four children and checked in around 11 pm. I called ahead to make the reservation when I was in Denver & asked a lot of questions about the property. Angel took my call, answered every question, and reserved my room. I asked about the age of the hotel & she explained the property was built in the seventies and had been renovated and even had a wing added over the years. I was expecting a nicer, older, clean property after the reviews that I read but the cleanliness of the very updated room we got was out of the park. The extra linens we ordered were promptly delivered and packed in sanitary bags. The tv remote was the new "clean" remote. Everything was super comfortable. My older children (ages 14 & 16) kept repeating how clean the room was-- we have stayed in several hotels this summer. The staff was so very friendly. Angel even stayed late so that she could check us in because I was concerned about my requests being passed along to the next person on duty. All concern I had was completely gone when I met the next woman on duty who was just as great as Angel. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, the breakfast was a typical variety hot breakfast, and the location off the highway was convenient. After reading all of the reviews for the other Sterling hotels (yucky Comfort Inn next to prison), checking the bed bug registry (shame shame Ramada Inn), and staying here... The is the ONLY place to stay in Sterling. The only down note-- there is no elevator, so if you need a 1st floor room, call early. Angel offered me a 1st floor room so that loading and unloading with my kids would be easier, but they also have back doors that open to the parking lot. Had I been traveling with my hubby, this would have been great. Traveling alone, I wanted an indoor entrance only to our room. That said, angel helped us carry our luggage up the stairs ((( repeat, she was off shift))). We finished our trip staying two more places, and this was STILL the best.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Sundowner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 434 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

6/5/2012
Arrived to a friendly front desk clerk that provided instructions for dinner that night. Our room was on the ground floor and located in the back of the building which was nice and quiet, easy to unpack the car as well. The room was large, clean, and well equipped with everything we needed. The bed was wonderful to sleep on.

The morning coffee and breakfast area was large and well equipped, the day maid “Maria” was wonderful in keeping the supplies filed and fresh. This was the best breakfast I have had at a hotel. Not the typical continental waffle and reheated eggs. You simply don’t want to go anywhere else for breakfast with this located so close and convenient.

When checking out the hotel staff was friendly and provided answers to all of our questions about the area. I can’t say enough about “all” the hotel staff that made our trip and overnight stay so pleasant.

I would never hesitate to stay here while in the area or on a road trip.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in the back are easy to use and very quiet. Don't miss breakfast!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyphxaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here with our two dogs, who were really welcomed -- we got treats for them and a clever little poo-poo bag holder that clips to your leash upon check-in! The hotel is clean, the rooms are large and it all looks new and/or recently redone. Only disappointment for our crew was that we arrived during a thunderstorm so no one got to swim in the inviting-looking indoor and outdoor pools. The breakfast bar was well-maintained also.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FontanaBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was not expecting much. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the clean, comfortable and updated rooms. The king bed was comfortable with good bedding, not a questionable bedspread. Flat screen TV, micorwave, small fridge and coffee maker were very nice additions. My only complaints are no elevator and the wi-fi was nearly non existant in my room, but great in the lobby. While staying here I drove past some of the other lodging options and the BW-Sundowner is far and away the best choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchick39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facility is clean and our room had a lot of space. Breakfast was good. This was our first stay. We go to Sterling every year and will be staying at this motel from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

No compliants: clean, friendly service, a very "new" feel.

Room Tip: It is across the street from the prison...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very clean, comfortable, and updated. The staff was very nice and alert at 3:00 AM when we arrived. As we travel through the area yearly we often stop in Fort Morgan but we will be staying in Sterling now.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichiganDiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sterling hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sterling
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Sterling
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oakwood Inn
The Oakwood Inn
#4 of 6 in Sterling
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sundowner

Address: 125 Overland Trail Street, Sterling, CO 80751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Sterling
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range: $114 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sundowner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off Interstate 76 in Colorado at Exit 125 between Ogallala and Denver, the Best Western Sundowner offers award-winning customer service, newly remodeled rooms and a premium location at an unbeatable rate. Just outside this charming Sterling, Colorado hotel, guests can enjoy a full day of fun and adventure. From Northeastern Junior College sporting events, to lush greens and fairways nearby and plenty of events to attend, like the Flatlanders Antique Car Show and the Logan Country Fair there is something for everyone and you will find it all just a short drive from the Best Western Sundowner. And while in town, don't miss the Overland Trail Museum, a favorite with both locals and visitors. Guests of this 100% smoke-free, pet friendly Sterling, Colorado hotel will find that each comfortable accommodation comes complete with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, free expanded cable television, free HBO® and all the comforts of home. Other amenities at the Best Western Sundowner also includes a full breakfast each morning, a sparkling seasonal outdoor pool and recreational park, an on-site exercise facility, free copies each morning of USA Today® and computer workstations for guests to use any time they need. Business guests will also appreciate the Best Western Sundowner's close proximity to local businesses, including Banner Health Services®, Trinidad Benham Corporation, Amcon Distributing and more. And families visiting students attending Northeastern Junior College will also love the hotel's location near the popular school. Get ready for a memorable and enjoyable Sterling, Colorado getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sundowner Hotel Sterling
Best Western Sterling
Sterling Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing