We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay and see many parts of...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Willow House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Littlemore, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
dun154
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
“A great place to stay and see many parts of England”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Excellent 2 bedroom property. Clean, comfortable, close to Oxford. On public transport route. Private and quiet, offering all facilities, renting this property is an excellent way to tour England. Easy distance to Bath, Blenheim Palace, Midsomer Murders villages and lots more. A great way to travel and see England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenient location
Liked least: steep stairs to bedroom & toilet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnb4562...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb - well appointed / well equipped spotlessly clean / holiday rental”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Barnes family thoroughly enjoyed Willow House it was really well situated for Oxford and Sandford Lock and nice walks along the Thames. Good bus service to Oxford (bus stop only 50 yards from house). It was the best equipped holiday rental we have ever stayed in and Warren the owner was a very nice helpful chap.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautifully furnished and spotless
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doirefad
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good accommodation”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed here in September.

Very nice house and you can walk to Oxford along the Thames, or take a bus (£2) or a Taxi (£12)

It had everything we needed an a cracking WiFi speed that was very useful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
70JAR
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped and very clean”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Friendly welcome from Warren on arrival. Lovely property with well equipped kitchen. Comfortable, clean house with nice furnishings and quiet location with parking space.. Good location for city centre - we found park and ride easiest as buses infrequent. Oxford is a lovely city with lots to do and see.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwfrydg48
Parker, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quality, Affordable Property”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The house is new, well furnished, comfortable and very convenient for Oxford and the river. The owner was unable to meet us at the property but that did not prove to be a problem.

The amenities are of a high standard, we particularly liked the large shower and the kitchen appliances. However if you plan to cook some of the non-stick pans are quite burnt and scratched. Also the only large knife is a bread knife, which made slicing a gammon joint a challenge.

There is a washing machine but no dryer or means to dry clothes, which seemed odd. Again, not a problem for us as we dried on a relative's line because the weather was good. We also did not find any towels but fortunately Sainsburys is very close.

We did not find the sloping ceiling in the master bedroom to be an issue. The area was very quiet and we had a peaceful, relaxing week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower
Liked least: Kitchen utensils
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctward24
Huddersfield, England
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I would certainly stay at Willow House again. The house was furnished to a very high standard and the rooms were very clean. The location is ideal for Oxford and is close to local aminaties.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg072
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“High quality accommodation but some issues”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
7
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have just stayed at Willow House for one week and while the accommodation is of high quality we did experience a number of issues.

Willow house is quite easy to find as it is directly opposite a small traffic island, next door to a quite large used car yard and across from some fairy untidy houses. The actual accommodation is the right hand section of the owners new house and has its own private access.

Our first issue with the property was that the advertisement was for a two bedroom property and we had paid quite a large amount of money for this configuration. However, on arrival we found that the owners had locked off one of the bedrooms so we now had a one bedroom property !

Next the one bedroom that was available to us had a ceiling on the right hand side of the bed that sloped in different areas from head height to shoulder height and then to waist height. This sloping ceiling meant that one had to walk around the right hand side of the bedroom bent over to avoid the roof (in a new property !!). Anyway, during unpacking I went to put items in the right hand side bedroom draws forgot the low ceiling sections and walked straight into a neck height section with enough force to throw me on my back on the floor, momentarily stun me and result in my spending the evening in the local hospital emergency ward having ahead injury treated !!

After that I refused to spend our weeks stay bent over trying to dodge the ceiling in the one bedroom available to us so asked the owner to unlock the other bedroom which we had already paid for !! This bedroom was spacious, had a full head height ceiling, had large windows that overlooked the used car yard next door and faced the morning sun. Unfortunately the room also had very thin curtains so as soon as the sun came up the room was flood in sunlight and made it impossible to sleep past first light.

As I mentioned the accommodation is part of the owners house and we discovered there are connecting doors that join the two properties, one in the kitchen and one by the second bedroom. Of course normal domestic house door do not supply and sound proofing. This was brought to our attention when settling down for a cup of tea in the afternoon we were subjected to a constant howling and barking from the owners two dogs on the other side of the kitchen door. Breakfast the next morning was again accompanied by a constant howling and barking from these two dogs. This was followed by the shouts of a child running about, loud talking and radio/TV noise. We were starting to think that this was going to be a long week. The later part of our stay was quieter but you are still just one thin door away from the owners daily life.

Next the advertisement for this property said heating included. However the ownesr have decided that heating will not be provided between 9am and 4.30 pm and after 10pm !! So during those hours if you are at home and it is cold outside, as I believe happens in England occasionally, then get ready to pull the thermals and jackets out to stay warm. Sounds like false advertising to me.

Next, we have now been travelling for just over one year and this is the first property in which we have had to provide our own towels. Now this might be OK if you live in the UK but I do not know of any international traveller who carries a bath towel in their luggage. Not acceptable.

The property does not have any of the usual range of books, CDs, videos available nor a hairdryer. I noted that in the visitors book the last guests said that towels and a hair dryer would be appreciated.

I also noted that while packing our car to leave the owner, without asking me, opened our car door to look inside !!

Modern high quality accommodation but not for us and we would not go back nor recommend to friends.

Tips if you do stay at this accommodation. Go out of the property and turn left and just past the used car yard, on the same side as the property, is a bus stop where one may catch the T2 bus service into Oxford. Expect the bus to be ten minutes late and the bus times are on display at the bus stop.

For groceries, turn left out of the property and drive a short distance to join the motorway. At the first roundabout that you reach the Sainsbury’s super store is on your right on the far corner of the traffic island.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: New property with high quality fitings
Liked least: Disfunctional bedrooms and lack of customer focus
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing