We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bantimurung National Park
from $375.40
More Info
from $237.81
More Info
from $530.56
More Info
from $472.79
More Info
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
58
104
79
10
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
58
104
79
10
19
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 270 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

About 1 hour from Makassar city, we spent the about 5 hours at the site. The waterfalls is a nice site but the caves are the most attractive activities. To get inside is free but it is strongly suggested to hire a guide with a lamp (50,000rp) for a group, as it is pitch black inside. The cave is about 100 meters long, horizontally and is easily accessible. Great for the family to learn about butterflies during the month of May especially. Avoid week-ends and hollydays...entance fee is 10.000 for locals and 50.000 for foreigners.

5  Thank eawuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

it's about 2 hours from makassar city. not much to see on the way there. The Cave looks beautiful but I haven't got the chance to go closer. Butterflies everywhere and looked amazing. Some renovation going on and I think they need a lot more improvement. the service was very local, as in not manage it professionally. The bathroom sucks! and no decent locker to put in our bags.Anyway, I looovve the waterfall so much.. I wish I had all day to swim and enjoy the cool clean water..

Date of experience: November 2012
1  Thank Maeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

the main attraction of this place is actually cave formation and waterfall but the butterfly in thousand is always eye catching and we can forget that we came for waterfall :) so many butterfly in some color and size variation is flying around you :). maybe the sad part is that not so many anymore like in the past but still we can see hundreds butterfly flying around the cave.

Date of experience: October 2012
4  Thank faozanrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had one day to kill in Makassar, and decided to check out the waterfalls and butterfly park at Bantimurung. What a waste of a day. We spent two hours on at least 3 different Bemos in the penetrating heat to get there. Getting off the Bemo we walked past numerous stalls selling food, drink, and most disappointingly, thousands of framed butterflies. Don't encourage this dispicable practice - its no wonder there are very few butterflies left in what must have once been an incredible sight. We were expecting a 20 000 admission each based on Lonely Planets (often incorrect) advice, and arrived to face 50 000 rupiah each - more than we were willing to pay but considering the effort we took to get there decided to bite the bullet. Basically this is a dirty public pool fed by a large waterfall. The waterfall itself is impressive, but is ruined by its surroundings - litter, concrete, dilapidated facilities, and hawkers. We walked to the top of the river only to find a walkway that was accessible with a flashlight, which guides willingly offer - at this point we were done, and chose to make the walk straight back out the gates, only to find no bemos returning to Rantepao. We waited 45 minutes, punctuated with swathes of locals wanting to take pictures with us (which is normally fun, but less so when you're in a bad mood, and after 40 or 50 occurances), until we waved a Bemo down, for a 2 hour ride back to the city. Waste of money, not to mention a whole day. Stay away.

Date of experience: May 2012
6  Thank walpa273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews