We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Natural Beauty in Dusun Berua”
Review of Karst Maros

Karst Maros
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Maros
Attraction details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Natural Beauty in Dusun Berua”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I've been to a similar place like this in Guilin, China, on 2006 and I've never thought that there's a place like that in Indonesia until I visited this place. Surrounded by karst, Dusun Berua is a unique village with only 15 family live in their "rumah panggung" (a traditional wooden house with vault on the underside). A lot of people know this place as Desa Rammang-Rammang, but one of the locals told me that it is actually Dusun Berua, Village of Salenrang.

It is not hard to reach this village; take an hour drive from Makassar city toward Maros, until you find a sign for Pabrik Semen Bosowa on your right. You will need to take a u-turn to reach that street, then go straight until you find a bridge. Alternatively, you can also type "Salenrang" on your navigation using Google Maps. There is the wharf of Rammang-Rammang located. You can park your vehicle along the street, and yes, it is safe. You will need to take a boat (IDR150,000 return) from there to reach Dusun Berua for about 20 minutes with a beautiful scenery surround you. Once arrived in Dusun Berua, there are several objects to see: a spring water, an ancient cave, or you can just spending time in the villager's houses while enjoying such a beautiful nature with rice fields, a row of karst, and the local life ambience.

Karst Maros is a very precious natural source and heritage of South Sulawesi, and I really hope that it won't be vanished by exploitation of cement companies nearby.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank KaniaRaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Leang-Leang”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Leang-leang located in Maros Region in South Sulawesi. It is close to Bantimurung National Park where you can find different species of butterflies and waterfall. The scenery towards Leang-Leang is breathtaking. We can see the beautiful Karst. The green rice field and the Karst are extraordinary beautiful. Once you arrive in the pre historical garden, you will see beautiful rocks here and there. After paying the entrance fee, the guide will take you to the cave where you can find pre historic hand prints and paintings of Anoa and babi rusa (deer pig) on the cave's wall. Not many but since it is a pre historical remain, you will find it amazing. You can also go inside the cave. Not that deep but you will experience how the cave men lived thousands of years ago.

The Karst was once the ocean's floor. It is beautiful. If you like this kind of attraction, going to Leang-Leang is a must. It was pretty quiet when I went there which is good. It seems that not many people know that place and I am happy for that. I hope people will maintain that area and the government will not give permission to companies to build cement factory and destroy our pre historic remains.

The trip to Leang-Leang only takes 30 - 45 minutes from Makassar depending on the traffic. If you like to experience something unique, you must list Leang-Leang on your to do list.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Terong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rammang-Rammang, Maros”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Really excited with my experience there.
It was started from "Dermaga Rammang-Rammang", where we rent a little boat to wading the river. After 15-20 minutes we arrive at karst area and start explore it.
There's another beautiful place called "Taman Bidadari" you can asked to your guide, how to reach that place.
The last but not least, you can try different route to reach your car, yeah by trekking. Why I choose trekking? because there's so many karst you can explore on that route, you also can try to have a little conversation with the locals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yobelien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Underwater Corals Come Up”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's quite difficult to find this place. No sign or mark to stop. You just need to stop in the bridges and take a small boat. You need to pay around Rp.150.000 for the boat. You will enjoy a beautiful scenery ever, It's so amazing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Antoni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
634 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“NIce Karst formation,great natural track”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is actually 1 hour drive from Makassar city. Its just natural track with karst formation with very wide of paddy field landscape.If you took land transportation from Makassar to Toraja, maybe you can just drop by this place. Its worth visiting if you love natural track and photographing. The most important is that this place is not tourist main attraction so still very quiet and natural :)
This place not only karst rock formation but you can also do tracking or just rent wooden boat from locals and explore the rock formation between the river and the jungle. you can choose the track with rice field and small village or just climbing some hilly karst, but Many small monkey is living in the karst, so please don't disturb them and be a naturalist tourist also :)
not so much food to buy here so better you take it with you from Makassar and respect the villagers for sure :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank faozanrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karst Maros also viewed

 
Maros, South Sulawesi
Bitung, North Sulawesi
 

Been to Karst Maros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing