We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rex's”

Rex's American Grill & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Walton Creek Rd.
Transit: The Steamboat Springs Free Bus stops right in front of Rex's. Get on the main line travel to the "la quinta" stop.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

High quality food a step above any burger place; evening entertainment at the bar. Located in the Holiday Inn and operated by experienced and innovative restauranteur. You wont be disappointed.

Thank DrZFortLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Rex's American Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

I'll let Rex know that his innovations are appreciated. We often find that people can initially be a bit apprehensive about any restaurant located inside a Holiday Inn. But as you've noted, we are not at all a typical "hotel" establishment. With yummy food, live entertainment and a great atmosphere we strive to provide an overall good experience. Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 598 of 677 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Steak was mighty tasty! Staff was very friendly. Bar is off to the side. Restaurant is located at end of Holiday Inn hotel. Very convenient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Garrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Rex's American Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

This is a mighty nice review, and we appreciate it. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We recently visited Steamboat on our way to the west coast..While we dined in several restaurants, Rex's was by far the best..Our waiter was attentive without being intrusive..We had salads and pizza..the crust was not too crisp and had that wonderful flavor that only seems to come from a wood fired oven..Menu is varied and the atmosphere welcoming..wish we had discovered this place when we arrived; we may not have eaten anywhere else..Don't miss Rex's on your next visit to Steamboat Springs.

1  Thank seagrovetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Rex's American Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

From Florida to the West Coast.... quite the road trip! It's so great to read that you felt our restaurant was "the best" and we're going to share this review with the entire staff. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Woo hoo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've tried several things on the menu here, all have been good, and when I was served the wrong food, staff took care of it graciously. Good for dinner on the way out of town or if you're staying a while.

1  Thank tobycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Rex's American Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hi Toby... thanks for the review! Good feedback. It's nice to hear that even if a mistake is made in serving that our waitstaff knows to manage it. We hope you can make it back the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Be carefully what u order. Rex's try's to have something for everyone. However only a few items on the menu are worth ordering. The specials are usually great or anything the server recommends. Employees only eat what is new to them or really freaking good so take their suggestions I had wings which were poorly par cooked then refried. Not to mention 10 bucks for less than a pound our servers took our napkins and silver after aps and didnt reset the table. Water service was non existent while thirsty from spicy wings. Entrees arrived with no silverware or napkins or water. My pizza showed no signed of being in an over. It was limp not crispy at all or browned anywhere. It was obvious this pie was made in a crappy conveyer belt pizza oven and was not tossed by hand. If it's not possible to do do ... You don't make pizza there. I ordered a margarita pizza (fresh motz basil and fresh tomato). The basil was old slimy and was poorly cut in a chiffonade. The ultimate sin was the redish white extra thick slices or crappy unripe tomato all over my pie. In edible. Again if u don't have the proper aspects for a dish...don't make it. And it's tomato season guys. C'mon! Rex's is every other restaurant in town...Mediocre food lazy staff poor attention to detail and all the potential in the world. I wish I had more hands so I could give Rex's 4 thumbs down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Snowsteamboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Rex's American Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We're very sorry to read that you had such a mediocre experience. Traditionally our guests have very positive things to say about our food so we're disappointed to hear that we didn't perform in your instance. We really do value the feedback so thank you for letting us know some areas you think need improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rex's American Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rex's American Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing