We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timber Run #212”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timber Run Condominiums
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wow, where to start?

Check-in: Checked-in and was advised we were in unit 117, and upstairs unit on the top floor. Great, no problem. I get my three sets of room keys and proceed to make one trip up to the top floor with a load of luggage. Get to the top and discover that none of the keys would work. So, back to the front office for a new set. Another trip up to the top floor with more luggage and again, the key don't work. This time (the 3rd time) I send my wife back to the office for yet another set of keys while I continue to make more trips up the stairs with luggage and supplies. My wife returns and informs me that they were trying to assign us the wrong room, that we were actually in unitl #212. Seriously you cant make this stuff up. So down we go with all of our stuff, and back up again on the next building over, and again on the top floor! YES, this would be a sign of things to come.

We finally get settled in to #212 and we notice that the lovely owners of this unitl saw fit to leave out several hundred of their personal family pictures all around the place. Seriously? Nothing like looking a pictures of John and Mary on your bedroom nightstand. Please, trust me, no one wants to see your personal pictures everywhere. Its a rental! It freaked my kids out. I joked that I was going to go and take a bunch of random pictures of strangers and place them in every picture they had of themselves but I literally would have taken me a week to do this there were some many pictures. Besides, if I owned a unit that was this badly decorated I wouldn't want people to know it was my property. It looks like they found the closest garage sale they could find and baught the whole lot and hung it on the walls. The "feather" covered lamp was particularly disgusting!

Finally the property mangers must have hired an off-duty prison guard to look after the pool area, grill area, etc., as he constantly went around barking orders at everyone, even adults. We were in a group of about 9 families and we were all ready to tell this guy to take a hike after just a few hours. Oddly enough, come Sunday (we checked in on a Thursday and out on a Monday) there was not a single person on site. The office was locked up and the prison guard was gone.

In summary, there has to better places than this in Steamboat to stay. This place simply treated you like you were an inconvenience to their otherwise peaceful existenance. Not to worry, we won't be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mach_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 76 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have stayed at Timber Run on two other occasions and were very pleased. We felt that it was a good value and Wyndam resorts have exceptional customer service. They even put a bottle of wine in the condo to welcome you. The pool and hot tub facilities are big enough to handle quite a few guests. Normally the condos are updated and very comfortable for our family of 4 with bigger kids. This visit we got a condo that is in serious need of an update. That was fine, the unit was clean. The only downside was the "king" bed was actually two twins pulled together. The other bedroom had a day bed with a trundle bed which appears to be the one bedroom rental portion of this unit.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Timber Run Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your recent review for your stay at Timber Run Condominiums. We truly appreciate your return business to the property! The pool and hot tubs here are definitely a very popular amenity. The condominiums at the property are individually owned and decorated differently and the bedding in the condominiums can vary. I will pass your comments on to the owner of the unit. We do hope to host your next vacation to Steamboat Springs!

Becky Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We enjoyed our week-long stay at Timber Run very much. Our 2bd/ba unit was comfortably appointed and spacious. However, there were a number of nits that required frequent calls to the desk - non-functioning outlets, missing hair dryer, etc. Most calls were quickly resolved although we did need to make an emergency trip to Walgreens for a hair-dryer to make sure wet hair didn't turn into a cold.

The office staff were *extremely* helpful (I'm lookin' at you, Laura) and the shuttle service to the lifts and into town were frequent, prompt, and courteous. While we had a rental car, we would have been just as happy without a car.

The sleeper sofa wasn't great - my son complained of frequent neck aches.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronnotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Timber Run Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Timber Run Condominiums. We are glad to see that you found your condominium comfortable. We do apologize for the small annoying issues that you encountered during your time with us. I will be passing your positive comments on to Laura at the front desk and the shuttle drivers- they all do such a great job! We hope to have the opportunity to host your next vacation in Steamboat Springs!
Becky Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautiful 2 bedroom condo (number 104), nice and warm, spacious and can sleep up to 8 which is pretty amazing! Really close to the ski area and downtown with frequent shuttles to the ski area (we had a bit more difficulty getting the shuttle into town but it's only about 10min away). Lovely warm pool and hot tubs available (pool is around 90 degrees) and staff are very friendly. Ski lockers outside the cabins. Note, for good rates on timber run condos, look on air bnb. It was a bit noisy as we have a young baby so were going to sleep quite early - lots of noise of people going up and down stairs to their condos, having conversations while we were trying to get to sleep around 10pm

Room Tip: look on air bnb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lil_bubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Timber Run Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Timber Run Condos. I am glad you enjoyed the property and all of its amenities and that you found the staff to be friendly. I am sorry you had some issues with noise while you were here. Next time, I invite you to call Wyndham Vacation Rentals to book directly, as we manage most of the units at the property and can try to find a unit with a quieter location for you, while still giving you a great rate. Thanks again, and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Steamboat!
Becky Turner
General Manager
wvrsteamboat.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were just there for a huge group trip with OutdoorsCo.com. We had about 14 people in two condos #401 and #412. I loved our unit and it was decorated and updated perfectly. The staff was always friendly and attentive. Hot tubs were always cleaned and the shuttle buses ran like clockwork. The boys in our condos were always running to the office in the morning to beat eachother for the bear claw donuts. This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this property and they are very consistant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Timber Run Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Timber Run Condominiums. We always enjoying hosting the Outdoors Colorado Group year after year! We are glad you enjoyed the hot tubs, shuttle service and the delicious bear claw donuts! We hope to have the opportunity to host your next vacation in Steamboat Springs!
Becky Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday. The staff went above and beyond my expectations at every turn. Something I had not experienced before was that the day prior to our arrival the property called me and gave me a heads up on some helpful info.
The unit was clean and well equipped.
The shuttle service was an especially nice touch. Don't forget to tip them, these guy's and gal's work long hours for not so great money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Timber Run Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for staying at Timber Run Condominiums during the Thanksgiving Holiday! We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations! Out shuttle department does work very hard to make sure our guests get where they need to go! We appreciate your business and hope to host your vacation again in the future.

Becky Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

There are a lot of places to rent in Steamboat Springs, but the closer you get to the lifts, the more you'll pay. We found these condos to be within easy walking distance from the lift, and a lot less expensive than others just a little bit closer. Steamboat also runs a "free shuttle" during ski season, so you'd really have to walk no further than from your front door out to the street.

One aspect of these condos I really liked was the management company. All of the people were very friendly and accommodating, and they keep the grounds up nicely. Everything was always clean and neat, and we never ran out of anything. There was always someone there to help us when we needed help, and they always had the answers to our questions. THAT's service, and I like it.

The condos themselves are not brand new, but the management company requires them to be well-maintained, and they are. They, too, are neat and clean. And, if you don't mind, you can even rent condos that are a little more "dated" than the others for even less cash. Any way you look at it, when you're paying that much for a lift ticket, it's good to find a bargain where you can, especially if that only means sacrificing a little bit of style at a place you only plan to eat and sleep in anyway.

For families, or groups, these condos are a great, economical alternative to hotels with many of the same amenities. There is a heated pool here with three, outdoor jacuzzis, and an indoor dry sauna - great for relaxation after a day on the slopes.

The free shuttle will also take you the short drive into town for shopping or dining. There are a number of art galleries, jewelry shops, and, of course, tourist stores. We found t-shirts in the tourist stores for as little as $1, and we ate dinner for no more than one would pay in Denver or Boulder. We actually got big, powerful margaritas at "Cantina" for $4.00!!

Yes, Steamboat Springs is a nice getaway retreat whether you are coming just to relax, (they have nice hot springs, too), or if you want a taste of the Rocky Mountains while skiing, hiking or snowboarding. Going the condo route with friends is definitely the way to go, and this place is one of the best, most affordable condo complexes in the area.

Room Tip: During ski season, there is a free shuttle that will take you into town, or to the lifts. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ovolacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Timber Run Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We appreciate your wonderful review of Timber Run Condominiums. The Owners take great pride in their property and try to ensure that guests have everything they need for a comfortable stay. Our staff takes pride in providing excellent customer service! I will be sure to pass on your comments to them! We hope that you choose Timber Run for your next vacation to Steamboat Springs.
Becky Turner
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#19 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#7 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
EagleRidge Lodge
EagleRidge Lodge
#11 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trailhead Lodge
Trailhead Lodge
#3 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ski Inn Condominiums
Ski Inn Condominiums
#43 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Snow Flower Condominiums
Snow Flower Condominiums
#50 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Run Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Run Condominiums

Address: 2015 Walton Creek Rd, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-2359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: $174 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Timber Run Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Steamboat’s most popular vacation properties, Timber Run provides the ideal venue for family vacations, reunions or even group retreats. A short distance from the gondola with ski and on-call shuttle services, Timber Run offers affordable 1, 2, 3 & 3 bedroom with loft accommodations. All vacation rentals are equipped with a full kitchen, gas fireplace, private balcony or patio and complimentary Internet. Property amenities include a large outdoor heated pool, 3 outdoor hot tubs, complimentary ski storage, business center, tennis court, BBQ grill and patio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Timber Run Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Run Condominiums Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing