We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steamboat is usually a great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rockies Condominiums
Ft Worth TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Steamboat is usually a great trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Took a last minute package deal with Steamboat Central Reservations out of DFW with direct service to HDN. Only thing different on this trip than our usual set up, was the condo we were put into. The Rockies is a nice, but older unit off of the mountain base area. The front desk area closes early, about 6 PM. The hot tub, pool area worked well. The units were nice, but dated. Myself and one younger child made this trip stay in a loft unit. It was enough for the two of us. I would most likely not stay here again, but not because of the unit of the folsk I met there, but the location was not servicable.
The shuttle service offered by the Condo only runs from 6 PM to 9 PM. The Purple line of the Free bus route stops @ 6 and doesn't make a downtown run itself. If u want to stay out later than 9, a taxi or some other optin needs to be lined up before setting out. If u have your own car, then none of these issues exist.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwtxtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

Perfect family condo.All are individually owned .Well designed layout in cedarwood with individual lockers for skis outside the unit. Managed by mountain resorts .The on site check in reception had closed for the season the day before so we had to check in at the Mountain Resorts Office which was quick with courteous and helpful staff about 400 metres back down the hill. Ample parking .The official check in time is 4pm but we were able to check in early at 1pm .We were in block 2 close to the outdoor pool which was fantastic for the kids .The condo was tastefully furnished and had a fully equipped kitchen.There were supplies of coffee filters dishwasher detergent washing up liquid towels and bedding.Internet access was by high speed cable though some units have wifi.There was a "laundry room" in the basement of each block .The laundry consisted of a single coin operated washer and dryer very dusty but worked well.There was no change machine or detergent dispenser.The condo is on the free shuttle bus service and is the first stop on the purple loop up to the ski resort .The bus runs every 20 minutes up to the mountain .It is possible to stay in the resort without a car as the free bus service also runs down to the mountain shopping area and also into steamboat Springs main city area as some residents did- especially those who had flown directly into Hayden airport from which it is a half hour transfer. It is also possible to walk up to the ski resort though it is about 500 metres uphill .I wouldn't want to do it in skiboots.We rented a seasonal locker at the foot of the gondola at SportsStalker for $15/night -room for family of four skis and boots. The hottubs were very hot ~105F and the pool was warm also.The pool area was protected by a combination code gate.Towels were provided at the pool.The walkways and carpark were kept clear of snow very efficiently.Rooms were serviced twice a week with more frequent towel changes.The condo area could be quite noisy between 4 and 9 with kids playing out around the pool area .Check out time was 10am - we were able to extend this to midday -beyond this would have been $30/hour.There were changing facilities with showers and a lounge with luggage storage at the Mountain Resorts office for those who desired to checkout of their rooms but leave later. Will probably stay here again in the future as we had a fabulous ski vacation

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

We were in Steamboat for a baseball tourament and we had the best time at this property. Our condo was beautiful and well taken care of. We were traveling with one soon to be teenager and three little ones and there was plenty of room and space for everyone. Thre grounds very well taken care of. The only down side was the availablity of the office staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulcomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

Nice place to stay, spacious condos, but the front desk staff was rude and very unhelpful.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Alex5829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Steamboat Springs hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2008

After looking at several properties in Steamboat, I decided to book at The Rockies because of it's price, location to the slopes and the convenience of booking online (some other properties required me to call back on a weekday). The exterior of the buildings has been recently renovated and looks fairly new. Our one bedroom unit (they're all individually owned and decorated) was outdated in decorating, but was clean and well maintained. The convenience of having a kitchen, separate bedroom and fireplace outweighed any modern decorating that a hotel would have (probably for more money). We were a little disappointed after arriving to discover that the property wasn't quite as slope side as advertised, but the convenience of having the city bus less than 20 steps from our front door made up for that. It is fairly close to the slopes, but the slopes are not easily accessible in the winter with several feet of snow on the ground. I look forward to returning to Steamboat for the unbelievable skiing we had (20" of fresh powder) and would stay at The Rockies again.

  • Liked — Convenience to the ski slopes via city bus, presence of a kitchen
  • Disliked — Outdated decor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

My partner and I booked this condo through the Steamboat Springs reservation site for the NASTAR National Championships in March. The unit was clean and decent enough upon arrival, though the decor was a bit dated (think '70s shag), but on our second night, we returned from a day of skiing to find the bathtub filled with what looked like sewage. We promptly called the front desk, and in a little while a maintenance person was dispatched. He told us that this often happens with ground-floor units, because when everyone returns from a day of skiing and begins showering, the system simply can't handle it. He snaked it out, and told us it would probably be OK. The very next day, the same thing happened, only this time stuff was bubbling up through the kitchen sink as well. Another maintenance person was sent, only this time it took a little while longer, and we missed an important NASTAR event while waiting. When he finally arrived, he said that perhaps we could be switched to another unit if one was available. Naturally, we were told another unit wasn't available.

We rode out the rest of the week without incident, though by now we were holding our breath every time we returned from a day of skiing, wondering what we would find inside. The front-office manager sympathized, but told us that we would have to direct our complaint to the vice president of the company. We wrote a letter shortly after our return home, and never heard anything. We made a couple of follow-up phone calls, which went unreturned. It's not like we were looking for a reimbursement. A simple apology would have been nice.

So, in summary, while the Rockies is a great location, and some units are reportedly very nice (it varies, greatly, we found out, depending upon the owner), we couldn't really recommend staying here, because of the uncertainty of the experience, and the management's lack of responsiveness to our troubles. Were we to return to Steamboat Springs, we would definitely stay elsewhere. If you decide to stay here, for whatever reason, do yourself a favor and insist that you do not want a ground-floor unit.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

I loved the Rockies. I had stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the mid 90's when the property was fairly dated. We returned to the Rockies after seeing the exterior renovations last year. I am not sure how all the units are, but the one I we had was a great 2 br w/ loft. Be sure to book early so you can get an "A" condo. You are right on the free bus line and but can actually walk to the gondola / ski times square (or at least home from the Tugboat). I would definately reccomend The Rockies.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank wireking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Terraces at EagleRidge
Terraces at EagleRidge
#58 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
#55 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canyon Creek Condominiums
Canyon Creek Condominiums
#20 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranch at Steamboat
The Ranch at Steamboat
#8 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scandinavian Lodge
Scandinavian Lodge
#65 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Phoenix at Steamboat
The Phoenix at Steamboat
#49 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockies Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockies Condominiums

Property: The Rockies Condominiums
Address: 1945 Cornice Road, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rockies Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These affordable condominiums are only a few blocks from the Steamboat Ski Area and have a reputation not only as a familiar landmark for family vacations, but as the best lodging value in all the Yampa Valley. Featuring studio plus lofts, one bedrooms, two bedrooms and two bedroom plus lofts condos, the Rockies offers a unit style to suit your needs. Our studio rates are comparable to Hotels that are located further away from the slopes with the luxury of a living room, balcony and kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rockies Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockies Condominiums Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing