We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about but adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Steamboat
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about but adequate”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Outside makes it seem like the inn has not been renovated in years but fortunately the rooms are nicer. Unfortunately, the renovations have not extended to the gym or pool, both of which are small and outdated. Half the machines in the gym did not work. They do housekeeping every other day. All of the rooms open onto a common balcony, so often people are walking by your room looking in (the only windows in the room are the balcony sliding doors). If you do not open the balcony doors, then it gets stuffy. As a result, privacy is limited.

That said, the beds were very comfortable and the staff exceedingly nice. If you need a budget place to stay in Steamboat this will work well, if you are looking for luxury/nicer accommodations, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TylerDurden2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    95
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
123
184
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for a week with my son's 11 yr old baseball team. We loved it! We had 12 families and felt as though we were the only ones in the inn! The pool was a bit small, but the comfy beds clearly made up for it!! Rooms were good size, the staff were warm and friendly. We had one bad run in with a staff hosting breakfast, but later found out she was leaving. We had a coach who ended up in the hospital and required emergency surgery. The manager was wonderful with our requests for the family and went out of her way to make sure they were taken care of. Location is great. Ask for a balcony room and this way you will get a view. Oh one last thing...house keeping is only every other day and even with that you basically only get clean towls....and your bed made....but for $90 a night it is a great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We purchased a Living Social Deal for a two night stay at the Inn at Steamboat and it was well worth it. After reading a few of the reviews I knew not to judge a book by its cover. It’s true, the outside appears very bland; nothing makes it stick out. The inside, however, has been updated and is nicely done. We were impressed with the room amenities and were very happy about the size of the refrigerator. We had brought food up with us (for hiking and such) and were thrilled to actually have none of it go to waste since it could all fit. All in all the room was just what we needed. The continental breakfast was fairly basic, nothing to write home about. It had all the necessities and seemed to suit everyone there who was eating just fine. The pool too was also fairly basic, but the location of the hotel allows for some great star gazing in the hot tub after sunset. The only complaint we had was that along with our Living Social Deal we were supposed to get hiking trail maps and snacks, which we definitely did not get. The hotel already had its hands full with all the families in town for the Triple Crown World Series, and I’m not sure if it was an oversight on their end or if they were waiting for us to bring it up!?! Regardless, it didn’t break our trip. The price was great for the location (right by the resort and about 5 minutes out of “downtown”. We had an excellent weekend getaway and would recommend the Inn to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbuck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in July.....the room was wonderful. Great location close to the village (where we had dinner at Saketumi - GREAT sushi!!!). We were in room 207- had a great view, king bed (super soft and comfy!), nice linens, soft carpet. There was a mini fridge and freezer, coffee maker, and a little dining table with 2 chairs. Bathroom was recently updated with granite countertops, nice fixtures (antiqued bronze looking), and plush towels. Only complaints: They only have people manning the hotel until 8 pm. Our room keys got demagnetized and we had to call the emergency service to come out and let us back in each time we returned to the hotel until the next morning when someone could make new keys for us. They were quick, but a hotel of this size should really have someone at the desk 24/7. Also, they don't have housekeeping daily......it would have been nice to return to our room to a made bed and new towels.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug63366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Inn at Steamboat was very quiet when we stayed there (between ski and summer seasons) but they were still able to provide a good service. Very high quality room at a very reasonable price and a very pleasant and helpful manageress.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I almost booked at the Sheraton Steamboat and really didn't want to spend nearly $200/night for a place to sleep. I am so glad that I looked at Trip Advisor reviews for The Inn at Steamboat (for only $99/night). Don't be fooled by the non-descript photo of the outside of the hotel. The rooms are fantastic - and probably nicer than many 4 star hotels. The beds are some of the best that I have ever slept on... Seriously! Very quiet location. Main things that you need to keep in mind: maid service is every other day (but then who really changes there sheets and towels daily at home???) and the front desk is only staffed during the day. All of that is fine by me - I'd rather have a terrific room at a reasonable price. Oh, and free parking, a swimming pool, and free wi-fi, too! It would be my first choice for a return trip to Steamboat - and I will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Second_City_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My wife and I took a small get away trip from Denver for an extended weekend. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. The decor was very nice and updated. It was an excellent place for a little R&R.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biz181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#20 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
188 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
697 reviews
1.8 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Steamboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Steamboat

Property: The Inn at Steamboat
Address: 3070 Columbine Dr, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Steamboat 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at Steamboat, A Destination of Comfort and Adventure. The Inn at Steamboat is ideally located just four blocks from the base of Steamboat Ski Area in a quiet setting with unobstructed views of our beautiful South Valley. The Inn at Steamboat is a premiere destination for comfortable accommodations, personalized service and unlimited adventures right outside our front door. Like many European boutique hotels, we offer a nice healthy start breakfast for our guests. Enjoy The Inn's main living room where guests relax by the fire, drink hot cocoa and share stories of the days' adventures. While the gondola is only four blocks away, we offer a dedicated seasonal shuttle service to and from the ski area. Upon entering the Inn at Steamboat, you will note the charming interior that reflects our mountain lodge warmth. Each of our beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites come equipped with pillow-top beds, 600 thread count micro-fiber bed linens, flat-screen tvs with DVD players, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers and eco-friendly bio-degradable amenities. Additionally, we have a year-round outdoor heated pool with a hot tub, extensive exercise facility, sauna and ski and bike storage. We offer all of this at refreshingly affordable rates so you can play more, eat better, and stay longer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Steamboat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs
Hotel At Steamboat
At Steamboat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing