We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute motel in town.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rabbit Ears Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rabbit Ears Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Cute motel in town.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Very nice for a motel. Room was clean and had plenty of towels, etc. Room had a microwave and a small fridge. Was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but definitely smelled of smoke. Staff was very friendly. Rate was good. Backs up to walking path along the Yampa River which was nice. Coal train RR tracks on other side of river, but did not hear whistle blow until 7AM. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Have breakfast at Winona's. The continental breakfast at the motel is meager at best. Some cold cereal, instant oatmeal, toast and very little fruit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    133
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
111
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

I had read mixed reviews about this motel, but it was a pleasant surprise! We had two rooms overlooking the river and the view was gorgeous. I enjoyed the sound of rushing water right outside my door. The staff was extremely polite and more than accommodating. The beds were comfy and the room was big, inviting, clean, and relaxing. If there was one drawback, it was that there was no pool on the premises-- you have to go to the one across the street and pay $8. Also, the breakfast was a little sparse. Despite that, I would definitely stay here again. The kids loved it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photoj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed here on March 18 2009 and had booked a room. We were surprised to see it was fully booked when we arrived but even more surprised by our room. Maybe because it was all booked we were given Suite 400, which was massive! Really recommend it - a double bed, sofa and chairs, two bathrooms, and kitchen. We could have had more people stay as there were spare fold up beds and lots of room to put them out too. It's right on the edge of downtown and a short drive to the free ski slope parking lots.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatySoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

Don't overlook this motel based on it's outward appearance; it's quite nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, my room was very clean, the price was right, and the back patio had very relaxing scenery overlooking a river and walking path.
Room came with more than the usual extras (I'm referring to the little mini soaps and things).
The continental breakfast was ok, wireless internet was fast and worked well, and the cable TV was.... well, it's cable TV, what can I say?

Also, the location is great: right across the street from the hot springs pool, and within walking distance of all of the shops downtown.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brodie7838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

We booked a night at the Rabbit Ears Motel as a result of reviews we had read in TripAdvisor and we weren't disappointed. We were en route from Vernal Utah to Denver, having spent two weeks touring South Dakota, Wyoming and Utah and wanted somewhere comfortable. We were given a room at the back of the motel with a balcony overlooking the river. The room was comfortable and quiet - just what we wanted.

If we travel to Steamboat Springs again, we'd definitely use the Rabbit Ears.

  • Liked — Value for money and above average comfort
  • Disliked — The breakfast was a bit on the sparse side
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank grumEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

In the middle of town, cheap and room although small, had everything you would need. We only stayed for 5 nights and it was nice to move to a bigger place however it was clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and didn't mind at all that we didn't check in until 5am after our flight had been cancelled!

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel on multiple trips, and always had a great experience. During the winter you can not beat the value or the location. You can walk to the hot springs, theater, shopping and most restaurants in town.

Pros: Location, Location, Location, Comfortable Rooms, Reasonable Price, Breakfast included, Nice Staff, Close to Howelsen Hill.

Cons: Rooms with one bed small, outside walkways, have to drive to Steamboat Ski Area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnLongmont_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#13 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#16 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabbit Ears Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabbit Ears Motel

Property: Rabbit Ears Motel
Address: 201 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rabbit Ears Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury night's sleep minus the luxury price. The Rabbit Ears Motel, located in beautiful Steamboat Springs, Colorado, is your choice for comfortable, affordable lodging right in the center of downtown. Either they built Steamboat around our motel, or our motel was conveniently built in the center of all the action. So, both ways, you know that all the activities and nightlife the valley provides are in close proximity. Choose a weekend get-away for the family, or stay with us the whole week. World-class skiing with slope-side ski-in, ski-out convenience is expensive and overrated. Our motel is right on the main street and just a 5 minutes' bus ride to the gondola and the base of the ski area. Oh, and the bus is free. Lastly, all our guests are welcome to get reduced-priced Old Town Hot Springs passes for our recreation center, just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rabbit Ears Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabbit Ears Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing