We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Rabbit Ears Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rabbit Ears Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Been staying here for work the last 4 years . . Great location , yampa river gives great white noise in warmer months . Walk to any downtown restaurant or across the street to hot springs . Breakfast is nothing to rave about but it's something . Rooms are nice and clean and staff is nice. Dog friendly is a plus .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhG9502CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    134
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
112
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We planned our family vacation with another family for Steamboat and booked our stay at the Rabbit Ears Motel because of its proximity to the Yampa and the hot springs. We were all so sweetly surprised by its location to both and it's vintage charm! We all slept so perfect while listening to the river in our clean, comfortable, beds. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. We wouldn't look to stay anywhere else in town. Once we were there we left our car parked the entire time and walked everywhere we wanted to go, including the alpine slide. It's no wonder this little gem has been doing business for so long! It shows that they value their trade and their customers!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ping80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stopped on the way from Colorado to Montana on a hot springs tour, and stayed an extra day to experience Steamboat Springs. The Rabbit Ears is an excellent place to stay. It is close to everything since it is on Lincoln (highway 40). We were able to rent bicycles 2 blocks away to ride the Core Trail next to the Yampa river. Everyone in town seems so nice including the people at the motel. We really liked the remodeled hot springs on the other side of the highway. Ask at the motel desk for discounted entry tickets.

Room Tip: The highway is loud due to the truck traffic, so pick a room as far away from the road as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motoguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed here with my sister for a quick overnight ski trip in December. It was around a busy holiday time and we were able to book a room last minute. The room was extremely affordable and surprisingly nice. The room was clean, the bathroom was recently remodeled and tiled. It was small, yes, but we were simply looking for a place to crash for the night. The outside is deceiving. This is a Steamboat Springs staple and the locals and staff were all pleasant and welcoming. It's close enough to walk downtown to the restaurants and shops. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently honeymooned at the Rabbit Ears Motel. We weren't sure at first, as pictures online can be deceiving. But upon entering our room we found it very spacious, clean, well cared for with newer fixtures, carpet, bedding, etc. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and the locals were kind to out-of-towners. Our only problem was that some of our skiing neighbors wore their boots up and down the stairs, clanking around for an hour in the afternoon, and again in the morning. Not the motel's fault by any means, just inconsiderate neighbors. Otherwise the motel was within walking distance to many restaurants, and Main Street which is charming. We'd love to come back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Considering the age of the motel, I wasn't expecting much. We were visiting only for a few days, and on a budget. We chose Rabbit Ears for it's pet policy and prime location. We requested, and received, a room on the river. The room was updated and clean. The staff was friendly. I couldn't ask for much more.
The lobby breakfast was not awesome, but you get what you pay for. My only true complaint is that the grounds, especially near the riverfront, were littered with trash.

Room Tip: There are multiple buildings on the property. One building has a decent view of the river, but anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ge0rgiaJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed one night here summer 2013 on our trip around Colorado, mainly due to price, and the cute Bunny sign outside - just looked interesting! The desk staff was very nice, and helpful w/ information about the area. This is an OLD motel people ... like a place from an old western or something, but it added to the charm of doing something different! We asked for non-smoking room, and could tell it had been smoked in (I am deathly allergic to smoke). I'd imagine all the rooms have been smoked in at some point, and once it's there, it's there. We toughed it out, and the night's rest was decent. Bathroom was nice, spacious enough for two people, not bad. It's not a luxury hotel, but then, we knew it wasn't! Not a bad place to stay, for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grammy7Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We appreciate your input. Your stay is at least 5 months old. (summer of 2013) Certainly, we are always concerned about any smoke smell. I wish we would of had a chance to address your issue during your stay. Cleanliness is one our main priorities. We have made some significant improvements and remodeling from when you were here. Late fall of 2013 we installed new carpet in the entire property. We added new bedding, linens and curtains as well. We are very concerned all of our non-smoking rooms are fresh and smoke free. Our staff has been in the motel business for many years. We are able to offer quick and a friendly response to all of our customers and refer to it as western hospitality.
Greg Koehler
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#13 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabbit Ears Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabbit Ears Motel

Property: Rabbit Ears Motel
Address: 201 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rabbit Ears Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury night's sleep minus the luxury price. The Rabbit Ears Motel, located in beautiful Steamboat Springs, Colorado, is your choice for comfortable, affordable lodging right in the center of downtown. Either they built Steamboat around our motel, or our motel was conveniently built in the center of all the action. So, both ways, you know that all the activities and nightlife the valley provides are in close proximity. Choose a weekend get-away for the family, or stay with us the whole week. World-class skiing with slope-side ski-in, ski-out convenience is expensive and overrated. Our motel is right on the main street and just a 5 minutes' bus ride to the gondola and the base of the ski area. Oh, and the bus is free. Lastly, all our guests are welcome to get reduced-priced Old Town Hot Springs passes for our recreation center, just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Rabbit Ears Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabbit Ears Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing