We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Rabbit Ears!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rabbit Ears Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rabbit Ears Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved Rabbit Ears!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great rates, clean room, comfortable bed and pillows, really nice porch with the Yampa rolling by and super close and convenient to downtown Steamboat. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Continental breakfast was pretty standard, but nice to have a free meal in the morning before hitting the slopes. I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    116
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
98
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is my second trip staying here in three years, and I like it even more than the first visit. The key is to get a room with a view of the Yampa River, which is up close and very soothing to listen to at night. The people that work here are like family (And probably are). The ski bus stops right in front, which makes it very convenient to get to the mountain and avoid the hassle of parking your car and walking. It is right across the street from the Town Hot Springs, and while it is not as nice Strawberry Hot Springs, but it is hard to beat the convenience of walking across the street and back in your bathing suit...The from desk has discounts as well...

Room Tip: Water View, Water View, Water View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very nice, family run place.The beds are comfortable and the rates are reasonable. If you just want a place to sleep or are traveling alone stay in the rooms attached to the office. If you want to spread out a little or are traveling as a group or family stay in the the outer building rooms which are a little more,but MUCH larger and have balconies out over the river.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtn753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Rabbit Ears Motel in March, 2013. Although an older property, it was a good place to stay when skiing. Location on the main road meant that the local (free) bus picked us up 100 feet from the motel; location was also close to all downtown restaurants and on the bus route to Walmart, the liquor and grocery stores, and other locations.

Although an older property, the motel had new LCD TVs and fast, free wi-fi. Good housekeeping. Breakfast was good and plentiful (although the same every day). Staff was very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oboedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night primarily for Strawberry Park Hot Springs (which is 20 min away). We stayed on a corner unit on the ground floor. It has parking right in front of the room doors so easy access to your car. Our unit had a balcony. Comfortable bed, hot shower, and enough space for 2. They're pet friendly which is why we chose this motel (we brought along our golden retriever). They do serve a small contiental breakfast but we didn't choose to eat here. our fave for breakfast in town is Winona's-- great coffee and oh boy those steroid-induced cinnamon buns! yes there is a microwave, WIFI, hair dryer, tv/cable, coffeemaker, hangers. There is a nice walking trail around the back of the motel. It's fairly close to restaurants and there is a hot springs rec center across the street. We now found an affordable place to stay with our pooch at steamboat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maven5645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
197 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Recently completed a 12-night stay in one of their two-double bed rooms. It was my second stay within the last 12 months, total of 20 nights here. The rooms are clean and everything works. The plumbing is quiet. The bed is comfortable. It has a small fridge, small coffee maker, microwave, flat screen LG TV and good WI-FI, small desk and an uncomfortable desk chair. The power strip on the desk is a nice touch for travelers like me with several devices to charge. I think of these rooms as the best private dorm rooms in ski-dom. Normally when we travel we opt for more size and comfort, but when I'm alone to ski and have friends to visit in Steamboat, then this room is perfect. I prefer the ground floor rooms. You can back your car up close to your room door. For skiing you can walk 100 yards from room to the bus line that drops you at Gondola Square in about 10-15 minutes. The Old Town Hot Springs Rec Center is across the street. New this year is a "Natural Grocers" store on the next block. You can't beat the location for the price.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Even after the staff kindly helped me move rooms, turning on the bathroom fan (which happens each time the light goes on) still causes smoke smell to infiltrate the bathroom and room. This happened in 2 non-smoking rooms. Staff can't smell the smoke, but to someone who isn't around it much, it seemed quite obvious. Besides that, good location and adequate rooms.

Room Tip: Try for rooms away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colomtbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#7 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#18 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#11 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabbit Ears Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabbit Ears Motel

Property: Rabbit Ears Motel
Address: 201 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rabbit Ears Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury night's sleep minus the luxury price. The Rabbit Ears Motel, located in beautiful Steamboat Springs, Colorado, is your choice for comfortable, affordable lodging right in the center of downtown. Either they built Steamboat around our motel, or our motel was conveniently built in the center of all the action. So, both ways, you know that all the activities and nightlife the valley provides are in close proximity. Choose a weekend get-away for the family, or stay with us the whole week. World-class skiing with slope-side ski-in, ski-out convenience is expensive and overrated. Our motel is right on the main street and just a 5 minutes' bus ride to the gondola and the base of the ski area. Oh, and the bus is free. Lastly, all our guests are welcome to get reduced-priced Old Town Hot Springs passes for our recreation center, just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rabbit Ears Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabbit Ears Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing