We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Downdown Hotel”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Whitehouse, Ohio
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Nice Downdown Hotel”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel one night ago which is in the heart of downtown Steamboat Spring. The room that we had is small but very cozy to relax. The room and the bathroom are clean but we have notice some dark spots on the bed sheets. They may not use bleach for the bed sheets. My wife and I didn't sleep well at first because the pillows were so thick.
Over all it is in a very nice location to walk to all of the stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: Check to see the bed doesn't have dark stain and hope they have softer pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermontsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    71
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
40
92
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of downtown Steamboat Springs. I happen to love historic hotels and this on being in the middle of downtown with plenty of their own parking makes it perfect. Pull in at the end of the day, park your car and walk to many great restaurants. The rooms are smaller than in a more modern hotel but the availability of big suites and comfy beds offsets any downside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in Steamboat to get away from the city. Having been to Steamboat many times, I had always wanted to stay "in town." The room was indeed small, but comfortable. The Hotel staff were delightful. Although the Hotel was completely booked, it was quiet.

We had the hot tub to ourselves both evenings. For the price and location we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happytravelers80123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I think the reason some reviews say there's bad service is the following: The woman running the hotel was very nice and helpful to me, but there is no attendant late at night and through the night. You have to let yourself in with your key and there's security monitoring the building to keep it safe (not that I would expect that to be a concern in Steamboat). This is also why you may have to make your own coffee if you get up too early.

The room was small but manageable and the bathroom was tiny - I would not want to be an extra large person in that shower. The bed was very comfortable. The walls were thin so you could hear hallway noises at night. There's extra ski lockers downstairs to give more space.

No breakfast on site, but a couple blocks easy walk from some of the best places in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oddtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowne point
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Bristol in mid-March. It is an old hotel but very clean. I found it odd that there hotel personnel left in the evening and did not return until 8:00 AM in the morning. Furthermore, they left a list of all clients staying for the night on the front desk for all to see. One had to make coffee in the morning. The staff, when present, were quite cold and not very helpful. In fact, when I called for information, they were very unfriendly and not very helpful. There was no heat control in the room and it got quite warm. We opened a window but in the morning, we were welcomed with overwhelming sewer gas from the outside. I would like to have asked the front desk for help but again, they were not present! The positive is the locatiion- however, with the exceptional public transit, this may be a moot point. Stay further away and take the bus downtown. I would not recommend staying at this hotel. It was adequate but perhaps overpriced for the service and accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank viszla03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I and another couple spent a few days in Steamboat
Springs in the middle of the week in March 2013. The hotel was okay, not too pricey (mid-week cost) but certainly nothing special. It is on the main street so it is close to restaurants and shopping and the free bus stopped just down the street. Rooms are adequate size and were clean and comfortable if a bit old. The hotel staff was friendly but not too helpful. We usually had to make our own coffee in the lobby in the mornings. No big deal but it would have been nice if it was waiting for us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a long February weekend in Steamboat Springs, enjoying the restaurants, scenery, and hot springs. We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel Bristol for its cozy atmosphere, comfortable bed, and friendly staff. The hot tub was a nice extra as well. While it was a little bit pricier than what we would usually pay, the very central location makes up for the extra expense. The convenience of having an Italian restaurant downstairs was also nice on a cold and snowy evening. While our budget wouldn't normally lead us to stay at a place like the Hotel Bristol, it was a nice treat and I would recommend it to anyone who prizes location over spaciousness.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sputnik1784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.5 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: 917 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bristol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing