We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The West Condominiums
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have stayed at The West five times... every time it's been a great experience. It's a 3-minute walk down to the gondola or to the ski storage at Christy's Sports. The cleaning staff seems to come every other day, which is nice. The hot tubs and heated pool are a great way to start the evening after a full day of skiing on the mountain. We continue to go back to The West because we've never had a bad experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Your comments are a wonderful testament to the great location of The West Condominiums. A five-time visitor speaks highly to the many great qualities of this property, and I would like to thank you not only for your business, but for helping us spread the word about this special little place! I would like to add that our returning guests have been pleasantly surprised this winter to find an extensive upgrade and remodel of the hot tub amenities including adjacent additions of shower and restroom. It really is fun to hear the delight in their comments when they discover the new facility. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and we hope to see you again soon… we will work hard to not disappoint no matter the number of visits!
Carla Von Thaden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for The West Condominiums
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 86 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed there for a week. Very we'll maintained property with full kitchen, fire place and terrace with nice view of the mountain. Within walking distance from the gondola/lift. They have free shuttle service to grocery shopping complex and downtown Steamboat Springs every 30 min. Makes it easy and convenient to get stuffs for cooking your dinner in the condo - a better choice, since there not many good restaurants near the ski resort area. The staff are nice and helpful. I would definitely like to stay there next time I visit Steamboat Springs for a family skiing trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDP_Love_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of your West Condominium for the entire week that you were here. We hear this time and time again and it always puts a smile on our faces to know that the location, shuttle service and the condominium provided all that you needed to enjoy your visit. We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and for sharing your enthusiasm about all of the services. Many thanks too for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Carla Von Thaden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is our fourth trip to Steamboat, and stayed previously at The Lodge. The West is close to Gondola Square (literally a 3 min walk down the hill), and we stayed in a well designed 3 BR unit. While an older facility than The Lodge, the unit was well maintained, had a well stocked kitchen, and had freshen up service every other day. The staff was friendly, and the location can't be beat. Only minor complaint was that our room wasn't ready until about an hour after the scheduled check in time, but understand it was a very busy day for them. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDW_KSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for staying with us here at The West Condominiums. Wyndham Vacation Rentals in Steamboat Springs has many properties to choose from including The West Condos and The Lodge. While both complexes have great features, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at The West and found the location very pleasing with details of the fully stocked kitchen to your liking as well as the configuration of our 3-bedroom units. You are correct that we had a busy day when you had arrived, and I apologize that you had to wait for your condo, which can happen on rare occasions. We greatly appreciate your understanding of that, and will strive to always be on time. We wish you the best in 2014 and look forward to your next visit to the Yampa Valley.

Carla Von Thaden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent a week vacation in Steamboat over the holidays and stayed at the West Condos. The location is great. It's not a ski in / ski out place, but it's literally a 5 minute walk from the Gondolas.
The condo itself was clean and well stocked. We had housekeeping there for 3 different days!! Not only did they change sheets, but gave you all clean towels as well. (Even on Christmas Day!)

The staff is always extremely helpful and very friendly. Every time we went into the office they had great information to share. Plus, you go there for them to call the free shuttle that takes you into the downtown area. That shuttle service is also fantastic! Great drivers.

I would recommend staying here. If I were to visit Steamboat again, I would come back to this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are pleased that you had such a wonderful stay during the holidays in Steamboat Springs and that we could accommodate all of your needs. The location of The West property has always been one of our greatest assets not only with its proximity to the ski area, transit center and base area shops and restaurants, but with the unobstructed views from all of our condos being situated up on the “Knoll”. I will pass on your comments to our front desk, housekeeping and shuttle staff about their friendly services. Getting a pat on the back during the busiest time of the year is certainly wonderful and greatly appreciated. We would love to see you again and hope that you have a chance to make it back to our great little community up here in the mountains. It will all be waiting for you when you arrive: the views, location, a wide variety of unit configurations, and of course our friendly staff and shuttle service. See you soon!

Carla Von Thaden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went for a long weekend to watch my daughter play softball. We stayed in a loft with living area which faced west and was very nice, well stocked with pillows, dishes, towels, etc. but due to the west facing windows the room was very hot. The property has several fans, but it was still extremely difficult to sleep at night. I would stay at this property again because the condo was modern and fun, but would probably ask to have a location without the afternoon sun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of The West Condominiums and for staying with us for your daughter’s softball event. Since The West does not have air conditioning, we provide fans in all of our bedrooms and one for the kitchen living room areas. Many of our units also come with ceiling fans. We are sorry to hear that your condo was uncomfortably warm. Daytime temperatures during June in Steamboat Springs can average around 74 degrees and drop to near 40 degrees at night. It sounds like you were here during a warm spell. Upon your next visit please do not hesitate to ask for extra fans. We welcome our guests to make special requests when making reservations and will accommodate those requests to the very best of our ability. Upon your next visit we truly hope to make you and everyone in your party as comfortable as possible. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at The West for the Steamboat marathon and Wyndham vacation rentals gave us a great deal as runners. The town is a dream and our accommodations fit the bill perfectly! Our condo was clean, updated, and well stocked with necessities (extra pillows, all varieties of kitchen utensils, etc). The fireplace, high ceilings, and large balcony made it very cozy. It is very close to downtown and very close to the ski lifts (right outside our window). Staff was super friendly. I would love to go back during ski season.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tothar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

First and foremost congratulations to anyone in your party who may have run the marathon here in beautiful Steamboat Springs! It was a beautiful day for the event and it sounds like your stay was equally as enjoyable. We greatly appreciate you choosing Wyndham Vacation Rentals for your accommodations here at The West condominiums. We try hard to anticipate our guests needs by stocking our condominiums with many conveniences that you might have in your own homes. Of course we are always open to any suggestions. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps this winter! Thank you again for choosing Wyndham Vacation Rentals.

Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in unit 3304, a ground floor unit with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths looking out over the valley. It was a split level design with bedrooms upstairs. There was a patio outside as well. Overall I was very impressed with the value, location, and service. The front desk workers were very helpful with answering our questions and calling the shuttle service. They even called us after we arrived at the unit, to be sure it was to our satisfaction. They also offered free movie and board game "rentals." You definitely do not need a car here, given the free shuttles and buses everywhere in town. We walked to and from the gondola area with 4 and 6 year olds every day (about 5-10 minutes). The pool area is great for kids- 4-5 feet depth max and the water is warm enough in the winter. There are two warm whirlpools as well. There are excellent free donuts in the lobby every day. The unit itself has been recently remodeled, and I had no complaints there. Fully stocked granite kitchen, flat screen TV and DVD player in living area, gas fireplace, and completely remodeled baths with Aveda toiletries. There was a free bottle of wine on arrival, and they offered robes for all four of us (kids' sizes included) to wear to the pool. Wi Fi was a bit weak at times though. There was a ski locker there but we kept our skis at the base to make the walk easier. This resort has a great location- it is next to the Grand, and the hillside walkway is across the street from 1 steamboat place and the gondola village. The price was much less than what we would have paid at those other resorts, and we still had such a great location and unit. The other people staying here were mostly families with children- a friendly crowd. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNBBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Wow, we greatly appreciate your fabulous review of The West Condominiums. Your enthusiasm for all that this lodging property has to offer is very exciting and should be very helpful to others who are considering their options. You really can’t go wrong with our great location, pricing and all of the extras like the bottle of wine, bathrobes, shuttle service and the delicious donuts in the morning that many of our guests look forward to visit after visit. Thank you for pointing out the concern with the Wi Fi. I will definitely bring it to the attention of our IT personnel. We look forward to your return visit and invite you to contact us to assist with the arrangements for your next visit to Steamboat Springs. Have a wonderful summer ahead!
Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Ironwood Townhomes
Ironwood Townhomes
#68 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadows at Eagleridge
Meadows at Eagleridge
#59 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
#53 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terraces at EagleRidge
Terraces at EagleRidge
#58 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rockies Condominiums
The Rockies Condominiums
#60 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Creek Condominiums
Canyon Creek Condominiums
#17 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Condominiums

Address: 2160 Mount Werner Cir, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: $158 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The West Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop its own private hillside, The West Condominiums offer spectacular views of the Steamboat Ski Area and the Yampa Valley, along with a completely convenient location and moderate pricing. A recent addition to Mountain Resorts' extensive inventory of Steamboat vacation rentals, this popular Steamboat lodging complex provides guests with a mountaintop retreat located directly above Steamboat's mountain village. The West resort property offers a clubhouse with onsite check-in and staff, as well as an outdoor heated pool with two covered hot tubs. A gas fireplace in every condo sets the tone for a relaxing evening after an exhilarating day of reveling in Steamboat's legendary powder. The four lodging buildings, as well as the clubhouse, all are easily accessible from the central parking lot and are only some 200 yards from the mountain village and Steamboat Gondola. Whether you're enjoying The West as a winter or summer getaway, a short stroll down the West-to-Village access path leads you directly to the gondola and Christie Express lift, Steamboat Snow School, Kids Vacation Center, and the shops and restaurants at the Steamboat base area. Complimentary on-call shuttle service is provided by Mountain Resorts during the winter months for easy access to the grocery store and downtown Steamboat Springs. During summer, enjoy scenic views from the pool and outdoor grill area, or stroll to the Steamboat Ski Area promenade, where you can cool your feet in the refreshing Rocky Mountain stream that flows through the base area. Summer activities and events such as free concerts and art exhibits further enhance Steamboat's splendid summertime surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The West Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Condominiums Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing