We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The West Condominiums
Darien, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'm coming back!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My cousin and I just came back from a great time in Steamboat. I found this place online from reading many reviews, and also based upon its location. It is right across the street from Gondola Square. Although they have a shuttle that will take you over there, you can easily walk-takes less than 5 minutes. Our room was a studio suite on the lower level, kind of like a basement. We were right across from the laundry and supply rooms but it didn't at all matter. It was quiet and nice. Yes, the room would be considered a little 'dated', but we had a flat screen TV, gas fireplace, a pull out couch, and a murphy bed, a nice kitchen that was stocked with everything but salt and pepper. There were Aveda amenities and paper towels, T.P. I have stayed at many lodges and this one was normal to me. It was clean (we had one towel that looke dlike toothpaste had stained it so we put it on the floor) and very cozy.
I didn't mind walking down stairs. This is a ski town and most condos are either up or down without elevators.

The staff was no less than wonderful with recommendations and tips and help. They would have brought a hot chocolate to your room if they could have!
The shuttle buses are on call during the day, but you can call or the desk will call for you and they will come, either from downtown or from the condos. They do have scheduled stops at certain streets but if you ask, tghey will take you to the restaurant or grocery store if it is on their path. After 5pm, they run every 15 min until 11pm. After 11pm, just take the free city bus, which was real easy.

A word of advice, carry with you some change or $1 bills, b/c the condo shuttle drivers apparently get tipped. We didnt know that, and only tipped them a couple of times. THey are ALL super nice.

This was awesome and I'd stay here again- Can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooby115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
First and foremost, many thanks to you and your cousin for staying with us at The West Condominiums. Secondly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a very sincere review about many facets of your stay. Our staff appreciates your wonderful comments regarding their efforts, as they and our incredible shuttle drivers strive to make everyone's stay very pleasant.

The West’s proximity to the ski area is commented on quite often as guests are pleasantly surprised by just how true the “across the street” location is and the ease with which to access all ski area amenities from here. In closing, we are delighted that your time at The West Condominiums and in Steamboat Springs was very enjoyable, and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely -

Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Not fancy - but that's ok. Very clean - well appointed. Comfortable. Short walk to slopes. Very nice staff. We had 1 bedroom with loft. Our boys loved the loft. Wierd - at the bottom of the stairs is a brick fireplace...not too safe.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNBILL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at The West Condominiums and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and that our lodging property met your needs. Our close proximity to the ski mountain and outdoor heated pool with its incredible view of the ski area make us an affordable choice for lodging. We often hear that the children like the loft in the unit you rented; it becomes their own special place. Additionally, The West has become a tradition for many families year after year, and we would love to have your family come back to stay with us again.

Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We rented a condominium over the winter holiday break for 2 nights. When I found the Steamboat Lodging website the photos of the condos were very nice but when I looked at personal photos on Trip Advisor there was a dramatic contrast. Units looked very dated so I called reservations and was told that the condos were built in the 70’s and some units had not been renovated but that I was calling early enough and should have no problem. When we arrived, we were put in a dated yet clean unit but were disappointed. I called the reservation desk and they found another unit for us which was very nice and much more spacious. Nice gas fireplace in the living room area and a flat screen TV. TV’s in each of the bedrooms as well. I haven’t rented a lot of condos but in conversations I’ve learned that this may be an on-going issue, paying the same money per night when the quality of the units may be dramatically different.
Condos are nicely located and we enjoyed the outdoor pool (although we thought it could have been a little warmer). There are shuttle buses that run into town and small market, liquor store and restaurants all within walking distance. Skiing at nearby Howelsen Hill Ski Area is extremely reasonable if you want to take a few runs and not pay high lift ticket prices. It is the oldest ski area in continuous use in Colorado and has the largest natural ski jumping complex in North America.
One word of caution is that if you have someone who has difficulty ambulating (we had someone on crutches) the bathrooms are on the second floor in the 2-bedroom unit. Check out time is 10:00 a.m.; 11:00 a.m. would have been better.

Room Tip: Request a renovated unit unless they are going to give you a reduced price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thelma110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The West Condominiums and for your perspective of the unit conditions and upkeep. While The West staff takes pride in the level of care and maintenance of our condominium units, the management team also takes your comments very seriously about having to contend with a dated unit. Each of The West condo units is privately owned, and it is our sincere desire to work closely with our owners on improvements and upgrades. Thank you again for letting us know how you feel, and we hope you will give us a chance to make this up to you in any future visits to The West and Steamboat Springs.

Thanks again

Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is a great location with spacious condo. We got #3234, which is a full bedroom and a loft. The decorating is dated, and there are way too many fake plants, but otherwise it is good. Management staff is helpful and friendly. I would recommend West Condos, but if I came again, I'd take my chances on another unit.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiling-in-the-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This is a wonderfully convenient property for skiers and summer visitors. The exterior was redone 2 years ago and the property has had a make over. Each unit reflects the owner's style and/or lack of updating. There are some beautiful units in every size. The staff is exceptional, location exquisite, amenities T.B.D. Do check the rating of your condo.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2dogs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The staff is great!
The location is great!
The price is great!
I have not had any problems with any rooms.
I've been taking my kids for 4 years and they only want to stay at the West.

Room Tip: Like any other hotel or condo your staying in. Just ask for a specific room you would like and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoBoarders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great location for skiing, right at the base of the mountain. Short walk (3-minute) down a small hill to the Gondola, lift tickets, ski shops and ski rental. No need to drive to the slopes, or anywhere. Very clean and nice. Comfortable beds. I stayed there with 3 friends on a guys ski trip. We stayed in Unit 3321. It looked like it was just completely remodeled. The kitchen was all new. Very nice 2bdrm condo with a pull-out sofa in the family room. Pool is outside and two indoor/outdoor hot tubs looking right at the mountain. The shuttle is available to go downtown or grocery stores. Unit has free Wi-Fi, big screen TV etc., and a balcony overlooking the valley. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kirk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Meadows at Eagleridge
Meadows at Eagleridge
#48 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ironwood Townhomes
Ironwood Townhomes
#68 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
4 reviews
0.5 mi away
Storm Meadows Club Condominiums
Storm Meadows Club Condominiums
#24 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terraces at EagleRidge
Terraces at EagleRidge
#58 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bronze Tree Condominiums
Bronze Tree Condominiums
#14 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snow Flower Condominiums
Snow Flower Condominiums
#47 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Condominiums

Property: The West Condominiums
Address: 2160 Mount Werner Cir, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The West Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop its own private hillside, The West Condominiums offer spectacular views of the Steamboat Ski Area and the Yampa Valley, along with a completely convenient location and moderate pricing. A recent addition to Mountain Resorts' extensive inventory of Steamboat vacation rentals, this popular Steamboat lodging complex provides guests with a mountaintop retreat located directly above Steamboat's mountain village. The West resort property offers a clubhouse with onsite check-in and staff, as well as an outdoor heated pool with two covered hot tubs. A gas fireplace in every condo sets the tone for a relaxing evening after an exhilarating day of reveling in Steamboat's legendary powder. The four lodging buildings, as well as the clubhouse, all are easily accessible from the central parking lot and are only some 200 yards from the mountain village and Steamboat Gondola. Whether you're enjoying The West as a winter or summer getaway, a short stroll down the West-to-Village access path leads you directly to the gondola and Christie Express lift, Steamboat Snow School, Kids Vacation Center, and the shops and restaurants at the Steamboat base area. Complimentary on-call shuttle service is provided by Mountain Resorts during the winter months for easy access to the grocery store and downtown Steamboat Springs. During summer, enjoy scenic views from the pool and outdoor grill area, or stroll to the Steamboat Ski Area promenade, where you can cool your feet in the refreshing Rocky Mountain stream that flows through the base area. Summer activities and events such as free concerts and art exhibits further enhance Steamboat's splendid summertime surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The West Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Condominiums Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing