We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a Motel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Steamboat Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Steamboat Springs
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just a Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We were place right over lobby in front office. Clean rooms, Elevator was broken and with 4 suitcases had to struggle up to second floor. Was a softball team staying and hall was noisy......

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    85
    45
    17
    13
See reviews for
79
88
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
silver spring
Level Contributor
317 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Most of what you get at this hotel is typical of the Marriott brand. Clean, comfortable, well-decorated. If we had stayed in the room and not ventured into other parts of the hotel, we would have been quite happy.

But the free breakfast was the worst I've ever seen. Over our four days there, we arrived at various times of morning and in each case, most of breakfast was already gone. For three days, three rotten apples were all that sat in the fruit bin. One day, a left-over sausage from the previous day sat in a pool of grease. The "french toast" and "eggs" were awful. And each day there would be only a muffin or two or a bagel or two available.

To make things worse, the staff didn't care.

I would only recommend this hotel to someone who plans to hit the trails early and skip breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed at the Fairfield with our two dogs. It's pretty much the first hotel you hit on Hwy 40 heading west. At first we were concerned about ski access but the hotel has a free shuttle that leaves at 8:30 and 9:30 am and pick up at 3:30. It is also located close to another bus stop that has service every 20 minutes, so getting to the slopes was not a problem. Our room was clean and had a great view of the slopes. The free breakfast is the same free breakfast you get at all other hotels. Wireless internet and it's free, which is nice since a lot of hotels have started charging for this service. Room came with a microwave and a small frig. There's a large field next to the hotel for the dogs to run and that was nice. My only complaint is that the heater is slightly noisy and woke me several times in the night - but I am a light sleep and my husband never woke. So it could just be me.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

We got a great “weekend” rate @ FF Inn, but understand that the FF Inn IS the FF Inn!
Location isn’t too bad and the rooms are certainly nice in size and have all that one would expect. Beds were very comfortable … room and bathroom were clean. This “Inn” is certainly better than some places that I have stayed … but realize that, because of the price point, it does tend to draw families with younger kids. If this is an issue, you might consider looking elsewhere.

GREAT deal for these groups as the pool area is well maintained BUT kids DO run up and down the halls … and with the “thin” construction of the building … you do and will hear this ... just letting you know!

The breakfast was acceptable.. but not great. Usual cereals and fruit. We could not get a table as the area is VERY small and everyone seemed to be there at the same time.

Consider REX’S (next door at the H Day Inn as a good place to eat dinner, also “Kid Friendly”.

All in all, not a bad place if you know before you go!

  • Liked — The Rate
  • Disliked — Thin construction
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCB_JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

Spent one night at the Fairfield Inn as I was passing through northern Colorado. As a newer property, it met all expectations for the chain. Check in was efficient, fresh baked cookies in the lobby. Room was of a newer Fairfield design, as such was larger than I remember from some other properties & had all the new bedding. I had a chance to use the hot-tub & pool - everything was fine. The breakfast spread was more than adequate and well stocked in a nice sized separate room. I'm mostly pleased such a good room was available at a favorable rate ($81) as compared to the competition I had checked out.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

If you decide to stay here, be smarter than I and check your
bedding first thing. Sleep was nigh impossible with the
threadbare sheets on my bed which I could see the
mattress through them and saw large blood spots on it.
Probably I wouldn"t have seen the blood had there been
a mattress pad but there was none on my bed.

  • Liked — Beautiful town.
  • Disliked — Cheaping out on bed linens.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seannie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 1 night in early December, 2007. Room was nice size, and the beds were comfortable (I think Pillow Top). We had our three dogs with us. They were allowed in the room at no additional charge. I don’t think they advertise this though. All online reservations stated no pets allowed. However when I called, they said pets were allowed.

The biggest problem was the water. It smelled so strong of sulfur/sewage, we couldn’t bath, brush our teeth, ect. The dogs refused to drink it, and they love super stinky stuff. We talked to the front desk and they said they would send a maintenance person to check it out. He came by and agreed that it had a very bad smell. He also said that is was the same for every room. We are aware that steamboat has geothermal activity and that the springs are sulfur based, but this smell was way worse. When we tried to discus this with the man at the front desk, he was very rude and stated that the water is fine, it did not smell and there was nothing wrong with it. My husband asked if we could get a discount because we were unable to shower or use running water. The employee refused. We then asked if he would at least call someone possibly from the health department or something to check the water to make sure there wasn’t a problem for any future guest. The man again refused stating that the water was fine, it smelled perfectly fine and there was no problem with it. We went ahead and checked out figuring maybe there was a problem with the water treatment plant in town. We then went to multiple stores on our way up to Strawberry Hot Springs and tested their water. It all tasted and smelled fine. Something was definitely wrong with the hotel's water. We even filled a water bottle up with the water from the Hotel and had other people smell it, and they agreed it smelled awful. So we called the health department and left a message. Never heard anything back.

So if you want a nice comfortable place to sleep, it is great. If you want to use the water for bathing, drinking, etc. I would not recommend it. Also the difference between the attitude of the night front desk employee and the daytime front desk employee was well like night and day. The person who checked us in the night before was obviously a local, very friendly and knowledgeable. The daytime front desk employee was very rude and a foreigner. He spoke very broken English, and had a very bad attitude (probably because every one was upset about stinky water)

  • Liked — Comfy beds, pets allowed
  • Disliked — Stinky water, attitude of Front desk person
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaiadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Steamboat Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Steamboat Springs

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Steamboat Springs
Address: 3200 South Lincoln Avenue, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Steamboat Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Steamboat Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Steamboat Springs Hotel Steamboat Springs
Fairfield Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Fairfield Inn Steamboat Springs
Fairfield Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing