We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ptarmigan Inn
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs(Steamboat Springs)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steamboat Mountain Lodge(Steamboat Springs)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs(Steamboat Springs)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Steamboat Springs)(Great Value!)
$93
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Steamboat Grand(Steamboat Springs)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop(Steamboat Springs)(Great Value!)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rabbit Ears Motel(Steamboat Springs)(Great Value!)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs(Steamboat Springs)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas(Steamboat Springs)(Great Value!)
$152
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs(Steamboat Springs)(Great Value!)
$151
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
41
67
31
14
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
67
31
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski shophot tubski rentalski groupcloset doorper nightvillage areaan updateslope viewballoon rodeofree ski storagethe check in processsteamboat central reservationslift ticketsenjoyed our stayski seasonan older property
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 171 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2011

It's not fancy or flashy, but I love cozy feel of the hotel. The Bar is great, the Restaurant has a nice view of the slope while you have breakfest and you leave your skis at the back down when you come in. When you finish skiing at the end of the day, you ski right up to the little bridge and drop off your skis and head for the Bar

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed in the Ptarmigan on a one-week group trip recently. Happy to say that the hotel was a very nice part of the vacation. Great ski-in, ski-out facility, 1 minute to the Gondola and other base of the mountain lifts. I also appreciated the hot-tub and pool. The staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was decent.

In addition, contrary to the review a few posts down, we didn't have any issues with bed-bugs or any cleanliness issues, nor did I hear of any problems from any of the 20+ people in our group.

I would definitely stay here again if I was skiing in Steamboat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank optimist500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Ptarmigan before Christmas. The room was clean and comfortable but nothing fancy. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant and bar. Good breakfast. Friendly bar staff. Best aspect was such easy ski in/out access to the gondola. Also, only a short walk to catch bus to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeBfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Ski trip with my 10 year old son. Stayed for 6 nights (Dec 24 - 30). Fantastic, helpful staff, great location (ski in / ski out), reasonable rates for the location, wonderful restaurant, clean rooms, easy access to the free bus to downtown. I loved the view from our room - right out onto the ski school. Truly a wonderful vacation. Nice to have a small refrigerator in the room. Only thing I would wish for would be to also have a small microwave in the room. However, the staff was extremely gracious about warming up leftovers for us in the office microwave. Also, appreciated their letting us print our lift tickets for the return trip. It was the perfect place for us to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne35AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The loud rooms, allowing you to hear drawers being opened above and next to you was aggravating enought. Coming home with BED BUG BITES is another thing. Have 9 classic bites on my leg, itchy and pustular and linear. Next time I'll check the mattress before sleeping anywhere! Just glad I had underwear on!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawgDoc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmben2304, General Manager at The Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

The Ptarmigan Inn has been offering clean, comfortable, and inviting accomodations for nearly 50 years at the base of the ski area in Steamboat Srpings, CO. Guest feedback is an invaluable tool actively used to continually improve the Ptarmigan experience. Unfortunately it appears a guest wasn’t satisfied with his stay and for that we are truly sorry. This accusation, however, is completely unfounded and malicious. The author of this post added a second night to his stay while at the hotel, checked out without any issues, then sent an email 3 days later stating he had red marks on his leg. The room was immediately taken off-line and inspected by management with no evidence found. Later that same day the guest and hotel manger spoke on the phone. Information was provided about the investigation process to be taken by management, including a professional inspection scheduled by an Ecolab Pest Elimination technichian. The soonest date for the inspection was the following week and the hotel manager scheduled a follow up call with the guest, including a specific time that was convenient for the guest, to discuss further. Regardless, immediately after this initial conversation the accusation was published by the guest. Later, in another conversation, it was shared that the guest was worried a problem wouldn’t be found and that he should have just received a full refund immediately. It was also discovered that the guest spent the weekend in Steamboat fishing the Yampa River. Furthermore, another occupant who slept in the same bed and who didn’t spend the weekend near/in the Yampa River had absolutely no skin irritations. The inspection by nationally accredited Ecolab Pest Elimination Division was performed and revealed no evidence to support this claim. The room was still treated as a precaution and the hotel staff has received education and training. We sincerely regret this guest wasn’t satisfied with The Ptarmigan Inn and strive to continue providing the best service possible. Please feel free to contact the hotel general manager anytime to discuss further or to receive a copy of the room’s inspection report. We thank you for considering The Ptarmigan Inn and hope you honor us with the opportunity to accommodate your next visit to Steamboat Springs. Happy New Year from the entire Ptarmigan P-team and thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews