We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!”
Review of The Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Kansas City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Lots of dirt. The floor looked like someone spit up on it and it was never cleaned up. There is something that looks like blood running down the wall. The lights don't all work and the toilet has something running down the front of it. However the last straw was when I opened the ice bucket and it looked like a it had been used as a dog bowl with dog hair and dog food crumbs were still inside. All I ask for is a clean room. I won't come back here again. Lots of money for a dirty room.

  • Liked — Had a refrigerator
  • Disliked — Dirty room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank wardnkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    60
    29
    12
    12
See reviews for
48
44
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2006

I can't say enough good things about the staff. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with their pooch, and bargain hunters because they have some of the best rates in the area. Even if you don't stay try the restaurant, the menu's small but the food and service is better than the Slopeside Grill (both accomodate pooches on the patio in Summer).

PROS
- This hotel's staff is the best we've encountered in quite awhile. They really made us (all of us) feel welcome.
- The Snowbird Restaurant's food was excellent. Odd... it wasn't very busy (it was just us for about an hour around 4-5pm on a Saturday) and they were out of several menu items.
- It's walking distance to a really great grocery store (Market on the Mountain?), the gondola and Gondola Square, as well as several hiking trails and restaurants.
- Free internet access, although it was unplugged when we got there and down one of the nights we stayed.
- The room had a VCR, and you can rent movies in the lobby.
- They really went out of their way to make our dog feel welcome, even providing a doggie blanket and poopy bags. There was also a somewhat dedicated potty area with a supply of bags and a large trash can.

CONS
I think we may have gotten one of their less desirable rooms because we stayed with our dog, which turned out to be okay because it made us want to spend less time there.
- We were right by the hall to the pool & hot tub so there was constantly someone walking through the hallway (especially in the evening and at night), this made it very hard for us to relax because the dog was always running to the door in full guard dog mode.
- It was a very small room with alot of furniture, and didn't have a balcony like most of the others.
- It didn't feel terribly clean, we encountered large dust bunnies behind the furniture and the baseboards were dirty.
- You can't use the pool or hot tub if you have a dog because dogs aren't allowed to stay in the room unattended and aren't welcome in the pool area.

  • Liked — Staff and dog friendliness
  • Disliked — Room size and cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at the restaurant and ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegas_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2006

Went to Steamboat for a soccer tournament. The team had already booked this hotel. My family decided at the last minute to go. The only room available was for the 13th and the 15th. Nothing for the 14th, I would have had to find somewhere else to stay that night. The hotel called me when an opening came available. (WOW), I've never had that happen. We ended up in a one bedroom suite. It was small but nice. Very clean bathrooms (my pet peave)!! The staff was very helpful, very accomodating.

If you're looking for a fancy hotel, this is not it. It is small, quaint, clean and friendly!!!

  • Liked — easy access
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank accenttouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 17, 2006

Great location right on the slopes. The hotel itself was small and personal, with a fire in the lobby fireplace day and night. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We met several families from other parts of the U.S. We had most breakfasts and dinners in the resturant. The food was good, service good. Our room was a little on the small side, but when you add up the price and location, looking out the window at the ski lift, it was a great deal.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle Ar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2006

We just returned from Steamboat and we enjoyed our stay! Great price- very nice staff- very clean- a little cramped but we were out skiing everyday so we were not in our room a lot- the restraunt is good and we arrived late and they comp. our meal! Everything you need is right there in the hotel-

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 9, 2006

Took my two daughters to Steamboat and we stayed
at thePtarmigan Inn (Best Western). I'd have to say
the staff were very friendly, and the Ski folks downstairs were awesome!

Breakfasts were great, and atmosphere was fantastic!
My only disappointment was I had to leave on Friday,
when the snow was sooo good.

Thanks again, and we will visit again.

Sincerely,

Doug, Valerie and Stephanie Brisendine (Dallas)

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave City, Arkansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2005

As you might expect at a ski resort, the rooms at this hotel are very cramped, very plain, and very expensive. Our balconies were not even big enough for a chair, and the view was not nearly as good as was advertised. Our rooms were clean, the staff was very polite, the lobby/lounge area was nice, and the pool area was very nice. We would probably stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jreb357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboat Springs Suites
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboa...
#9 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ptarmigan Inn

Property: The Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 2304 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9028
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ptarmigan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Steamboat hotel with ski-in, ski-out access. The Ptarmigan Inn is the premier Steamboat lodging option for your Steamboat ski vacation, offering Steamboat’s only affordable ski-in ski-out access to the Steamboat Ski Resort. Start your Steamboat vacation planning now by letting us help you with all your needs while you’re here in Steamboat Springs. Check room availability and book now or contact a Steamboat lodging concierge. You’ll be glad you did. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ptarmigan Hotel Steamboat Springs
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel
Best Western Steamboat Springs
Ptarmigan Inn Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing