We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value”
Review of The Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn multiple times for multiple reasons. The location is the best reason. It is a ski-in/out and makes skiing at Steamboat Springs worth the trip. They allow you to park your car on-site when you arrive and also the day you leave. This is so convenient. The cost of the hotel is on the low side for its location. It is a little out dated, but very clean! Walls are pretty thin, but I bring a noise-maker so I don't hear all the activity. We walked to the base of Steamboat to find a restaurant, and there were a few to choose from. The bus to downtown is also within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel for ski season!!!

Room Tip: I always ask for the top floor to remove noise from footsteps above, or the restaurant/pub.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAURA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for The Ptarmigan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 159 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've stayed in the highest end hotels and resorts in Steamboat Springs over the years, but when traveling with our two sons (7 and 4) this winter, The Ptarmigan Inn provided EXACTLY what we needed. Our goals... to have EASY ACCESS to the ski school and gondola, outdoor pool and hot tub, plus space for our family of four. Our LOFT ROOM, immediately off the lobby, was very convenient to ski storage, the restaurant, and pool area. Our windows overlooked the ski area and a hill which provided a ton of snow play for our kids where we could watch them from inside our room Just outside our room was a comfortable lobby sitting area and gas fireplace which we all enjoyed throughout our stay. The kids enjoyed the ladder accessible loft area, with twin beds. Were the linens luxurious? Was the décor modern? Certainly not. But the front desk staff, restaurant and bar crew and fellow guests all contributed to the warm, cozy feeling that only a small hotel can offer. The restaurant was quite a pleasant surprise. Never crowded, during the day or evening, but we were treated to EXCELLENT dining. Private ski instructors frequented the restaurant during the day with their students; quite an endorsement for sure. SKI IN/ SKI OUT for under $250/nt during Christmas week... this trip, the Ptarmigan Inn delivered what we paid for and more.

Room Tip: The family/ loft rooms look over the ski hill, providing two twin beds in the loft which is accessib...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andras801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Perhaps the planets were misaligned for the 3 days we spent at this property. While the location is ideal for snow sports enthusiasts, the property itself is in dire need of repairs and updating. The first room we were assigned was as far as you could possibly get from the lobby area. The receptionist suggested we carry all our luggage (think skis, boots, etc plus large suitcases) up to the 4th floor by using the outside staircase, as that woud be directly next to our room. The stairs were very icy and dangerous. We did not know that there was an elevator, and so did as we were told. The room was drafty, dark, depressing, and moldy. Yes, moldy. The bed linens and towels are seriously threadbare. The bathroom amenities were non-existent, save for one very small bottle of shampoo, and a half-used bottle of lotion.We switched rooms, and it was a slight improvement. The location was nicer - overlooking the resort rather than the parking lot - and the room was brighter. There was no mold.The shower worked much better, and there were light bulbs in every fixture. The quality of the linens was the same.
On a more positive spin - the breakfast room was lovely and sunny, overlooking the slopes. The waitstaff were very pleasant and the food decent. The bar was also a good apres-ski spot. The bartender was very attentive, the happy hour food prices excellent.
I think this hotel is more suited to a group of 20-something backpackers who don't care so much about creature comforts. Truthfully, the rooms were the kind that a guest could completely trash and no one would notice!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandskier2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night with our two young children. We were staying three days at a cabin in nearby Clark and decided to come up a day early and stay in town. The Ptarmigan was by far the best value for hotels in Steamboat that I could find with a few days notice (got a good deal through Bookings.com that the hotel could not match when I called them directly). As other reviewers have already stated, the décor it very dated (but it is at least mostly 90s dated rather than 70s or 80s dated, though the shower tile was very 70s and practically gave me a seizure to look at). The datedness included a VHS player in the room, which I thought was weird. However, it was very clean, the staff is great and the location was lovely. We had a tiny balcony overlooking the plaza that our kids loved, and we could see the gondola too. This hotel would be amazing during ski season with ski-in/ski-out access and Christy Sports ski rental on the premises.

We walked to the gondola once we checked in and rode it to the top for a "sunset happy hour" event that evening. It was a perfect introduction to our time in the area, with incredible views and a thrill for the kids. Afterwards we walked to a nearby restaurant for dinner, and then watched a free movie in the plaza for a little while. We really appreciated the ability to walk places that first night rather than spend more time in the car. A pleasant evening had by all and a nice first night in Steamboat. The hotel was quiet and comfortable overall.

Pros: good value, excellent location by gondola and plaza, helpful staff, very clean, kid-friendly, pool
Cons: no option but to use stairs to the elevator (tough with luggage and stroller), unimpressed with complimentary continental breakfast, very dated décor with polyester scratchy bedspreads

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on the gondola side. Make sure your fridge is actually plugged in!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, it is right next to the Gondola. While the hotel is outdated, our room was very clean. The staff at the front desk were extremely nice & helpful throughout our entire stay. The pool and hot tub were well maintained. We stayed here during the Wine Festival in the summer & are planning on staying here when come back in the winter to snowboard. You cannot beat the location!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Large, clean rooms practically under the gondola at Steamboat Springs! Continental breakfast was mostly carbs but enough to get you going in the morning! Pools were clean but not warm enough to be in while we were there (rainy weather). The Ptarmigan would be ideal during the winter ski season! Summer is great as the summer concerts and restaurants are right out the front door!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I took my Ball team to the ptarmigan for the second time. We were there for four days and they were so friendly. Also very helpful as they let us have a huge crab boil on the back patio. Nice pool area also.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daren444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 2304 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: $71 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ptarmigan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Steamboat hotel with ski-in, ski-out access. The Ptarmigan Inn is the premier Steamboat lodging option for your Steamboat ski vacation, offering Steamboat’s only affordable ski-in ski-out access to the Steamboat Ski Resort. Start your Steamboat vacation planning now by letting us help you with all your needs while you’re here in Steamboat Springs. Check room availability and book now or contact a Steamboat lodging concierge. You’ll be glad you did. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ptarmigan Hotel Steamboat Springs
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel
Best Western Steamboat Springs
Ptarmigan Inn Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing