We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal close to the gondola!”
Review of The Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the best value we found that is walking distance to the gondola. Yes - the place looks outdated, but it does have a retro charm. We were lucky to get a room on the 4th floor. It came with: FREE WIFI!, bath amenities, hairdryer, daily housekeeping service, alarm clock, fridge, and FREE WIFI! (have to repeat it). The inn offers ski/ snowboard storage, but we opted to put our boards on the small balcony. It was an easier access for us to grab our boards, take the elevator down, exit out back and walk to the gondola. Not sure about the other reviewers on the cleanliness of their rooms, but our room was cleaned every day by Liliana who did a terrific job.

Other info:
- Pool and hot tub are small.
- Walls are thin. You can hear the noisy kids running around the next room and in the hallways.
- Free parking.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor facing the Truffle Pig restaurant.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noodle Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for The Ptarmigan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 159 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

you get what you pay for. we spent 7 nights at Ptarmigan Inn. It is an older place, not updated and we did not let our bare feet touch the carpet if you know what i mean. The staff was good, place was pretty clean (just old), breakfast downstairs was great each morning and so convenient. having Christy's ski rental there was very convenient too. I stayed there for the ski in and ski out convenience and it was great. I only paid $165 per night and when i was doing my research, i spoke to a private owner of some condos at the Rockies and she was a bit less than this but thought it was comical that she would put down the Ptarmigan Inn as a "knockdown waiting to happen" and the downtown Inns as over priced at $100 per night, when her little condos look very similar (built in the 70's), no restaurant, no ski in, ski out, no rental facility, no maid service, questionable on the clean sheets etc... other charges for "cleaning fees" and a long 3 block walk to the lift. And she "expected" me to be appreciative of her price... that's OK, i've stayed at the Rockies... no thanks. Her attitude alone kept me away. Can you spell Hustle?

Room Tip: pet friendly hotel, but 4th floor does not allow pets, so book a 4th floor room if you can.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertFtLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just terrible...Let's start with the front desk. Not at all friendly, kind of felt like I was at a motor vehicles counter. Everyone single one of them. Our slopeside room was actually in the basement. When we asked for another room, they told us they didnt' have any. We didn't believe them, so called pretending to be a new customer and they had several rooms available. Next, the room. Not only could we hear everything going on in the hall, other rooms, the lobby, the pool, etc., but the sounds were amplified, probably due to the way the noise was echoing off the walls. The towels probably haven't been replaced since the 1970s, I wouldn't even line a gerbil cage with them. The toilet paper was the cheapest you could find. I am still undecided over which was rougher, the towels or the toilet paper. The toilet didn't flush, the bathroom floor was peeling away and from the foundation causing an uneven walking surface. What else...oh, the bed left us so sore, we almost had to skip skiing one day. Also, I think I saw blood stains on one of the walls. I'm still stunned that the Steamboat mountain would allow such an eyesore and horrible place to be in such a prime location. The worst.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vadiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Cozy room, hot,hot tub, close to fun and fine playground that Steamboat Mtn resort offers... Great fridge, missing a microwave but has a restaurant, back deck to watch your kids in lessons at and very close proximity to the base of the Mtn.

We had a VCR in our room and needed a DVD player... Surprise... They had one at the front desk for free. Free web connection, happy people at the front desk and kind people offering ski valet... All in all, a great few days...

Room Tip: Both sides of the building are great!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The front desk staff is excellent and the bar is cozy friendly. Hanging out in the large hot tub with a bunch of people is really fun and the big pool is usually warm enough to swim in. great access to the ski resort and all the food and entertainment places right there. The rooms and common areas are a bit worn by now and in need of renovation, but you can't beat the location and the friendly staff

Room Tip: Rooms can be a little spread out so ask for one near lobby if that's important. I like the ones...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSMinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

As I was told when house shopping: location, location, location! That's why this place gets the 4 star rating, it is right on the ski hill as advertised. We opted for a slopeside room, and we pretty much left the hotel on skis and ended up right at the gondola.

So...about the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the place was very clean, and you could throw a rock at the gondola. But it was dated. If you're looking for a resort experience, keep looking. If that doesn't matter to you, get ready to party like it's 1999. Who needs a flat screen when there's a free VCR library? It's like walking into a time capsule of the 90s, everything is maintained but old... it's like you're actually staying in a hotel in the 90s. So if the 90s were your idea of Nirvana, you can have yourself a little Pearl Jam in the private Sound Garden of the Ptarmigan Inn.

All kidding aside, we had a good time and slept well. We'd go back, but we'd bring our own pillows. The pillows were from the 90s, when heads were smaller.

Room Tip: the slopeside room was fun to watch the skiers from...but you will hear noise from the grooming mach...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoPetLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First of I have to say I LOVE Steamboat Springs. If I could move there permanently I would. However for just a weekend bout to the boat Ptarmigan Inn provides an affordable way to enjoy the city. Ptarmigan is no frills but very comfortable and friendly staff. The Pool/Hot Tub are nice and always clean. While you are there you HAVE TO visit Strawberry Park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAdvis0r01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 2304 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9028
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: $70 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ptarmigan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Steamboat hotel with ski-in, ski-out access. The Ptarmigan Inn is the premier Steamboat lodging option for your Steamboat ski vacation, offering Steamboat’s only affordable ski-in ski-out access to the Steamboat Ski Resort. Start your Steamboat vacation planning now by letting us help you with all your needs while you’re here in Steamboat Springs. Check room availability and book now or contact a Steamboat lodging concierge. You’ll be glad you did. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ptarmigan Hotel Steamboat Springs
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel
Best Western Steamboat Springs
Ptarmigan Inn Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing