We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to make it to the Upper Falls!”
Review of Fish Creek Falls

Fish Creek Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Try to make it to the Upper Falls!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was very lucky to hike this trail as the fall colors were starting to peak! it was very cool to see the falls. the hike can almost be divided into three different portions.
The first portion actually gets you to the Fish Creek Falls. It's a short easy hike that many different ages can do. The path is wide. The altitude is noticeable, especially when walking back up a moderate incline to the main parking area. There is a little bridge where you can stand and enjoy the falls. You can climb up to a higher bridge and get a better view of them as well. You can spend maybe an hour between waling and standing around taking it in.
The second portion is the Upper Falls. Give yourself 3-4 hours for this which includes idle time. I think it is worth the hike as you walk through lush forests of aspen and pine. The autumn colors are breathtaking especially against a Colorado bright blue sky. The falls themselves don't have nearly the height as the previous, but they have a lot of power and there are many places to sit and relax on the rocks and enjoy . It is also considerably less crowded.. I would not recommend this portion of the hike for most children under 12 or for the elderly. For a small portion,you traverse rock to get the the Upper Falls :). If you decide to go this far bring food and water, water, water.
You can go further to Long lake- which is the third part. The scenery continues to be amazing and you walk through aspen groves and wide open valleys. Truthfully we weren't prepared and decided on a whim to do the 11 mile round trip hike to long lake. Not smart considering we had 2 small water bottles. That being said I also felt like Long Lake was kind of average- sort of a letdown. Usually when you put in that much effort and over 2500 feet elevation gain, I expect something beautiful at the "end". This portion of the hike is moderate to difficult. The journey there was quiet and peaceful as not many people do this portion of the hike. I personally think hiking to Long Lake wasn't worth it. But as far as the trail, it is worth walking past the Upper Falls through some portion of the valley for the beauty and serenity.There are other trails that you can take from here as we came across a lot of distance runners and mountain bikers. Hiking to Long Lake and back was about 7 hours or so.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerseyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,041
    288
    42
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Snowshoeing in Falling Snow is Paradise!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Venturing out on our first snow shoe experience together we took to the snow packed trail. It was breath taking to be hiking this trail as the snow fell down on us. The trail was easy to hike with snow shoes. There were others out and about as well who were snowshoeing and ice climbing up the frozen waterfall. We didn’t see any wildlife on this trip but maybe next time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhotoJAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Short hike with awesome views, great waterfall!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hike can be done by just about anyone including small children, the elderly, and less than mobile folks. The trail is dirt but wide and very manageable. If you want to go down next to the river and view the falls from there the trail is a bit stepper, but there is a magnificent viewing area eye level with the falls on the main trail. Keep a look out because we also saw a black bear meandering threw the trees while we were there!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Guyute6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls and hiking”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great short walk to lower falls. Bridge allows for wonderful photos. Hike is long and challenging but can be done at whatever level wanted.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank june101055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An Ansel Adams setting!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I decided to take advantage of beautiful weather we were having during our visit to Steamboat and go snowshoeing in Fish Creek Falls. Neither of us had snowshoed before, and it was the perfect hike to try it out, so we rented snowshoes from Christy's Sports and headed to the Falls. The main trails were packed down, making it a bit of an easier snowshoe hike. But to challenge yourself, you could hike along side of the packed trail to get more of a workout. We first headed up to the top of an overlook of the falls and Steamboat Springs, which was beautiful. There was a tough part involved that got a bit steeper and narrower, but that was only the last 40 feet or so. From there, we headed back down towards the falls, which were breathtaking. The falls were completely frozen and the color of ice blue glacier (and we got to see an ice climber climb the frozen falls). The river that wasn't frozen snaked through the snow covered boulders that made for some beautiful pictures. There was a second waterfall that could be hiked to past the main one, however, we didn't see any direct trails that led to it and heard its more challenging to get to. It may be an easier hike to the second set of waterfalls during warm weather when there is no snow. It was very quiet and peaceful, we only saw a handful of people there during our two hour excursion on a Friday morning. I would definitely recommend this adventure if you have the opportunity to take a break from skiing or snowboarding for a day - and don't forget the camera!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinnery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Creek Falls also viewed

 

Been to Fish Creek Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing