We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well maintained trail”
Review of Fish Creek Falls

Fish Creek Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very well maintained trail”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Several waterfalls to see and view before getting to the destination of the trail---Longs Lake. Lots of dogs on the trail with owners off from leash though. I didn't like this about the hike.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,088
    302
    44
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very Modest Waterfall”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Do not expect a splendid waterfall -- as the name indicates, this fall is part of a "creek" that is probably gushing tons of water when the snow melts but was rather puny during our summer visit. The upper (asphalted) path is very easy (even if you are out of shape) with very little incline and lots of people. There are two overlook areas but, truthfully, there is not much to look at. The more adventuresome can actually hike the lower path to the bottom. I saw some children playing below in what seemed like big puddles; again not the image one has of the bottom of a waterfall. If you have a national parks pass you don't have to pay to enter Fish Creek Falls; if not, the entrance fee is $5 per car. Overall a disappointing Steamboat attraction.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Angkor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andale, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the afternoon.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice, doable hike to a spectacular, beautiful waterfall. We brought a picnic lunch and enjoyed that first before our hike. It was a great afternoon. The man at the toll gate was very nice and informative.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Falls”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Fish Creek Falls is located on National Forest land. There is a $5 fee you pay when you park. The walk to the falls is not far and pretty easy. You can go for a short time or take a picnic there. Many people take off their shoes and cool off in the creek at the bottom. If you have younger children, it could be a half-day activity of seeing the falls & playing in the cold water.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RudedogKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“City-like crowds”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We went to the upper Fish Creek Falls following a standard forest service trail up and away from town. The walk is steep in a couple of places but not very difficult and there is abundant shade. The upper falls is nice, a bit shorter than the lower ones. We went on a Sunday and on our way down we counted 103 people coming at us to get to the falls. Then, when we arrived at the lower falls, there were dozens of people looking and crawling on the rocks around the creek. Because of all the people, it was kind of like visiting a park in a major city without all the infrastructure.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fiddlebike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Creek Falls also viewed

 

Been to Fish Creek Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing