We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem with amazing food”

Mazzola's Italian Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden gem with amazing food”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Been going to Steamboat in the summer for years and have no idea how we have missed this spot. Maybe it's because it is semi-invisible from the street. A sign, and stairs leading to the basement! But, what awaits is heavenly!!! Excellent traditional Italian though no veal offerings. Regardless, what they do serve is plate licking good from starters to dessert and they have a good wine selection as well. We will go back whenever we stop in this cute little town

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErnieB_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you! You're welcome to join us any time you're here. Glad you've found us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    176
    44
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herriman, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Judge The Book by Its Cover”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Visited based upon the positive reviews and at first glance, a bit worried that we would be dining in a dark pit. However, we were pleasantly surprised by great service, wonderful food, and a warm atmosphere that created a special evening.

We highly recommend the cheesy bread, chicken parm, Lemon Linguine, the apple calzone for dessert. The salmon was dry and bland.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TraveledTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We hear this a lot about our location, but glad to know you enjoyed the food. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Margerita Pizza I've Ever Had”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went to Mazzola's during their happy hour on a weekday. We only planned on getting some of the half price appetizers, but they were so good we ended up getting a couple entrees to go.
To get the half price appetizers, you have to sit in the bar area. Since we are a family of four it was a little awkward fitting into a small round table with barstools. But our server was great and made everything a little more enjoyable by joking about the small table.
We ordered a few appetizers - cheese bread, garlic shrimp and bruschetta. The cheese bread was absoloutely delicious- not your typical cheesy, greasy bread. It had great spices, and the bread was baked to perfection; the marinara sauce made it perfect. The garlic shrimp was well cooked, but served in a small dish, making it kind of like a soup. It was a little strange, but the flavors were still on point. The bruschetta was decent, but with ingredients such as pineapple, it was a little sweeter than we would have liked.
At this point, we were all pretty full, but decided to get a margherita pizza to share anyways. My dad also got the salmon entree.
I have to say that the pizza we ordered was hands down one of the best margherita's I've ever had. So fresh, the basil and spices were amazing, as were the fresh cut tomatoes and mozzarella. Even though we were already so full, we couldn't help but eat half of it!
Overall, great service and amazing food!
This was definitely a gem in Steamboat, and if we return we will definitely be coming back to Mazzola's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lefoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
This is great to hear. Thank you for a kind and thoughtful review. Glad you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of our favorites in SS!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

LOVE this place!!! The mothership pizza is killer!!! House salad is terrific!! Wait staff always an A+ A must try!!!! Go & eat now :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellb123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
WOW... thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We enjoyed two 'local lamb' dishes. Very friendly server. Great variety. Been here before and will definitely go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OlsonColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
You're welcome to join us any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazzola's Italian Diner also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Mazzola's Italian Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing