We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five years since we've been here...better than ever”

Mazzola's Italian Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We hadn't been in Steamboat in some time, but our first choice was to check out Mazzola's and were delighted to find it is better than ever. The white bean appetizer was delicious, and we split a Fondutta, which was simply amazing. Then we had a Margharita Pizza and a combo of my own making...both excellent, but took a lot home. The crusts are great, but somewhere between thin crust and thick. Great service as well, and they deliver, which might be bad for your weight.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jrpFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Welcome back! Don't be such a stranger next time. Glad to hear we're keeping up with the food and service after all these years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 424 of 665 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

On vacation and looking for something different and tasty. Decided to give Mazzola's a try. Wow! Yes, it's in the lower level but a unique atmosphere. Travis was our waiter and offered suggestions which were right on. Thank you Travis! The four of us unanimously agreed it was fabulous food and would go back in a heartbeat...which we might do.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rockindogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

We'll make sure to let Travis know how much he's appreciated. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The restaurant is below ground level in a rustic setting. The atmosphere is pleasant. The food was excellent. We had tomato bisque (wow!), rice with lamb (not much lamb but it flavored the rice to perfection) and a meat shoulder dish (can't remember the name, also very good). Each dish was prepared with the care of a true chef. The portions were surprisingly generous, a rarity when food tastes so good. Service was also very good. Cody gave us tips on the different meals. He steered us right. Thank you, Cody, and thank you to the chef and to the owner. We had a memorable meal.
Haik

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Haik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

This is so nice to read. Thank you for such a kind review. We'll tell Cody and the rest of the staff to keep up the good work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Every entree on their menu is pulled from specials they ran in the past that did well and sold consistently, so some very classic and top notch choices exist. Great service, fantastic food, reasonably priced. Or make your own pizza if you're craving some za!

Thank skithebeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Yep... years of experience have come in handy when designing our menu. We've been around long enough to [think we] know what we're doing. Ha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Boat is a place near and dear to our hearts and discovering Mazzola's this trip just further solidified our strong affection for this incredibly special town.

We showed up as a party of 8 (with no reservation) on closing night of ski season to indulge in some Italian deliciousness. Little did we know we were in for such a treat! We were greeted by the hostess in the typical Steamboat manner-warmly and with a genuine, welcoming kindness. We were seated at a round table (LOVE round tables for conversing!) with a Lazy Susan in the middle which made it so convenient for sharing our family style meal. The restaurant was full and had a great vibe that suited our group (4 adults, 4 kids ages 2-14) but would also be great for an adults only or even a romantic dinner as well.

Our server, Travis, was great, attentive, knowledgable and fun! Drumroll please....now for the FOOD!

The complimentary white bean dip appetizer with pesto, olive oil and kalamata olives is such a yummy treat! Do not make the mistake of not trying this! We then ordered the garlic shrimp appetizer...OMGoodness we all wanted to bathe in the sauce it was so good...no worries, we dipped the bread in it instead. :) We then ordered salads and 4 meals and shared them family style: chicken piccata, pesto chicken, bolognese and the shrimp scampi special. The house salad we ordered was wonderful, light and was filled with fresh, quality ingredients. All of the entrees were winners-we went around the table and everyone said which was their favorite and all of them got votes! I would be remiss if I did not mention that my sister and I both agreed that we will be dreaming of the chicken piccata...it came topped with arugula. The preparation was unique and scrumptious!

As if we didn't have enough reasons to come back to Steamboat before this...we have now added yet another, Mazzola's! Thank you to the chefs, Travis, the hostess, and our bartender friend from Jamaica for a wonderful experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KingCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Wow. Just WOW! Thank you for such a glowing review. This is one we're going to print and post in the kitchen for all the staff to read and share. How kind of you to speak so highly of our food and employees. We really appreciate how much you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazzola's Italian Diner also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Mazzola's Italian Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing