We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we picked Mazzola's”

Mazzola's Italian Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My title says it all. After going back and fourth on where to go to eat that night my family and I finally settled on Mazzola's. So glad we did. Dropped off by the hotel shuttle in the back means you walk through the backside and through the small dining room to get to the hostess stand and front of the restaurant. While this may have been awkward for a moment we were quickly welcomed with warm smiles and immediately sat at a table. Definitely a different type of entrance for us!
This little restaurant was tight in space but perfect for what we were looking for. Italian at its finest...loud families, great food, great place and a great experience. A must have dining experience for anyone visiting Steamboat. Makes the whole room feel like family is all around you. Service was great and the food was perfect for a cold night. Pizza, soups, salads, we got it all and ended with the warm apple calzone...great choice by my standards even though it was HUGE and we couldn't finish it all! Though we definitely tried to.
Lots of laughs during that meal and couldn't have asked for a better experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FashionLadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

WOW... this is just so AWESOME! Thank you for an incredible review. We sincerely appreciate it. We are "so glad you picked Mazzola's" also... ha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 554 of 683 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went on a Tuesday night and place was full before 6pm. Waited about 20 minutes or so to be seated even though host said it might be 45 minutes. Host was very professional and promptly called folks on their cell phones when tables were ready. We are glad we did not go elsewhere. Son had the lasagna and loved it. Wife had the caprese salad and the complimentary bread and humus and yes also loved it. Other son and I each had a calabrese and thought it was good to very good. Service was spot on despite being packed. All this and a beer for about $60 bucks made for a great meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eliseivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Great feedback... thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. With a smallish dining room and such tasty food we do tend to fill up quickly, especially over busy holiday weeks. But we're thrilled we were able to seat you in a reasonable amount of time and that you enjoyed the meal. Our staff will be happy to hear they are doing a good job managing busy nights. Come back and see us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and teenage kids voted for Italian for the last night of ski trip in Steamboat, so we checked out TripAdvisor, Urban Spoon, and Yelp and concluded that Mazzola's was our best bet. Modern technology did not let us down. Mazzola's was excellent, and I would highly recommend it. It seems Mazzola's doesn't exactly take reservations after 6:00 p.m., but they put our name on a "call list." About 30 minutes later they called us to say our table was ready, which worked out perfectly as we spent some time browsing in an excellent candy store down the street. The atmosphere at Mazzola's was relaxed and friendly, and the service was terrific. There were six of us for dinner, and we didn't want for anything. In fact, after my wife ordered a glass of wine, our waiter brought a sample of another wine for my wife to try along with it. It was a kind and thoughtful touch. For dinner, we tried the chicken piccata, lamb bolognese, lemon scallops, and the Tuscan steak. Each of the entrees was terrific, but I thought the chicken piccata was especially good. For dessert, we shared the Chocolate Calzone at the suggestion of our waiter and the family at the table next to us. It was the perfect ending to a perfect dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DougL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

WOW... thank you! This review makes us feel all 'warm-n-fuzzy' inside because it sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We really appreciate the review and it sounds like you rely heavily on these types of reviews yourself. Future guests will find it helpful to hear about your meal with us so we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

No flavor just a lot of salt........I had spaghetti & my husband has lasagna....sorry want be back.. It was very clean, waitress was great, but really now 17 dollars for spaghetti is really pricey & unless you are a wine drinker the bar is not the greatest really now no Miller Lite..Service was great...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sparklinrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Yikes... can't say what went wrong here. Yours is the first review we've seen in a very long while that didn't enjoy the food. We appreciate the feedback and will check with the kitchen to see what we might be able to improve upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

After searching Steamboat Springs reviews for an affordable but quality dinner we decided to try this place. We really enjoyed our meal there. We were seated promptly (about ten minutes after arriving, and found seats at the bar for a drink). There is a nice atmosphere in the restaurant. We had a delicious starting appetizer (Alpine Fontina) and tried the house salad which was good. The service was prompt and well-timed, the next courses came out at exactly the right times. For the main course we had mussels and gnocchi, both were amazing! The place died down and was almost empty (aside from the bar) by 9, but the staff never rushed or hurried us to finish our meal. We had wait staff, servers, and hosts stop by our table and ask how our meal was, and our server was able to offer local tourist tips as well. We enjoyed the meal immensely, and thought the food was outstanding for the price. The restaurant had a semi-casual Italian restaurant feel but the food was considerably better and original than one often finds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AKRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Mazzola's Italian Diner, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

That's music to our ears. Especially how attentive the staff was. So glad you enjoyed the Alpine Fontina and got a few "local tourist tips" on the side. Come back and see us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazzola's Italian Diner also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Mazzola's Italian Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing