We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, good value”
Review of Slopeside Grill

Slopeside Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, good value”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

It's a great location, whether you're there winter or summer. You can't beat being right at the base of the slopes, and the patio area is fantastic.

We were only there for drinks, so I can't comment directly on the food, but the service from the bartender was outstanding, and the prices were reasonable for a restaurant in that kind of location.

As a beer-snob I would love to see them improve their draft offerings (which were pretty sparse), but overall this is a spot that is a great place to spend some time with friends and drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluelineAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    237
    82
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, okay food, poor service”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Visited Slopeside during a recent stay with friends who have a condo in Steamboat. Location was convenient for us to walk to.

We were there on a Sunday night and the restaurant was bustling. Had to wait a bit for a table but they had a lot of fun activities happening in the field right next to the patio so the kids were able to run around and explore while we had a few pre-dinner drinks. There was a bit of confusion when our table was "ready." It's pretty obvious that communication is really poor between the hostess, server, and bus staff.

When finally seated, we had a couple questions about the menu that seemed to completely stump the waitress. She didn't know the answers and then forgot to revisit it after she left and came back to the table. I don't think she smiled once while she was serving us. She seemed either VERY inconvenienced or overwhelmed/shell-shocked when we asked about things like splitting the check in half or getting a box for leftovers.

Our friends apologized for it and said that the service was always an issue at this place-- I guess they have a reputation for high turnover with their wait staff. They said that the food is decent but service issues usually make them choose to eat elsewhere. I would agree with that summation 100%.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigsOrganizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun spot”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good food, friendly staff, great location if you are on the mountain. Pretty good vibe overall and has a good locals feel to the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveB4940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great FOOD!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This place is always busy but well worth the wait. Their food is awesome.The staff is very friendly, we went here for lunch and dinner multiple times. Would definitely recommend!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hailey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Disappointing”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Really great location at the base of the slope, that was the good news.
The nachos were horrible, with can style cheese that was solidifying quickly. We requested beef nachos and received diced hamburger patties (chunks). All was hardly warm ... what a shame, because when we saw the nachos at another table, they looked awesome. The sandwich that I shared with my wife was less than expected - don't need to return.

Helpful?
Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slopeside Grill also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Slopeside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing