We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authenic mexican taste”
Review of La Montana - CLOSED

La Montana
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Award winning Southwestern and Mexican Cuisine
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very nice atmosphere, slightly pricey, we had an appetizer and shared a meal but wasnt informed they charge a sharing fee.

Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamontana, Owner at La Montana, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks for your feed back about your experience at La Montana. I am sorry to hear that your server did not inform you of the split plate charge. We have a policy that the guest is to be informed of the split plate charge, because if you do not want it, we will give you an extra plate instead of spliiting your entree for you. This charge is to cover the cost of the extra side of vegetable side, extra starch--polenta, etc.. and sauce. When we split a plate at the customers request we build the entree on 2 plates, essentially with twice the amount of vegetable, starch and sauce. The protein is split between the 2 plates. I hope this explains the charge, but again my apologies that the server did not give you the option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 215 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Had fajitas, very good. Bison special was good too. Waitress was very nice. Very good Mexican food. The margarita's were good too. A bit pricey for Mexican food. Ten dollars for chips and queso? $2 for extra pico de gayo? $4 for extra chips? That is a little absurd.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Booger70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamontana, Owner at La Montana, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of La Montana.Yes the chili con queso, a 12 oz portion does cost $10. We use a blend of asadero, manchengo and white american as the basis for this appetizer. There is $4 worth of cheese in the bowl of chili con queso. This does not include the cost of the other ingredients or the chips. Furthermore, we pay our employees a living wage-substantially more than minimum wage. In order to cover all of our rising costs, of food, labor, rent, operating supplies without raising all of our entree prices we have to charge for the food that is sent out of the kitchen. We do start all of our guests off with a free basket of home made chips (yes we cook them in house in 100% canola oil) and 2 homemade salsas. We also regularly distribute free appetizer cards and other discount cards. If you would like to call, email, stop by I would be happy to share those discount cards with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Tortilla soup was nothing special, carnitas were typical / good. Nothing was over the top. Staff was friendly.

Thank SummerTripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamontana, Owner at La Montana, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We try to please all of our customers and we do try to be over the top. Next time you are in the neighborhood, please let us know, and we will do our best to impress you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our hotel staff urged us to try this after being told that other resturants downtown either were booked for the night or had at least a two hour wait. We decided to try this location and had a great meal. My son had the burrito's and I had the stuffed shrimp wrapped in bacon. Both items were very good and prepared well. I felt the stuffed shrimp were a bit pricy at $32 for four shrimp but I was very full when I was done. Overall the atmosphere was pleasent, but not over the top. The food was very good and delivered quickly. This was a great choice on a very crowded weekend and I'm not sure there is anyplace that is worth hours of waiting time to eat. If you want a good meal, where it's not crowded try this place.

Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamontana, General Manager at La Montana, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We take pride in being able to effieciently serve our guests on busy weekends. I am glad you enjoyed your meals. We price our Camarones de la Montana (shrimp stuffed with crab meat, wrapped in bacon and then topped with Jalapeno hollandaise) because of the cost of the ingredients. The shrimp, 4 per order, are the u-6 size. This means that there are 6 per pound, so each order of Camarones is about 3/4 of a pound or 12 oz of shrimp. Plus the crab meat, the hickory smoked bacon and the hollandaise made with fresh butter and eggs and it is not an inexpensive dish. But we think it is worth and so do our guests. Thanks for enjoying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place has a staff that is very hot and cold (e.g. great bartender, lousy waitperson, or vice-versa). The food is truly average especially considering the cost. Their apps are average at best, the soups aren't worth your while, entrees are capable of being way above average but I think it depends on who is in the kitchen. Go if you are in the area and try a cocktail and app...if they don't meet your standards get out of "montana"! GREAT MARGARITAS THOUGH!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2dogs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamontana, General Manager at La Montana, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks for your review of La Montana. Thank you for your compliment on the margaritas. I noticed on your review that the date of your last visit was almost a year ago. We have had some personel changes since then in the kitchen and on the floor, and we think for the better. We hope you come back and enyoy a margarita this winter! And please let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Montana also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing