We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant down town”
Review of The Cantina

The Cantina
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 8th Street
Transit: Lincoln Avenue between 8th and 9th Street.
Description: Fun, casual dining in historic downtown Steamboat Springs, Colorado. The Cantina is one of Steamboat’s oldest dining establishments and serves creative Mexican cuisine and award winning fresh squeezed margaritas for lunch and dinner daily.The highly acclaimed fresh-squeezed margaritas are made with fresh lemons and limes — no sour mix here. Signature items include tequila-fired fajitas served flaming table side; Chimi Cozumel filled with shrimp, mushrooms & spinach topped with jalapeno pesto cream sauce; Carne Asada made with tender buffalo steak; and homemade cinnamon fried ice cream.The Cantina in Steamboat offers a children’s menu, a gluten free menu, a large variety of vegetarian options and plenty of fresh salads and soups.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A restaurant down town”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Cantina has been there for sometime. They are a bit
over priced but handy if you are downtown. The food is average.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L17efty17, Owner at The Cantina, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hello,

I strive everyday here at the Cantina to be the best Mexican food in the county. When a customer says our food is average I want to do everything that I can to make his/her next experiance better. Next time your in the area please ask for me (Jeff), I am the owner and if I am not around ask for a manager and let us know how we can make our food a better experiance for you. I always take recommendations seriously and hope that you can help us out and let us know exactly where we can improve. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, if it werent for reviews it would be very tough to address any and all Cantina issues. If you could be a bit more specific as to what dish you had it would make my life much easier to try and address it.
Thanks again,
Jeff LaRoche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    124
    55
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
448 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We are frequent travelers to Central Mexico but unfortunately live in New Mexico where they slaughter Mexican style food by smothering in "red or green". The Cantina offers an innovative menu which is more like authentic Mexican food. We enjoyed our lunch choices and our server was very attentive.

Had a brief conversation with Jeff, the owner, and determined that this was the location of the Steinkeller which I remembered from my days living in Steamboat Springs in the late 60's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L17efty17, Owner at The Cantina, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi guys,

This is Jeff, thank you all for the wonderful review and we look forward to preserving history here and seeing you guys next time your in the area!!! Happy Holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
333 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great fajitas for vegetarians”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

As with most Mexican restaurants, there's not much choice for vegetarians, and even less for vegans. We did, however, find the vegetarian fajitas to be a good choice. There was plenty to eat, it was not overcooked, and it was seasoned nicely.

I especially liked the flavor of the salsa they put on the table, and the big, "strong" margaritas.

This is a great place to get a good dinner, or to just hang out with friends after skiing, hiking, or whatever. It's a great restaurant in a great, mountain town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ovolacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L17efty17, Owner at The Cantina, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the awesome review and I look forward to you guys coming back and seeing us!! Snow is falling and we are ready!!!! Happy Holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good mexican food”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wonderful deep Chili rellenos filled with hamburger and onion. Would go as hot as you liked for your food items. Large portions for a decent price

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kissbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L17efty17, Owner at The Cantina, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review.. Means alot to us when customers take the time to do this! Glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see you back here soon! Happy Holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“Decent mexican”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Cantina is serving up some great Mexican food in the heart of downtown. Consistent quality and service. A good choice when wanting to eat Mexican food in downtown Steamboat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L17efty17, Owner at The Cantina, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hello,

Im glad that you enjoyed your visit here and hope to see you back in the Cantina ASAP!!! Happy Holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cantina also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to The Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing