We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Reviewed January 8, 2014

After several UNsuccessful attempts to get my concerns resolved, I'm sorry to have to write such a negative review. Last year we stayed at this property and had a wonderful experience. This year was the exact opposite. I booked this unit directly with Legacy Reservations because I needed to generate 2 separate invoices - the first night's stay on a personal credit card and the 2nd night's stay on a business card. I was told at booking that would not be a problem. Wrong. Apparently it is impossible for Legacy to break up a 2-night stay into 2 separate invoices. I was also told at booking I was paying "in full" only to find out later there is an added "resort fee" for Wi-fi and parking added at check-out. (Read the fine print). The 2-BR Loft unit has a very small living area with only one couch; a tight staircase with 2 BR's up with uncomfortable beds. Nonetheless, the property would be a good value for the money with better customer service. Maybe management should spend more time resolving problems and less time responding to negative reviews online.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Lisa

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and encourage you to contact us to discuss this matter further. Please call 970-879-2900 to speak to a manager about your experience.

Rest assured that your feedback is very important to us, and we hope to resolve this matter with you as soon as possible.

Thank you once again for taking the time to convey the details of your stay. We look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nice bathrooms, that's about all I can say. Living room was small with one small uncomfortable couch. 2 TVs in the room but only 1 remote. They advertise 50+ channels but less than 10 work. When I called the front desk about the channels I was rudely informed they would not be available for the duration of my stay (1 week). Do yourself a favor and avoid this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam m M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Sam

Thank you for choosing to vacation at Legacy Vacation Club- Hilltop. Steamboat is currently going through a High Definition upgrade with the cable company and unfortunately we are one of the last resorts in Steamboat scheduled for the upgrade.

We apologize for the inconvenience.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Staff was extremely friendly. Living room had very uncomfortable furniture, along with the beds and pillows, we did not get a good night sleep the whole week. The game room we had to pay to play and all the equipment was very worn. The hot tubs were so hot you could not stand to stay in them longer than five minutes. In the lodge snow was coming in from the ceiling. Building extremely dated and the room needed new updated carpet. The property was under construction and we could not take a nap during the day or hear the t.v. because of all the banging. They did not have cable t.v. the entire week we were there. The first room they put us in had wet paint on the walls.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxawayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology that the resort and your accommodations did not meet your expectations. Please note that this is not the experience we pride ourselves on providing our valued customers. We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review, and will keep all the comments you made in mind as we continue to improve our resort.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We travel a LOT, and usually stay in timeshare properties. We always book locations with kitchens due to my food allergies, and the need to cook our own meals. Typically resorts like this, and the timeshare properties we stay at, are nice, clean, and comfortable.

We stayed in room 514.

The pros of staying at this location in October for us are:
Full kitchen, two bathrooms, clean pool and hot tubs, towels supplied at pool, cool fireplace in lobby, nice seating area above lobby, game room to keep kids busy, two bedrooms, small dining area, televisions in living and both bedrooms, loft-style with view of the mountains, computer with printer in lobby area, nice staff

The cons of staying at this location:
This place is tired, old, and needs some upkeep. Paint seems to be fresh in rooms and hallways, but I believe they use paint instead of real upkeep (not to mention the colors are awful - baby poop tan everywhere), horrible mattresses, heat in unit is provided by a wall unit in living room that is either too hot or too cold and does not reach the loft room we slept in, dirty couch that is cheap and uncomfortable. dressers in both bedrooms are broken and only a couple of drawers work, no night stands or lamps in one bedroom, no hangers in closets in bedrooms and only two hangers in entryway closet, little things like no soap dish in the bathrooms or the cutting board in the kitchen missing three of four rubber feet so when you cut it rocks back and forth, pictures in the entire place are from the 80's and faded so horribly you are better without pictures, no heat in hallway between rooms and elevator (really?! WTH?!), games in gameroom cost quite a bit of money, nothing is close to this place, tennis courts are cracked and missing a net on one of them, you must drag your luggage up many steps (without assistance) to get them into the resort, black mold in the tub area, ceiling sections falling down due to roof leaks, cheap cheap cheap furniture that is uncomfortable, an unsecured network (really?!), noisy from rooms next to you, old and tired (did I say that already?)

Again, like I said, this place works okay for what we need, but this is not a nice place. They could use some repairs and invest just a little bit of money into furniture, better paint colors, fix the ceilings, hangers in closets, and the other small things that make it an "experience". I do not feel the people who rated this high have stayed at many better resorts in the past. Is it worth the money? Maybe for those who don't care where they stay and want a kitchen and a pool.

Summary: Meh.

Room Tip: At the very end of the hall on the top level, away from elevators and other people to minimize noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DezinerDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are continuously updating the properties and have preventative maintenance program in process. Our staff is well trained and would be more than happy to assist you with luggage, we apologize if this was not communicated properly.

Thank you once again for taking the time to convey the details of your stay and we hope you accept our apologies.

Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I reserved and paid in advance for a 1-bedroom condo, but was told when I arrived that they did not have the room available. They sent us to the other Legacy property in town, who also said they had overbooked. They offered us a tiny room and a partial refund, followed by a second night in the condo we actually reserved. The condo was very large and comfortable, but some members of the staff were rude and frequently changed their story about their error and what they would do to fix it. This would be a great place to stay if you could count on getting the room you reserve.

Room Tip: The 1-bedroom condos are very large, much bigger and nicer than the studios, which are essentially r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Legacy Vacation Club in Steamboat Springs. Please accept our apologies for the misunderstanding and confusion of the overbooked status you encountered during your visit.

We're happy to hear that our other resort was able to accommodate you on the proper unit type for the reminder of your stay. We apologize if any of our staff members provided you with less than helpful service. We normally pride ourselves on our service, and are disappointed to hear that this was not the case with your stay.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed a week with our 10 yr. old grandson. We had everything we needed and were very comfortable. The location was excellent. The staff people were very helpful. We needed a toaster--we had it in fifteen minutes. We needed information--they had it. We did wish the fitness room had been available--it was not.

Room Tip: Get a room without an upstairs bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We're so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us here at Legacy Vacation Club in Steamboat Springs. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review about your stay.

Our number one priority is customer service, so we're glad to see that our staff members provided you with top-notch service.

Please keep us in mind for future vacations. We would really love to see you again!

Best regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed there during the holiday season last year. Although it looked a little isolated sitting up on the hill by itself, when we got up there it had a great view of the area. The staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean. We especially liked the kitchen that was completely furnished. We had a two-level, one bedroom suite and it was definitely more than enough for three of us. Two separate bathrooms was a huge plus! The ski shuttle was a little bit crowded but since you get on it at the first stop you will always be able to get on board. We would go back and stay at the Steamboat Hilltop in a heartbeat. Great value!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xrustall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you SO much for this five-star review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave these details about your stay, and we could not be happier to hear that you had a great time.

We love to hear that your accommodations met your expectations. We find that many of our guests really enjoy our spacious rooms. Our ski shuttle is also another very popular amenity with guests and we're glad you got to take advantage of it.

We'd love to have you back again! Please keep us in mind for future vacations.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#7 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
667 reviews
1.6 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
435 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
655 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop

Address: 1000 High Pointe Dr, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-3126 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts )
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: $108 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Steamboat Ski area and downtown area, located on main road into Steamboat. Located on top of a hill in beautiful Steamboat Springs. Resort offers surrounding views of mountains. This bright resort is perfect for families with fully equipped kitchens, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. Ski lockers and complimentary shuttle service to mountain and downtown areas offered everyday through ski season. Offering studio, 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All units completely renovated in Dec. 2011 with wood floors in main area, granite countertops, new appliances, furnishings. 1 bedroom has 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms has 3 bathrooms. Studio offers mini refrigerator, microwave, 1 bathroom. The 1-bedroom layout includes either a 1-level with 1 bathroom or a 2-level with 2 bathrooms. Also offer fitness room, game room, ski lockers, complimentary shuttle. Complimentary Shuttle service available to mountain, downtown, and areas around town offered daily from 8am - 11pm during Ski season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop Hotel Steamboat Springs
Celebrity Resort Steamboat Springs
Celebrity Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing