We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Using RCI points for the week stay here, and only on 3rd night but are enjoying the Legacy enough to write now. Two bedroom loft is plenty spacious for family of four and the young ones love the pool. Staff is super friendly and although we haven't used the shuttle, they are quick to call them and quick to pick up from what I've witnessed. I read the previous reviews and was a bit worried about the stay, but the room is immaculate, all the appliances are brand new and the wood floors look newly installed. The location is very easy to find, our room has a great view of the slopes and everything is within easy driving distance if you choose. Bonus would be a restaurant on site, but it actually gets you to explore more of the town and find the nice local spots to eat...or you can bring in your groceries and cook your own meals very easily. By the way...hot tubs (plural!) are located with the nicely sized heated pool, not in lobby as previously reported.

Room Tip: Fifth floor 2 bedroom loft has great view of slopes. Rooms are so quiet I actually need a fan to fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaysquared24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 204 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

When you think of a resort, old apartments that need painting plus, with a hot tub in the checkin lobby, doesn't quite fit the picture.We also made a huge mistake leaving a Harley Davidson hat there as it has been more than 3 weeks since we provided an address and they actually wanted a credit card number to mail it back and still yet it was never sent. Had to have a friend in the area pick it up today.Wow, is that what you call customer service??? We think not! Guess I won't be eating my hat or ever staying there again either!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quality_Hunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We've recently completed extensive interior and exterior upgrades to include new air conditioning and heating, bedding package, landscaping and an Activity Room.

The value for price paid is extraordinary since your accomodations include two-full bedrooms, two full bathrooms, living room, full sized kitchen with stainless steel appliances, flat screen televisions, and complimentary shuttle service to all that Steamboat Springs has to offer. Our location for summer and winter activities couldn't be better.

Legacy Resort locations also offer heated spas, saunas, free WiFi and even an indoor pool.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Staff is super friendly & helpful - in stages of remodeling but it did not interfere with our stay. Games, comfortable commons area, simple minigolf & tennis, ping pong, sauna, indoor swimming pool & hot tubs on site. It's a hilly walk to the main road to catch the free bus that goes through town but we didn't mind the walk. This is a convenient location with a grocery store within site. Our suite had ample room for our extended family, though the kitchen was a little small. It was what we were looking for at a good price. It may look a little "old school", even shabby on the outside but the warmth of the staff makes up for it! Awesome sunsets too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gloriahayswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We joined my in-laws for a mini vacation here in September 2011. We stayed in the suites, not the hilltop but there is no listing for the suites on this website for review. They were able to get the suite at a low price using their RCI points. We arrived on our scheduled check in date at 7pm and the room was not ready. They sent us to the hilltop and when we got there they only had one room left which had been promised to somebody else. We went out to eat and were able to finally check in after 8pm. It was storming something fierce so we were soaked by the time we got to our rooms. Not a great first impression. The room was old and musty smelling and everything was pretty outdated. The fan in the bathroom only worked sometimes. It was still hot and humid and air conditioning would have been nice but they only had a swamp cooler. It was nice that we could walk to the free bus from the hotel and access the downtown area. I don't think we would visit Steamboat at this time of year again and if we did I'd rather pay more and stay somewhere a little bit nicer. It worked for what we needed it for but I was glad when my husband got a call from work and we had to leave early.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BohemianDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We got a good price for this resort and as it was non peak season, we got upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. The rooms were clean and spacious. It had everything we needed. The location was also near to the town. Was just a short drive to shops, hot spring, waterfall. The receptionist was also very friendly and helpful. All in all, we had a pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank justmy2centsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

First time at this resort. We got a great deal as a last minute RCI rental. First the road to the resort is full of huge potholes. A major remodel was going on so half the resort was empty. There will be new windows and paint and landscaping, picnic area, new observation deck, new furniture, carpeting and granite counter tops so I do expect it will be better. Only the front rooms have a view. This is not a "resort" experience. No bar or restaurant or activities. More like a hotel with kitchens. Small pool and two small indoor hot tubs. No balconies. WiFi in lobby only. We had room in back with view of tennis court and old miniature golf (to all be updated), but still not a "view". Great walk in closet to keep ski gear in. We did have a mouse visit our room but we chased him out. Close to the Hot Springs Pool.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front side with a view of Steamboat Springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaboVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I chose Legacy Vacation Resorts- Hilltop in Steamboat Springs because we got a great price on Expedia and because we wanted a hotel with a kitchen. When I booked the trip, there were mostly positive reviews on TripAdvisor. About a week before we left, I looked again and read two pretty negative reviews of the hotel, and became concerned, wondering if we should cancel our reservation and look elsewhere. However, we ended up sticking with our original plans. While I understand that some travelers have recently had a bad experience here (which I feel bad about), my husband and I had a wonderful stay here.
On Expedia, I had made a request for a more quiet room if possible, as I can be a bit noise-sensitive, and Legacy Vacation Resorts honored that request by giving us a top floor room nearly all of the way down to the end of the hall. Other than the loud trains at night (which you can hardly avoid if you are staying down by the main strip), the hotel was quiet and peaceful. Our room was recently remodeled, so we didn't feel like we were staying in an old dump. Some reviewers mentioned that the outside of the hotel is in pretty bad shape- I would agree- there is paint peeling off in many places, but it appeared that some of it had already been repainted and I am guessing that they are in the process of slowly repainting and updating what they can as quickly as they can.
All of this said, we had a wonderful stay here and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donkelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
435 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
655 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop

Address: 1000 High Pointe Dr, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-3126 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts )
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: $108 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Steamboat Ski area and downtown area, located on main road into Steamboat. Located on top of a hill in beautiful Steamboat Springs. Resort offers surrounding views of mountains. This bright resort is perfect for families with fully equipped kitchens, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. Ski lockers and complimentary shuttle service to mountain and downtown areas offered everyday through ski season. Offering studio, 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All units completely renovated in Dec. 2011 with wood floors in main area, granite countertops, new appliances, furnishings. 1 bedroom has 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms has 3 bathrooms. Studio offers mini refrigerator, microwave, 1 bathroom. The 1-bedroom layout includes either a 1-level with 1 bathroom or a 2-level with 2 bathrooms. Also offer fitness room, game room, ski lockers, complimentary shuttle. Complimentary Shuttle service available to mountain, downtown, and areas around town offered daily from 8am - 11pm during Ski season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop Hotel Steamboat Springs
Celebrity Resort Steamboat Springs
Celebrity Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing