We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the sauce”

Double Z Bar & Bar Bq
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We love the sauce”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Where can you get tasty (and cheap) food and drink? The Double Z in Steamboat Springs. For us, no trip to Steamboat is complete if we don't hit the Double Z after playing at the ski resort. Do they accept credit cards, nope? Is it the decor (animal heads on the wall) the reason we go, nope? Is the service extraordinary, nope. We hit the Double Z 'cause the smokey BBQ chicken is to die for and no trip for us is complete unless we hit the Double Z. Food and beer prices are decent, service good and the sauce is to die for. We love the Double Z almost as much as we love the ski resort.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    44
    22
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Classic BBQ”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Locals call this place the Grease Bomb but they all love it. The BBQ is decent and the portions are hugh. It's a funky place with barstool seating and everything served in baskets.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nly10d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Locals choice”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is a locals favorite, which means a lot. Huge portions at a great price, really good bbq.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Frothy cold beers, great burgers and ribs”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Double Z bar came recommended by our snow cat guide nd didn't disappoint. Casual western style bar with lots of memorabilia on the walls and a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Local ski patrollers call this place home. Great cold beer and cheap eats such as burgers, ribs and chicken wings. Big serves so look out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelbear3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Great Burgers!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If your looking for a place to kick back and meet some to the local Steamboaters, this is the place. Excellent burgers, cold beers and really nice people...worth spending a little time in!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpartanFan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Z Bar & Bar Bq also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Double Z Bar & Bar Bq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing