We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Yampa River Core Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Yampa River Core Trail is a seven mile, non-motorized multi-use trail that follows the meandering Yampa River from Dougherty Road through downtown Steamboat Springs to Bear River Park. Groves of cottonwood trees, excellent fishing, scenic overlook benches, and lovely picnic spots make this trail a great place for a leisurely stroll or a commuter route through town. Additionally, there are many parks and playgrounds and more miles of trail that can be accessed off of the Core Trail.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

It is a beautiful trail for biking or walking that follows the yampa river through downtown steamboat. Along the way you will see historical sights and be able to watch white water rafting and tubing. Definitely worth your time.

Helpful?
Thank LeighMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    52
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent way to bike in Steamboat!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We rented cruiser bikes from the Ski Haus and biked the core trail from end to end as it meanders along the Yampa River. It is a great trail except for the many people (children) encountered along the way who don't know to move off the trail or to stay right. It certainly could be wider. But all in all it was a great couple of hours and I would highly recommend it to all!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjespinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Fun to Bike along”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice access along Yampa river smooth trail wide enough to be safe. Parking areas for off loading bikes. My wife biked while i fly fished. Another time we biked from across Wyndham to lunch downtown at Sweet Pea on the river.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best biking trail along the Yampa river in Steamboat”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

There is at least two bicycle shops in which to rent bicycles and we used the Steamboat Ski and Bike shop on Lincoln. We rode up and down the bike trail until we felt that we'd gotten our money's worth, and it was a great experience. The botanical gardens along the Core Trail is a must see. With an ear wig (Joni Mitchell, Big Yellow Taxi) going on, I toured the gardens. "They put all the trees in a tree museum, and charged all the people a dollar and a half just to see um." This place is free (donations) so things are looking up.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank motoguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrton, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great way to get into town”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

for the athletic folks that are staying out on the mountain, this is a great access to get to downtown is you are walking or biking.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank melbrnemtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yampa River Core Trail also viewed

 

Been to Yampa River Core Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing