We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Steamboat Gondola

Steamboat Gondola
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
388 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We rode it up in July to see the view and perhaps have lunch. It was way too expensive, and the food was not what we had in mind, so we went back down and had a good lunch in town. Save your money and ride the luge again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    77
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's a gondola ride.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our family rode the gondola up and back. It was a gondola ride. The resort was dead, so the whole affair was rather depressing. The view was cool, but having gone to Jackson Hole last summer, there just isn't any comparison. Had my father not paid for it, I wouldn't have bothered.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hike up and you can ride down for FREE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Looking to kill 2+ hours and a few hundred calories? This 3.8 mile hike will do the trick. This is a strenuous and dusty hike that traverses across steep terrain and through woods. The wild flowers, birch trees and city views were lovely. The patio seating and free pop refills at the top were greatly appreciated. Loved the free gondola ride back down....we never would have made the return hike. Bring water and plan to get dirty!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank forwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We're not skiiers, so we went up the Gondola for the scenic view & to stop at the restaurant on the top. For $20 you get a ride up & a $10 credit towards your restaurant purchase. But keep in mind, that they close around 3pm, so make sure to get up there during the day. The lady at the bottom of the hill, who sold the tickets, said that the voucher was only good for meals. However, the waitstaff at the top honored it towards drinks & an appetizer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Awsome views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great ride! Resort keeps their equipment clean and running well. I found each gondola free from graffiti and trash. The staff help you with your gear especially if you are tired or moving slow.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chopalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamboat Gondola also viewed

 

Been to Steamboat Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing