We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort even in summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
KS
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great resort even in summer”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We are on our 2nd trip to Steamboat Springs in two years and enjoy staying at Trappeurs Crossing. Condos are owned individually and can be rented either through some owners directly or through resort quest. The property is well maintained, has an outdoor pool, hot tubs and other nice amenities. It is close to Gondola square and trail access for biking to different parts of the area. They even had a few activities like ice cream social, fireside s'mores and storytelling etc during the summer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel92ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortQuestSteamboat, General Manager at Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Our staff has taken great pride in developing activities which bring people together in an effort to make your Trappeur's Crossing stay a once in a life time experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come to visit us soon.

Tom Ernst
General Manager
SteamboatInfo@resortquest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    41
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
162
63
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orion
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here for three nights starting on 4/5/12. The person at the front desk was friendly, helpful when we checked in, and when we asking about places to dine. The property was probably only 25% occupied because the weather was so warm and melted a lot of the snow. We stayed in condo # 2109 in the Timberline Lodge on the first floor. This was just a short walk to the pool, hot tub and amenities center. Parking was free and on the lower level below the condo and via card access which always worked fine. Free WiFi was included and worked as advertised throughout the condo. The condo itself was clean with a large fireplace, adequate bathroom (sink counter space could be larger), and all the necessary utensils in the kitchen. TV's in both the Living Room and Bedroom were flatscreen and had crisp pictures. We used the hot tubs which were clean and in working order, but didn't get a chance to use the exercise equipment though it appeared in excellent condition. On friday evening the property hosted a very nice, free reception that included free wine, beer, soft drinks and appetizers. The property is about 200 yards from the Gondola area but rather than walk we took the Resort Quest shuttle. It stops near the check-in every 10 minutes or so and is reliable. We also had them drop us off and pick us up after dinner one evening. On-time and friendly. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortQuestSteamboat, General Manager at Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay. We value these opinions and find that future guests find them very useful. Although snow conditions were less than favorable this past year, we found plenty of other activities for guests to participate in. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come back to visit us soon.

Tom Ernst
General Manager
SteamboatInfo@resortquest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had our wedding in Steamboat on March 17, 2012 and Trappeur's was our choice for accommodations for us and our guests. We had a group sales representative who was friendly, responsive, and helped us out with every thing! Our guests couldn't stop talking about how nice the resort was and how awesome the staff was. We had a fantastic time and our stay certainly helped make our wedding the fabulous event that is was! I recommend Trappeur's to anyone who has a large group coming to Steamboat! Or just a few=)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeriGannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My finace and I visited Steamboat earlier this season and had an amazing stay at Trappeur's Crossing. The pool and hot tubs were so much fun, and the conod was fabulous. It was very cozy and beautifully decorated. Upon arrivqal the staff was so nice and helped out with everything we needed. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone shopping in the area. And we plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RQResManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Let me first clarify that we made reservations through Steamboat Resorts, so our condo in Champagne Lodge was privately owned and maintained. The condo itself was beautiful, although lacking in little amenities that would make it a little more 'homey'...probably because the unit was for sale by the owners. We did NOT have daily maid service, and upon initial check-in we were discouraged to find only 1 roll of paper towels and 1 roll of bath tissue in each bathroom, no tissues, no coffee or filters, etc. However, the front desk attendant was very accommodating in giving us whatever we needed throughout the week. Had they not, this might have been a different review. As I said, our 2-bedroom condo itself was great and large enough that our family of 4 (including 2 grown sons) did not trip over each other. Having the outside patio was a huge plus since the weather was in the 60's some days. Beds were very comfortable and the 2 bathrooms a great convenience, not to mention the washer/dryer. Parking underground was also a nice touch, although we did use the free shuttle service to the mountain each day (this was VERY convenient, and I'm not usually a fan of shuttles). Pool and hot tub areas were very nice and conveniently located...attended one of the free Happy Hours...GREAT food and a nice selection of beer/wine. Had a band playing...a lot of people were there taking advantage of it. We kept saying "I can't believe they provide all this food and drink!" Biggest downside to our condo was it's location...our patio and bedroom faced the side street and therefore traffic noise was a bit loud, but tolerable. As far as location to the mountain, you can easily walk it, but I wouldn't with ski boots & equipment...take the shuttle, they run frequently. Distance to downtown Steamboat is only a few minutes, and there are some great restaurants and shops there. On a down day, try the hike to Fish Creek Falls...nice little walk to some pretty falls. Overall, would we come here again? Yes, without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side of Champagne Lodge can be a little noisier. If you want to avoid that, mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have been coming to Trappeur's since 1994. We've stayed in Trappeur's Lodge and Champagne Lodge. Newer is definitely nicer, and the units do vary in terms of quality of furnishings. I agree with the review that says look carefully at photos rather than relying on verbal descriptions. In the Champagne condo we stayed in, everything is up to date, clean and comfortable. The kitchen is spotless and well-equipped with a glass-top range, granite countertops, good cookware and service for 12. All four bedrooms and bathrooms are pristine, the two king suites are super comfortable, the larger one with twin leather chairs and ottoman, plus jet tub and double vanity. The two twin rooms are fine... twin beds are twin beds after all. The location is steps away from the upper pool and two outdoor hot tubs, a few more steps to the amenity center. Nice outdoor patio for when it's warm. The decor is upscale mountain lodge, and the furnishings are newer, although not brand new. The carpet does show light use, I'd guess it's maybe five years old. Best feature of all: the in-unit washer and dryer. Allows for minimalist packing and keeps daily ski funk at bay.

We love coming back to Trappeur's because it makes family vacations fun and flexible... free shuttle gives everyone independence, full kitchen keeps food costs down, amenities provide great choices, location is minutes from mountain without being on mountain... and best of all, the people are nice and chill and friendly and helpful. If you're shopping before June 1 for next season, check out steamboat.com for advance purchase lift tickets... save tons of money with just $99 down. And if you're planning ski school, book at least 7 days in advance for significant savings. Really wish we'd planned better this year, because it is very pricey to pay full day rates after you arrive. Still awesome, but I'm going to do better next time!

If you need to rent equipment, take advantage of the 20% Trappeur's discount you get at Christy Sport. (I won't name their competitors, but we got a refund from one of them due to horrible equipment and bad settings, then took our business to Christy, which offered way better equipment, service and prices.)

Room Tip: Use the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savvy525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time at Trappeurs Lodge (timberline apts), and I now know why we liked it so much the first time we stayed here a few years ago. Condo is spacious and well equipped. Great to have laundry facilities in the unit. Great front desk/concierge service, daily maid service a Godsend and the underground parking a luxury. Location to ski area is excellent and it's quiet and close to all amenities. Definitely will return here.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank louitexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#6 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trailhead Lodge
Trailhead Lodge
#3 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Torian Plum Condominiums
Torian Plum Condominiums
#8 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bronze Tree Condominiums
Bronze Tree Condominiums
#13 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadows at Eagleridge
Meadows at Eagleridge
#48 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa

Property: Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Address: 1795 Medicine Springs Dr, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-2068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation luxuriously and affordably at Steamboat's finest resort, Trappeurs Crossing Resort & Spa by Wyndham Vacation Rentals. The Steamboat gondola is just 2 blocks away and our winter shuttles chauffeur guests to-and-from the ski resort and around Steamboat. Choose from 6 lodges with 1-5 bedroom units (some with private hot tubs). Enjoy four pools (one indoor/outdoor pool), multiple hot tubs, Day Spa, fitness center, concierge and free wireless Internet access. Fully-equipped kitchens, gas fireplace, private balcony and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trappeur`s Crossing Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing