We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Beat This Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Claw Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steamboat Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Claw Condominiums
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't Beat This Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Steamboat. Been traveling to Steamboat many years - - first time to stay in the Bear Claw property. First and foremost, the location is truly ski in/ski out. You can literally ski up to the back door of the condominium building. Super convenient and that is certainly this property's greatest asset. We stayed in a two-bedroom 5th floor unit (515) in Bear Claw II facing the ski slopes. It wasn't glamourous but was certainly adequately furnished and had everything we needed (including nice, new and big TVs to watch the NFL playoffs.) The view was fantastic.

Any "lack of glam" was completely overshadowed by the staff. They were great. Can't say enough good things about them. When we first checked in, the young man giving us a tour of the unit noticed we didn't have a wireless router in the condo. He said he'd look for one and return later. We thought it might be a hollow promise until, lo and behold, 30 minutes later he knocked on our door to plug in a wireless router for us. Complimentary bottle of wine in our unit and a basket of fruit was a nice touch. On our second morning, somebody accidentally took one of our set of skis from the outside rack. Robin (and others) quickly called to set our skier up with a loaner set of skis and poles and then literally searched all of the ski lockers until they found our skis. Unfortunately, there was an elevator malfunction during our stay. All of the staff went out of their way to help tired skiers carry boots/skis/poles to the ski lockers.

The shuttle is very convenient. We never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes whether we were coming or going. It seemed to run much faster than some of the other properties (probably because it's not shared among many condos.) Pool/hot tub were nice and convenient. Also, there's a lounge/bar that opens up in the afternoons. Very cozy, big TV and friendly bartender.

Overall, Bear Claw II is a great choice in Steamboat. We are spoiled now by the convenience and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a slope view.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GirlUnderPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

My first trip to steamboat so no expense was spared. If I had to rate the accomodation without location it would be a 3 out of 5. The only reason it got a 4 was because of the very friendly and helpful staff and great location (if you do NOT want to haul your stuff around and do not want to be in the middle of all the condos ). Rooms are perfectly fine but bathrooms v small. Decor is rustic and comfy, not modern glam. If the ceilings were higher it would help, but this is what you get from an older building. First room had a flat screen but the eventual 3 bedroom had an old tv. One drawback is no washer dryer in the unit, but there are machines in the building. Service is excellent but my unit had a lot of small issues: fireplace pilot needed to be fixed, refrigerator was not working, cleaning staff did not remove recyclables, and was told to stop using the second bath due to plumbing issues below. All except the last are reasonable and were addressed immediately. The plumbing was addressed quickly but imagine paying high season costs to only have them tell you that you cannot use any part of the bathroom! We were in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath with 7 people. The management did offer some compensation but only after prompting. No work out facility also. Now the +: best location but if you have small kids at ski school who cannot ride the chairlift home alone, you have to stand in line to take the lift back. Fantastic staff and shuttle service - both rated high 9. Definitely do not need a car! Ski lockers on each floor are convenient. The schlep factor is v low literally ski up tothe door, walk maybe 20/25 steps to the elevator then 5 steps to your ski locker. Very quiet facility away from the masses of people at the base. Kitchen well stocked (Teflon pans and kid friendly cups would be a plus but not a big deal) , mattresses in our room 516 were awesome. I am v picky so this is a huge plus. There was no wireless but they put in a router. Overall a nice stay. Since it was my first time to Steamboat, I may try a more modern slopeside accommodation next time. One thing I do know is that there is no better location or service when needed. Just a shame I had to keep calling them for assistance with broken items while on vacation. Amy and Robin were both so very helpful. All the shuttle drivers should be commended as well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the slopes. It's fun to watch people ski and also see the conditions of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Been to the Boat 3 times, booking # 4 very soon, we stayed at another place once, wont do that again, Loved everything about the Bear Claw and cant wait to get back. I booked my first trip to the Boat by chance with Bear Claw, must have been my lucky day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wreid001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

(almoast)every year, since i can remember ive been going to bear claw 2 during winter, my family has been going there for about 30 years, and all i can say , is that its an awessome place, i give five stars for everything there, especialy because because if u have any problem the staff will be sure to help as much as they can and as fast as possible, the place has a charming look and its location is just perfect u can leave the hotel and go skiing just like that, and you can take a lift wich leaves you right infront of it after a skiing day, its a highly recomended place at any time of year!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bearclawedgemont, General Manager at Bear Claw Condominiums, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for the great review, we are very proud of the service that our staff provides and we agree that you cannot beat our ski in - ski out location! We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time in Steamboat Springs and at Bear Claw II. See you next year and many more to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

A friend and I stayed at BC Condo on the 5th fl from July 31 - Aug 3. Upon our arrival and check-in we noticed it was really hot up on the 5th fl. We entered our 2 BR Condo and did an internal temp check: 90 degrees. No windows open, no sliding door open. OK so they don't have A/C but we booked the place in advance and they can't open up the place and run fans for a couple of hours? Can't open the windows up on the 5th Fl to help move air in the hallways? We go down to protest and asked to be moved and are told no more 2 BR available but for additional $$ we can get a 2 BR with a den maybe tomorrow. We run the fans for 8-9 hrs and it only drops the temp about 5 degrees. We decided not to move the next day and we ask for one night's refund upon check-out and are denied. Reason? My buddy has stayed there before (they checked the records) and basically should have known better. Huh? I would have thought you would want us to return given he has been a regular customer for several years (and never experienced this problem). Oh, and by the way the construction crew up above us and the landsscaping crew down below starting work at 7:30 AM was an extra noise bonus. Who are these people? We filed complaints with the BBB and local Chamber.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kawika50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

We stayed in Bear Claw 1 (the older building) unit 302. The decor isn't very modern, but we were more interested in being able to ski in/out than the appearance, anyway. The staff was very accommodating & always responded to requests quickly (we had quite a few of them, too). Best ski in/out location (others were too low on the slope) plus shuttle service was expedient & made it easy to get around. No restaurant on premises, but there were many other available services such as massage therapy & overnight ski tuning. There was also a service that made the beds & cleaned unit (including kitchen & running dishwasher) daily. Best service experience of any ski resort to date.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeVi423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

I have to write this! We had a horrible experience with a certain employee at the resort - he was very rude to us and our young children! When we checked in we were told that they have Wii to use (a selling point) but then when we went to use it this employee said kids have to be OLDER than 10! Please!! (It was clear he wanted to keep watching his basketball game). SOOOO RUDE, this is our vacation and we paid plenty to stay. The LOCATION is awesome. The housekeeping was great. The shuttle was great but MR. CRABBY was very unfortunate.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trailhead Lodge
Trailhead Lodge
#3 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#7 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboat Springs Suites
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboa...
#9 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
EagleRidge Lodge
EagleRidge Lodge
#10 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Claw Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Claw Condominiums

Property: Bear Claw Condominiums
Address: 2420 Ski Trail Ln, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-2032
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the slopes at the top of the Stampede ski run, Bear Claw provides true ski-in, ski-out convenience. With all the casual elegance, impeccable service, and enticing amenities you expect from a premier mountain resort, Bear Claw is the perfect place to enjoy the very best that Steamboat has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Claw Condominiums Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing