We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location / Great Condo”
Review of Chateau Chamonix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location / Great Condo”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We just returned from our first trip to Steamboat Springs. We stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bath condo with a slope view. Condo 132 (building 1). The condo was outstanding. Everything has been completely updated and the location can not be beat. Walk out the door and ski right down to the Gondola or Christie Express Lift. Ski down the hill right to the ski valet. We could not have been more happy with our selection. We will definitely be back to Chateau Chamonix (hopefully condo 132) again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5199dleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Chateau Chamonix in Steamboat Springs. I am very pleased to hear you stay was great. The Chateau Chamonix location makes everything easy. I am also lucky my owners do a fantastic of keeping their units updated. I look forward to seeing you next year. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Josh Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place is great. It is ACTUALLY ski in/ski out. The hotel "ski valet" will hold your skis/snowboards in a locker and take them outside in the morning for you so you're all set to ski down to the Gondola to get your pass and go without having to lug all the equipment downstairs/upstairs. That's the real advantage of this place. It is truly perfect for skiers and boarders -- no hassle, no wasting time. Additionally, the flat was beautiful. For 5 of us, there were 3 bedrooms and 3 baths (master bedroom had a jacuzzi). 2 bedrooms had king beds, the 3rd had two doubles. Beds were reportedly all very comfortable and the place was perfectly quiet at night. The living room had a view of the mountain, a gas fireplace, and a TV. There were TVs in each room, but we didn't use them all. The kitchen was fully equipped with pots/pans/dinnerware/cups and fridge/micro/oven/coffee maker. There was a tiled area for boots and other wet things in the entrance so that nothing was tracked in. Room service comes in depending upon the length of your stay and they do a great job of tidying and cleaning up the place. We had a washer, dryer, dishwasher. Room temperatures were easy to adjust and worked well. The place has a hot tub, pool, and exercise room. And, maybe best of all, GREAT wifi service, which is a MUST for us.

Room Tip: Ask when you need something. We thought the hairdryer didn't work, they sent someone up immediat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
I appreciate hearing you had a great trip to Steamboat and Chateau Chamonix. The ski valet service is designed to make access to skiing as easy as possible and it appears to be working. I will also pass on your comments to the housekeeping department. They take great pride in making everything perfect. Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Josh Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

this hotel made my trip completly worth it. it was great being able to ski right down to the base of the mountain and not having to luge all of your equipment somewhere. i loved this hotel and reccomend it to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holls2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at Chateau Chamonix. I know we have some of the best access to the mountain, which makes it very convenient for families. I hope we have the opportunity to host your family next year.

Josh Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have been to Steamboat many times and always stay someplace different. This year we wanted an EASY ski in/ski out and THIS WAS IT!! NO POLING AT ALL!!!!! We have stayed other places that claim to be ski in/out and a lot of the time, they are NOT!! The Chateau Chamonix ski valet makes things so easy. You just leave them on the rack and they are there in the morning waiting on you! Our condo had incredible views of the mountain and the ski base area. Short walk down to shops and restaurants and quick walk to grocery store. Our kids wanted to sled and the front desk spent a good bit of time looking and making calls to their employees until they found one for us! Our 2 bedroom/2bath unit was very nice and comfortable! We will stay here again for sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaM532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Chateau Chamonix for your ski vacation. It is always great to hear the front desk staff went the extra mile to make your trip unforgettable. We are also every fortunate to have such a great location that is truly ski in- ski out. I look forward to seeing you next year.

Josh Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The people at the Chateau really made the difference. Ryan, Ruth, and the General Manager - Josh - we really top notch and focused on making our stay great. The property offers ski valet (leave your ski's slopeside and the property takes them in at night and puts them out in the morning). The room was great - clean and roomy. The kitchen has everything we needed to cook all our meals and the appliances were all modern. The kids loved the heated pool and hot tub - had a hard time getting them out after a hard day skiing. We never used the shuttle but saw it come and go on a regular basis - a great place to stay if you don't want to rent a car (which we didn't). We could easily walk to the Gondola base area for skiing and to go out for dinner at night. I highly recommend this location for your stay either in the Winter of Summer - it is just a great location and well run facility.

George

Room Tip: You can pay extra for the slopeside room (which is really great) so you can see all the night life g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Chateau Chamonix. It’s great to hear our staff made your stay memorable. Ruth, Ryan and the entire Chateau team enjoy making our guests feel welcome. We also pride ourselves on offering hotel services in a condominium setting. I hope we have the opportunity to host you and your family in the near future.

Josh Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location, Beautiful clean and very nicely appointed rooms/kitchen, Convenient to the slopes (ski in out), I left my board and kids skis on the hotels ski rack located on the slopes overnight. Grocery store and restaurants in walking distance (3 minutes walk to gondola and gondola square), Fantastic FREE shuttle service that ran frequently to the local sites and downtown shops and restaurants and multiple pick up sites in the downtown area. Ryan at the desk was awesome! Very friendly personable staff from housekeeping, janitorial, reception (all staff that I encountered). There was always coffee, hot chocolate and cookies in the main office when we finished skiing. We travel and ski every year around the US/Canada and this has been the best location/lodging we have encountered. We will be back to this establishment without question!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Chateau Chamonix. I am glad you enjoyed the location and amenities offered by our property. I am also very excited to share your opinion of Ryan and his level of service. Please feel free to call me next year to book your unit. I look forward to hearing from you.

Josh Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was kind of daunting trying to plan a large family reunion but the staff put our minds to rest and helped organize which rooms would hold the different family members, even coming up with the idea to put the families with the children close to the swimming pool. The kids will love all of you forever. The rooms were all super clean and all the staff were so helpful and friendly from small requests to large. They recommended places to go like the rodeo that we hadn't thought of and which was so Steamboat. We all loved that. Thanks to Ruth and Shawn (and Jodi -not front desk but so much fun) for treating us all like family. (What other hotel front desk will make hot chocolate for a child?)

Room Tip: We've strayed several times at the different properties and I don't think you can go wrong o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to see families enjoying themselves in Steamboat. The entire staff at Chateau Chamonix takes great pride in providing top notch service. It’s nice to know our efforts are appreciated. We look forward to hosting your family reunion again.

Josh Miller
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bronze Tree Condominiums
Bronze Tree Condominiums
#17 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and S...
#2 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
#55 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highmark Steamboat Springs
Highmark Steamboat Springs
#3 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#6 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Chamonix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Chamonix

Property: Chateau Chamonix
Address: 2340 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Chamonix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury amenities, exceptional guest service and a convenient location on the slopes of the Steamboat Ski Area are just a few of the features that help Chateau Chamonix stand out amongst Steamboat's ski-in/ski-out lodging. Guests are immediately welcomed by our friendly and knowledgeable staff at the on-site front desk which features complimentary coffee and doughnuts during the ski season. When you ski back to the property at the end of your day, you are greeted by our exclusive ski valets who will store your skis overnight and have them waiting for you the next day. The property also features an indoor/outdoor heated pool, two outdoor hot tubs, gas grills, sauna and fitness room. Our 2, 3 and 4 bedroom condos are available with all of the amenities you're used to at home, such as: full kitchens, gas fireplaces, washer/dryers, luxurious furnishings, wireless Internet and jetted tubs. Some premium two and three bedroom units are practically on the snow and have beautiful slope views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Vacatia, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Chamonix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Chamonix Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing