We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

You can't beat this place for convenience to the slopes, gondola, shopping and restaurants near the base. Ski school is a one minute walk down the hill.
The staff at Chateau Chamonix was great; I can't say enough about their willingness to please. The accommodations in the units are not posh, but the location makes a slopeside condo one of the best ski in/out options on the mountain. We'll be back for the fourth year in a row next season.

Room Tip: Unless you choose a slopeside room, it would be more economical to stay at a different accommodation...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHO12572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing Chateau Chamonix as your ski vacation destination. I am pleased to hear the entire staff provided great service to you and your family. The Chateau Chamonix has a great location and is some of the best Ski in Ski out condominiums in Steamboat. I look forward to hosting you and your family next year.
Josh Miller
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is one of the best located luxury accommodations in Steamboat. We have been staying her for years and love it. Of the three blocks, two are absolute ski-in, ski-out and the other block is only yards away and you can leave your skis at the valet next to the slopes. The apartments are very nice, staff incredibly friendly and the views especially from the A building are magnificent - right over the ski slope. This place has something other places in Steamboat don't usually have and that is floor to ceiling windows with no balcony to block your view. And you get to experience some of the greatest snow in the world!

Room Tip: If there are only 4 of you or you have 2 more prepared to sleep on the fold out double sofa beds, th...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive comments regarding you stay at Chateau Chamonix. I feel our location sets us apart from other lodging establishments in Steamboat. I am also pleased to hear the staff was engaging and responsive. We look forward to seeing you on your next ski vacation.
Josh Miller
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose this premium priced hotel largely because it advertised itself as "ski in/ski off". Out condo, which was nice, was located across the street and behind the garage so not only could we not see the slopes, we had to walk across a driveway and parking lot and up three flights of stairs to get to the slopes. But that time, we needed a hot tub, which, fortunately was nearby. Also, the nice picture makes it look like the Chateau is all alone on the mountain top. What you do not see behind the picture is a virtual city of condo units. So, on both counts, I fault them for massaging the facts. One of the reasons for Tripadvisor is not to be subjected to such disappointments when you arrive after a long journey.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for slope side if that is what you want. Otherwise you may face the parking lot, r...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 408LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed about the location of your condominium. It is never our policy to over exaggerate facts. We make every effort sell the property as Ski In Ski out not each individual condominium as ski in ski out. All of our guests have access to our ski valet service, which should help elevate the need to carry skis any unnecessary distances. We also have elevator access to the ski valet area so there is never a need to use stairs. I hope this information was presented to you during Check in. I would love the opportunity to help book a return trip to Chateau Chamonix or any of our Wyndham Vacation Rentals properties. Please feel free to call me at (970) 879-7511. I will make every effort to make your stay memorable.

Josh Miller
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Chateau Chamonix in Steamboat Springs. The location was ski-in & ski-out, just above the gondola. This was our first time to ski Steamboat and we hope to ski it again........and sty at the Chateau Chamonix!
The staff was very accommodating with ski storage, transportation information and, even, a special shuttle when we just missed their public shuttle.

Room Tip: Building Unit 1 on the first floor is absolutely ski in, ski out......of your living room!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenSherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are fortunate at Chateau Chamonix to have one of the best Ski In- Ski Out Properties in Steamboat. I look forward to hosting you and your family again next year. Our location is also great for Summer activities if you are interested in Steamboat in the Summer. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Josh Miller
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Steamboat Springs and stayed at the Chateau Chamonix. The staff is incredible! Ryan, Dean and Ruth were helpful in every aspect of our vacation. They made reservations for us, called shuttles and assured our stay was nothing short of spectacular. Even when we scheduled a massage in a part of town that was not serviced by the free shuttle, the staff drove us in the Chateau's private shuttle. The 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo we stayed in was immaculate. The gas fireplace was a very nice touch, and the steam shower was unique and very nice. This was the best place I have ever stayed and I can't brag enough about the staff and accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackrabbit68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the Associates at Chateau Chamonix. The entire team believes that service is a state of mind and not a job. Please feel free to call me when you are ready to book for next year.

Josh Miller
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just returned from the Steamboat Music festival and my stay at the Chateau Chamonix.

This place is great! I had my first ski-in, ski out experience and it was awesome. All the staff are really pleasant and helpful, and went the extra mile to help us out, - ESPECIALLY RYAN at the fromt desk. The two bedroom condo was beautifully furnished and amazingly clean. My favorite was the log fireplace which was clean, efficient and extremely warm. Will book this property next year.

Room Tip: For true ski-in and ski-out you need building 1 or 2, but building 3 is just a short walk across the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. All of the Associates at Chateau Chamonix take tremendous pride in delivering top notch service to all our guests. Our goal is to exceed expectations. I will share your comment with the entire team at Chateau Chamonix. We look forward to hosting you and your family again.

Thank you,
Josh Miller
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you've never done Steamboat Springs, now you must! And, if you do, PLEASE schedule
your stay through Steamboat Resorts. We have stayed with them many times through the
years, whether it was in the summer or in the spectacular and peaceful beauty of Autumn.
This property management group controls nearly two dozen amazing condo complexes. We
happened to frequent the KUTUK complex. We just returned from still another October and
stayed at the CHATEAUX CHAMONIX which is on the opposite side of the ski slope coming
down from Mt. Werner. A 2-BR/2-bath condo with all the bells and whistles including beath-
taking views of the mountain area and Gondola Square. It was great for our family reunion
with lots of sleeping options. We had a terrific time.

The front office staff is one-in-a-million. They are so acommodating and friendly it's like you
were family. Bring cash because even the Wells Fargo in town wouldn't cash an out of state
check - guess they haven't joined the 21st Century yet - but when we alerted the staff to our
situation, they actually went out and got us some cash for our personal check. We have
never known a hotel staff to be as wonderful as this staff!

We drift into Steamboat for the fall leaves and the hope of snow. Just what the doctor ordered
for two desert rats completely wiped-out after another Phoenix-area summer. The last week
we got our wish with snow, snow, snow!

Whenever you come to Steamboat, know that it will stay in your heart and very soul forever!

Happy Holidays from Ron & Kay S.

Room Tip: We stayed in Kutuk 105 - really country cozy feel. And, this past October, we stayed in Chateaux C...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to express your comments regarding your stay in Steamboat and with Steamboat Resorts, a division of Wyndham Vacation Rentals. It is always nice to hear positive comments from our guests. All of the team at Chateau Chamonix takes great pride in our service levels and in exceeding your expectations. I will share your comments with the entire staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Josh Miller
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bronze Tree Condominiums
Bronze Tree Condominiums
#16 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Torian Plum Condominiums
Torian Plum Condominiums
#8 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trailhead Lodge
Trailhead Lodge
#4 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#6 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highmark Steamboat Springs
Highmark Steamboat Springs
#3 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts

Address: 2340 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury amenities, exceptional guest service and a convenient location on the slopes of the Steamboat Ski Area are just a few of the features that help Chateau Chamonix stand out amongst Steamboat's ski-in/ski-out lodging. Guests are immediately welcomed by our friendly and knowledgeable staff at the on-site front desk which features complimentary coffee and doughnuts during the ski season. When you ski back to the property at the end of your day, you are greeted by our exclusive ski valets who will store your skis overnight and have them waiting for you the next day. The property also features an indoor/outdoor heated pool, two outdoor hot tubs, gas grills, sauna and fitness room. Our 2, 3 and 4 bedroom condos are available with all of the amenities you're used to at home, such as: full kitchens, gas fireplaces, washer/dryers, luxurious furnishings, wireless Internet and jetted tubs. Some premium two and three bedroom units are practically on the snow and have beautiful slope views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Chateau Chamonix by Mountain Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Chamonix Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing