We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Food, best for groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Laundry Restaurant

Laundry Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Laundry Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Laundry is the latest endeavor from the Steamboat Restaurant Group. Located in the historic Soda Creek building, the home of the Steamboat Laundry from 1910 until 1977. Laundry's delightful blend of rustic charm and contemporary urban atmosphere are complimented by an eclectic beer and wine selection.
Plano
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting Food, best for groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Food was good, but we weren’t as impressed as other reviewers. I’d call it sophisticated comfort food. First, my main complaint: no recognizable gin. Their bar list includes many craft liquors, but in every category except gin there are a couple recognizable brands. How about some Hendrick’s? or Bombay? I’m not trusting a martini to “Death’s Door” gin. The food features “small plates”, great for sharing, which the two of us did, but probably more fun with 4+. We started with the Bison Carpaccio ($10) which was very nice, moist and flavorful. Then Brussel Sprout Hash ($7) which included a medley of roasted veggies. Followed by Corny Crab Cakes ($12), which were only OK, and Lobster Corn Pudding ($6), which was excellent. We finished with the cheese board ($16) where we picked 3 cheeses: house made Burrata (good but not as tangy as the one at the Diva) , Smoked Provolone (excellent) and Pistachio crusted chevre (also very good). On the wines they offer a 6 or 8 oz pour, but oddly in many cases the larger pour is slightly more expensive per ounce, for example we had a Pouilly Fuisse ($10 for 6 oz but $14 for 8oz). The setting is an old laundry building and felt slightly austere to me. Service was competent, but wasn’t particularly helpful in describing the dishes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Plano_TexasGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Laundry Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer us a review. We really appreciate the feedback and use it to help us continue making refinements. Sounds like much of the food was good or excellent and you've pointed out some valuable points of improvement. You've helped us immensely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    88
    27
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Kind of stumbled over this delightful restaurant while looking for some place new in our favorite Colorado mountain getaway. We were not disappointed. The food was wonderfully out of the ordinary. We started with Virginia Procuitto and
Pistachio Crusted Goat Cheese, housemade pickles (sweet, sour, hot!) followed with small but rich corny crab cakes with a sesame oil infused salad of asparagus and black radish. To finish we shared the deconstructed Key Lime Pie. Slap Yo mama! A tad noisy and the bar worked at a leisurely pace, but go with the flow and enjoy an extraordinary dining experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank deastonwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Laundry Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Very nice! Thank you for the sparkling review. So glad to read that you enjoyed the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“unique food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Went with a group of girls that are not really FOODIES. When I saw the menu I was a bit nervous. However after ordering several small sides and a few mains, everyone was satisfied. The special that evening was a BLT with Heirloom tomatoes, OMG it was amazing! I think they are creative and different. Good service and attitude.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Laundry Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
If nothing else, we are striving to be unique. So glad to know you can appreciate that! Thank you for a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun Cocktails and Fantastic Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We are going back for another Fiery Margarita Cocktail and brussel sprout casserole (really!). Or, the Lemondrop cocktail and carpaccio plate. Or, the Smoke & Thyme cocktail and acorn squash and pickle plate. The small plates aren't that small but are generous, reasonably priced portions of delicious, well-presented food. Don't miss Laundry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suejorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Laundry Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
So many choices... so little time ~ ha! THANK YOU for great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family went there 2 times while vacationing in steamboat springs. The food was very eclectic and incredible. The Australian server ( so sorry I can't remember her name) was terrific and really made our night. The mixologist, jj,was terrific. He made my teens cocktails ( without alcohol) that were so delicious they talked about them for days. We especially loved the hummus, lamb and cauliflower. Even my kids wanted the roasted cauliflower the second time we went there. We had one disappointment, the ribs, usually my kids favorite. They were very tough but when our server saw we didn't eat them she immediately took them off of our bill. The second time we went there was great, too. Unfortunately the server was different and although she was polite and through see wasn't the fantastic gal from Australia. The mixologist was different, too. He tried his best to make the kids a great drink but they ended up sending them back. All the food was exceptional and the atmosphere wonderfu

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sdluv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Laundry Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Twice in one trip... that says a lot. Thank you so much for the feedback. We will share this with the entire staff and see what we can do to get everyone on par with our Aussie and JJ ~ THANKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laundry Restaurant also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Laundry Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing